Workflow calman+controlcal+Lumagen XD - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-14-2012, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
medmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Howland, Ohio USA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well have Pioneer elite 151, just got lumagen xd (couldn't turn down price). I have calman and unlocked isf n/d/a. EF-1000 just acquired. Now, will probably get Calman.

Is following workflow for radiance in calman all i would need to do? How do i connect both Radiance and controlcal since would both need usb->rs232.

Workflow in my mind is a little jumbled. Any help appreciated (you out there Turbe?)
medmike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-14-2012, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Hi,

I would calibrate the display first.. Then, you could adjust the Radiance using whatever workflow you want/need. My personal feeling is that the Radiance is overkill for the 151.. though I have a Duo in my loop with my 141, I only use it for my FP and have it pass through for the Pioneer. Since you have the radiance, might as well take advantage of it for experience.. I doubt you will see the difference (assuming you nail the 151FD to begin with).

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-14-2012, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
medmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Howland, Ohio USA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Turbe, thanks for quick reply. I was thinking lumagen was a little much but I have an electronic "spur of the moment" purchase issue. I will probably use Radiance for pattern generator and do TV first. Any thought on this if radiance and controlcal use rs232? (need to buy another cable/usb key i'm assuming to use both at same time).
medmike is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-14-2012, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by medmike View Post

Turbe, thanks for quick reply. I was thinking lumagen was a little much but I have an electronic "spur of the moment" purchase issue. I will probably use Radiance for pattern generator and do TV first. Any thought on this if radiance and controlcal use rs232? (need to buy another cable/usb key i'm assuming to use both at same time).

You can use two USB-to-serial adapters. That is what I do, I have two of the radio shack gigaware brand adapters.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-15-2012, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I use the OEM version of this dual adapter myself, I did have a OEM version available at a pretty good price for my Users but sold out quickly.

It has a metal housing, FTDI chipset and allows you to visually monitor each port for both send and receive (IMO, something you want in a dual port). The USB cable is not attached, another bonus IMO.


Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-15-2012, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

I use the OEM version of this dual adapter myself, I did have a OEM version available at a pretty good price for my Users but sold out quickly.

It has a metal housing, FTDI chipset and allows you to visually monitor each port for both send and receive (IMO, something you want in a dual port). The USB cable is not attached, another bonus IMO.

Thanks for teasing us! That thing is awesome.

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-15-2012, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 88
you can still buy it, I gave the link above, even at retail, it's a great addition to your kit..

btw, if you want to get crazy



haha

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-16-2012, 12:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,304
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

you can still buy it, I gave the link above, even at retail, it's a great addition to your kit..

btw, if you want to get crazy

haha

Thanks, I missed the link when reading your first post

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-13-2012, 08:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by medmike View Post

Well have Pioneer elite 151, just got lumagen xd (couldn't turn down price). I have calman and unlocked isf n/d/a. EF-1000 just acquired. Now, will probably get Calman.

Is following workflow for radiance in calman all i would need to do? How do i connect both Radiance and controlcal since would both need usb->rs232.

Workflow in my mind is a little jumbled. Any help appreciated (you out there Turbe?)

Do you not need one of the add-ons for the Radiance workflow to be of use? I'm thinking Interactive ($99) at least, maybe even Autocal ($199).

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off