New DIYer with - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-02-2012, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hello,
I bought a new i1d2 X-rite meter.
waiting for a used i1pro to arrive.
decided to use HCFR and i1D2 to get acquainted with the process of calibration.
I have a VT25 and just wanted to do grayscale.
I used the 709 disc and a BT100 Pan BR.
I had been using some offsets from other calibrators.
There is a big change in the picture.
I can't say it is terrible, I can't really tell because I never really saw a calibrated picture. I do know I had to lower red drive A LOT.
I read the old meters read red wrong.
When my spectro arrives I will check.
Just thought I would ask guys who have adjusted VT25s if the offsets I found are out of line with what they
have seen.
red drive -15
green d -11
blue d +4
red cut -1
green cut 0
blue cut -6


thanks.
CalWldLif is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 03-03-2012, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I received the i1pro today, ran the same tests and the i1D2 is very accurate.
I guess I lucked out.
now to figure out how to use the info.
CalWldLif is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 03-03-2012, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalWldLif View Post

I received the i1pro today, ran the same tests and the i1D2 is very accurate.
I guess I lucked out.
now to figure out how to use the info.

really? most D2's make the grayscale too red/pink by quite a large margin

could you post images of two grayscale runs post-cal, one with the D2 (unprofiled) and one with the i1Pro spectro itself?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 03-03-2012, 03:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

really? most D2's make the grayscale too red/pink by quite a large margin

could you post images of two grayscale runs post-cal, one with the D2 (unprofiled) and one with the i1Pro spectro itself?

last night, the D2 read red as high.
after playing around and having to lower red drive so much, I saw a green cast.
I figured that the meter was old although it was in a sealed package.
today with the pro,
everything was real close.I lowered green a tick raised red 2 ticks and blue minus a tick.
I thought after the D2 had me lower red drive 15 clicks that the pro would make me put a bunch back.
This is my first time using any meters or software.
I have been trying to dial in grey and color temp.
here is the last run with the pro
I then quit to think about what to do and have to go out.


Uploaded with ImageShack.us
I will run the D2 tomorrow with out a cal file. I don't know how to make one yet.
CalWldLif is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 03-04-2012, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
these were run side by side at the same time.
LL
LL
CalWldLif is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 03-04-2012, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalWldLif View Post

these were run side by side at the same time.

that gives the D2 a rough error of about 4, quite good for a budget meter
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 03-04-2012, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

that gives the D2 a rough error of about 4, quite good for a budget meter

there are pretty close.
I do not have a way to zip the chc files, I would appreciate your input.
CalWldLif is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 03-04-2012, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I will change the extention and post the chc files.
download and rename .chc?

 

D2.txt 15.76171875k . file

 

pro.txt 17.92578125k . file
Attached Files
File Type: txt pro.txt (17.9 KB, 0 views)
File Type: txt D2.txt (15.8 KB, 0 views)
CalWldLif is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 03-05-2012, 05:03 PM
 
Phase700B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I don't think the D2 was very good at all. I could SEE visible error after several runs through gray scale and fiddled with it to no end. I had a Spyder 3 and it was worse.

I guess an i1 Pro would be the best overall choice with no worries about profiling.
Phase700B is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 03-05-2012, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phase700B View Post

I don't think the D2 was very good at all. I could SEE visible error after several runs through gray scale and fiddled with it to no end. I had a Spyder 3 and it was worse.

I guess an i1 Pro would be the best overall choice with no worries about profiling.

I agree in general, but this particular example appears to be quite good, with dE within 4 of the spectro.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 03-05-2012, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 23
just accessed the firmware of the D2.
calibrated 5/22/11.
I bought it new in package/sealed.
I guess it is one of the last ones made.
Man, I got lucky.
CalWldLif is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 03-05-2012, 05:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalWldLif View Post

just accessed the firmware of the D2.
calibrated 5/22/11.
I bought it new in package/sealed.
I guess it is one of the last ones made.
Man, I got lucky.

Yes, I would say so. D2's can easily have dE's closer to 10 or so (not exact figures, so don't quote me). However, since you also have the i1Pro spectro, it doesn't matter since you can correct the response of any colorimeter, regardless of how accurate it is on its own. I would still store the meter properly to minimize drift, as it is possible to let the D2 drift far enough that profiling would no longer work.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 03-06-2012, 12:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You might want to buy the VT25 profile for ControlCal, since this is your TV. You can use it to enable the ISF Day and Night modes on the VT25.

Tyler Pruitt - Pro Calibrator - BionicAV
Technical Support - SpectraCal

THX Certified - Video Calibration

WiFi-Spy is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off