VT50 Calibration - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 184 Old 05-27-2012, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwilker View Post

if that is in Calman there is no corresponding measurement in Chromapure. At least to my knowledge. There is a lumens calculator but I think it's mostly for front projectors. Again I'm very new to this so I'm still learning

In ChromaPure you can read 100% white in the Grayscale, White Balance, and Gamma modules.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 184 Old 05-27-2012, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

In ChromaPure you can read 100% white in the Grayscale, White Balance, and Gamma modules.

Is the Y measurement the max output then?

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #33 of 184 Old 05-27-2012, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Yes, for the current settings.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #34 of 184 Old 05-27-2012, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tempest261's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Yes, for the current settings.

Interesting. If I go back in the Calman flow and measure the "Preset Luminance" I get a different value. They should be the same, correct? I wonder if this is a bug...

Side note: how do I print out a PDF calman calibration report like I see other people do? Is that just a professional-license option? Or can DIY'ers do it too?

Calibration Equipment:

Meters: X-rite i1 Pro 2, X-rite i1 Display Pro

Software: Spectracal Calman DIY, ControlCAL

 

Televisions:

Panasonic TC-P65VT50 (currently own)
Samsung UN55D8000 (returned) Calibration and Settings Thread

 

Plasma IR Removal:

Post 1 - Post 2 - Post 3

 

Tempest261 is offline  
post #35 of 184 Old 05-27-2012, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest261 View Post


Interesting. If I go back in the Calman flow and measure the "Preset Luminance" I get a different value. They should be the same, correct? I wonder if this is a bug...

Side note: how do I print out a PDF calman calibration report like I see other people do? Is that just a professional-license option? Or can DIY'ers do it too?

Chromapure has an export dropdown in the reports

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #36 of 184 Old 05-27-2012, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 338
I have CalMAN Expert & ChromaPure Pro so I'll check with a D3 AND an i1Pro in between races - busy frickn' day for us fans.... Monaco, Indy, Charlotte

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #37 of 184 Old 06-21-2012, 10:49 AM
Member
 
sivart321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone walk me through the workflow of a VT50 using CalMan and ControlCal? I have an i1Pro and have been trying to get a solid calibration, but am learning along the way and find myself confused constantly when trying to dial in the CMS due to the luminance controls not working. Grayscale and gamma seem to be pretty easy to dial in, but I am curious if people are using a different workflow that would help me calibrate the VT50. I am also not sure how to use the W/B high and low settings, if needed? So far I have only used the 10pt grayscale. The W/B high and low are the same as 2pt grayscale, correct?

Thanks for any help and pointers you guys can give. I still am very green at this, but enjoy learning!
sivart321 is offline  
post #38 of 184 Old 06-24-2012, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivart321 View Post

Can anyone walk me through the workflow of a VT50 using CalMan and ControlCal? I have an i1Pro and have been trying to get a solid calibration, but am learning along the way and find myself confused constantly when trying to dial in the CMS due to the luminance controls not working. Grayscale and gamma seem to be pretty easy to dial in, but I am curious if people are using a different workflow that would help me calibrate the VT50. I am also not sure how to use the W/B high and low settings, if needed? So far I have only used the 10pt grayscale. The W/B high and low are the same as 2pt grayscale, correct?
Thanks for any help and pointers you guys can give. I still am very green at this, but enjoy learning!

I use ChromaPure and ControlCal and I have problems with the CMS also. My Night settings have been better but I haven't been able to get a really good Day cal yet.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #39 of 184 Old 06-24-2012, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

So how do you control the VT50 using Control Cal? Network?

Through the Ethernet connection.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #40 of 184 Old 06-29-2012, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
Gem Mookherjea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how do I find some one aside from BB in northern AZ by sedona or flagstaff?
Gem Mookherjea is offline  
post #41 of 184 Old 07-02-2012, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

I was able to communicate going through the wireless network from my laptop to the router which then goes hard wired to a switch which then goes to the 65VT50.
I tried hard wire conneting from my laptop directly to the TV and wasn't able to get it to work.
How did you go about conneting throug the ethernet connection and any settings that have to be changed on either the display or your computer?

Connect the computer and panel with the ethernet connection. Launch ControlCal and in the last tab select the network connection. Key in the IP address from the panels Network tab. Go to the Custom menu and scroll to the Pro Settings. Press the red button and wait for the message Waiting for Connection on the panel. In controcal select the Connect button and you're ready.
Let me know if you have any other questions.
Good Luck

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #42 of 184 Old 07-02-2012, 04:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 88
yep, just follow the steps

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #43 of 184 Old 07-02-2012, 09:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,610
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempest261 View Post

Fellow calibrators,

What did you measure your max light output at for the THX Day mode? I measured around 38 ftL, and with my recent ISF Night Calibration (PB=medium), I hit about the same.

the max output is the Y value at 100%

looks like you had 41.5, then 50.1 and 50.1. I don't see a 38fL reading in the lot.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #44 of 184 Old 07-03-2012, 07:07 AM
Member
 
Monitorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

the max output is the Y value at 100%
looks like you had 41.5, then 50.1 and 50.1. I don't see a 38fL reading in the lot.

Hi Guys,

I am maxing out at about 44 to 45 fTL. using ControlCal implementation of the ISFccc memories with Panel Brightness set to Medium of course. See my review at the link below for more details:

http://www.tweaktv.com/in-dspth-hdtv-reviews/panasonic-tc-p65vt50-pdp.best-hdtv-on-the-market.html

Kevin Miller
ISF Technician
Co-Instructor ISF Level I & II Seminars
Display Product Development Consultant
kevin@isftv.com
Co-founder tweaktv.com
Monitorman is offline  
post #45 of 184 Old 07-03-2012, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monitorman View Post

Hi Guys,
I am maxing out at about 44 to 45 fTL. using ControlCal implementation of the ISFccc memories with Panel Brightness set to Medium of course. See my review at the link below for more details:
http://www.tweaktv.com/in-dspth-hdtv-reviews/panasonic-tc-p65vt50-pdp.best-hdtv-on-the-market.html

Playing with mine I got one calibration to almost 46 but I've heard others getting into the 50s

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #46 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I have a question for the pros and more experienced calibrators.
Is it better to use the Panel Brightness setting to get a high light output (40+ ftL) than to run the contrast really high?
Should I use Panel Brightness Mid with a Contrast setting in the 90's or Panel Brightness High with Contrast in the 70's or 80's?
Or does it even make a difference?

Thanks in advance

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #47 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 08:32 AM
Senior Member
 
anta1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
What the right size window pattern for the calibration Panasonic VT50 ?
I myself thought that the 10.83%

But it appeared that each model the percentage of your own.
For example, VT50, as you know, throws up the brightness of the small white areas.
How do I accurately determine the required percentage of the window?
anta1974 is offline  
post #48 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chad B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Piqua, OH
Posts: 2,055
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwilker View Post

I have a question for the pros and more experienced calibrators.
Is it better to use the Panel Brightness setting to get a high light output (40+ ftL) than to run the contrast really high?
Should I use Panel Brightness Mid with a Contrast setting in the 90's or Panel Brightness High with Contrast in the 70's or 80's?
Or does it even make a difference?
Thanks in advance
Mid and 90's.
wmwilker likes this.
Chad B is offline  
post #49 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 09:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

Mid and 90's.

Thanks Chad

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #50 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad B View Post

Mid and 90's.

what's the highest you can set contrast on this TV without hurting some aspect of PQ (with mid PB)? what amount of light output in fL would that produce approx?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #51 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

what's the highest you can set contrast on this TV without hurting some aspect of PQ (with mid PB)? what amount of light output in fL would that produce approx?

I've set it to 100 and saw a hint of posterization, on cable not blu-ray, so I lowered it to 97 and it is better. I am getting just under 45 ftL @ 97 and got just over at 100.
Even at 100 Casino Royale looked very good but I hate posterization so I needed to go lower for lower quality sources.

I also tried my Night settings with the PB at low but I could never get the output to 30 ftL. I went back to Mid and I have a very nice picture with 35 ftL. Contrast in the 80's.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #52 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Try PB High with the working luminance controls. I'm getting about 46FtL with Contrast 86.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #53 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 10:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwilker View Post

I've set it to 100 and saw a hint of posterization, on cable not blu-ray, so I lowered it to 97 and it is better. I am getting just under 45 ftL @ 97 and got just over at 100.
Even at 100 Casino Royale looked very good but I hate posterization so I needed to go lower for lower quality sources.
I also tried my Night settings with the PB at low but I could never get the output to 30 ftL. I went back to Mid and I have a very nice picture with 35 ftL. Contrast in the 80's.

so mid PB is the ideal setting on these VT50s? is this also the case with the GT50 and ST50?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #54 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Try PB High with the working luminance controls. I'm getting about 46FtL with Contrast 86.

I think Chad mentioned gamma was poor with PB high. Are you saying the luminance controls can fix this issue?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #55 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Try PB High with the working luminance controls. I'm getting about 46FtL with Contrast 86.

I've thought about trying that. Any hint of posterization?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

so mid PB is the ideal setting on these VT50s? is this also the case with the GT50 and ST50?

It seems that way.
I'm not sure of the settings on the ST and GT. I would imagine if they have the PB setting Mid would be optimal.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #56 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

I think Chad mentioned gamma was poor with PB high. Are you saying the luminance controls can fix this issue?

Gamma is set at 2.6 which got me closest to the 2.22 target. The Gamma controls do the rest. I had no problem calibrating with the new FW.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #57 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 11:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 197
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Gamma is set at 2.6 which got me closest to the 2.22 target. The Gamma controls do the rest. I had no problem calibrating with the new FW.

So, how much light output max can you get with this PB setting (without unwanted side effects)? Sounds like the recent FW updates on this set have really helped with the calibration issues.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #58 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

So, how much light output max can you get with this PB setting (without unwanted side effects)? Sounds like the recent FW updates on this set have really helped with the calibration issues.

I've had as much at 46 ftL but the more experienced calibrators are getting 50+ with the PB Mid
The fixed luminance controls make this a great set.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #59 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Curious what size of window did you use wmwilker? And to everyone that measures peak light output for that matter. Do you use a 1% window?

When targeting a certain brightness while calibrating, do you use your standard windows, or do you go by peak light output?
rahzel is offline  
post #60 of 184 Old 08-09-2012, 12:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

Curious what size of window did you use wmwilker? And to everyone that measures peak light output for that matter. Do you use a 1% window?
When targeting a certain brightness while calibrating, do you use your standard windows, or do you go by peak light output?

I use the AVS HD 709 disk. I have a Lumagen Mini but it is not in the loop yet. It has much smaller windows.

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off