Sencore VP403 - firmware update - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dmanaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well after several emails not returned from sencore, figured i would ask on here.. I need the most current firmware update for a sencore VP403 generator... No luck finding anything. Any help would be appreciated.. I still use the unit (though not very much at all), but would like as current as it can get since i still have original firmware version on it.. thanks
dmanaudio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 04:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
If you post what version it is........I may be able to help?

Later
RayJr
Rayjr is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dmanaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayjr View Post

If you post what version it is........I may be able to help?

Later
RayJr

1.61s
dmanaudio is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmanaudio View Post

1.61s

Latest version of FW is 1.73...contact sencore and they should be able to get you the update.

RayJr
Rayjr is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
I believe SpectraCal is now handling support for the VP403 and not Sencore.

You want to contact SpectraCal's Pro Support.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dmanaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayjr View Post

Latest version of FW is 1.73...contact sencore and they should be able to get you the update.

RayJr

Thanks Ray... Ive sent them probably 4-5 emails through their contact, and trouble ticket system... and have not got a single response.. I guess i can try calling them.. last time i called them i wanted to get my otc1000 recal'ed and i didnt get a call back until a week and half later.... Hell by then, i ran accross a new one on a deal, and just bought it, lol....
dmanaudio is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dmanaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I believe SpectraCal is now handling support for the VP403 and not Sencore.

You want to contact SpectraCal's Pro Support.

i sent Jared a email also, havnt heard back from him
dmanaudio is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
try these numbers for them: 877-886-5112 or 605-271-7959

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 11:53 AM
Member
 
jamiemiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: over there
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ray is correct, the current version is 1.73s. It can be updated via rs 232, the main item that was updated was a split gray pattern.
When sencore built that unit it maxed out at 1080p23 resolution, after that they revised the unit with a different main board to give it the range to work with 1080p60.

I am tracking down the update files right now, in the mean time you can email me at support@spectracal.com

Jamie Miller
Spectracal Technical Support
1-605-271-7959
jamiemiller is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dmanaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiemiller View Post

ray is correct, the current version is 1.73s. It can be updated via rs 232, the main item that was updated was a split gray pattern.
When sencore built that unit it maxed out at 1080p23 resolution, after that they revised the unit with a different main board to give it the range to work with 1080p60.

I am tracking down the update files right now, in the mean time you can email me at support@spectracal.com

Jamie Miller
Spectracal Technical Support
1-605-271-7959

Jamie, i sent you a email... thank you sir.
dmanaudio is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 12:25 PM
Member
 
jamiemiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: over there
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23684910/VP4...%20Upgrade.zip

the update package above includes instructions for how to update the unit, if you have questions let me know.
jamiemiller is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dmanaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiemiller View Post

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/23684910/VP4...%20Upgrade.zip

the update package above includes instructions for how to update the unit, if you have questions let me know.

HOLY CRAP.... ive been trying to get information for weeks, emails to sencore, no replies, calls, etc.. etc... etc.... searches on the net, etc. etc.etc..

Been a member here for a year (i mainly like to read), finally decided to post a question, and all my headaches and hassles were solved within a 24 HR. period... Jamie, i appreciate you!!! this simple thing right here that was done convinces me SpectraCal is one top notch company to deal with... and will be getting any of my future business regardless...
dmanaudio is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 04:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Citation4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia Mountains
Posts: 884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I used this to update my VP403 from 1.72s to 1.73s, but I wasn't able to get the included terminal program to run in W7 64bit. I booted into W7 32bit and it ran fine. I expect there is a terminal program in W7 64bit that can be used instead?

Bob
Citation4444 is online now  
post #14 of 16 Old 03-07-2012, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Rayjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 1,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmanaudio View Post

HOLY CRAP.... ive been trying to get information for weeks, emails to sencore, no replies, calls, etc.. etc... etc.... searches on the net, etc. etc.etc..

Been a member here for a year (i mainly like to read), finally decided to post a question, and all my headaches and hassles were solved within a 24 HR. period... Jamie, i appreciate you!!! this simple thing right here that was done convinces me SpectraCal is one top notch company to deal with... and will be getting any of my future business regardless...

dmanaudio.....Jamie is the MAN...thats who I called to get you info

Thanks for posting Jamie

Later
RayJr
Rayjr is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 03-08-2012, 06:25 AM
Member
 
jamiemiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: over there
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.hilgraeve.com/hyperterminal/

this is the terminal that used to be included in windows, 30 day free trial

It works on all versions of windows, its pretty similar to the terminal program that is in that download.
jamiemiller is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 03-08-2012, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiemiller View Post

http://www.hilgraeve.com/hyperterminal/

this is the terminal that used to be included in windows, 30 day free trial

It works on all versions of windows, its pretty similar to the terminal program that is in that download.

Jamie, thank you for getting on top of this and sorting it quickly. We very much appreciate the work you do for us

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off