spyder 4 pro vs elite sensor - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-25-2012, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Hey Guys as the title says is there any difference between the spyder 4 pro and elite sensor.( on the website it mainly looks like software.)

And will both work with Calman.

Also what is the difference between the Calman Spyder 4 and the pro/elite.

Thanks.
space2001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-25-2012, 05:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 16,275
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 360 Post(s)
Liked: 381
The retail S4 packages only differ in the software (other than the Basic which does not have the ambient sensor built into the meter).

The CalMan+Spyder package is an enhanced/verified Spyder 4 with tables, this is the way to go if you want the Spyder 4 (it's said they are good for wide gamut displays).

I had very good results with a retail Spyder 4 Elite but you have to manipulate the packed in software to do tv's (kind of a pain) and their (DataColor) TV software add-on is another $100.

The retail Spyder 4's will work with CalMan and HCFR 3.

Best of luck,
Jason

HT = JVC RS40 / Lumagen Radiance / Vivitek 1186 /@133" / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony BDP s1000ES / Yamaha DV-S5860 / Toshiba HD-A3 / PureAV PF31
Media Room = Vizio 4K 70" lcd/Denon x4100/Audiosource Amp 100/Klipsch speakers/Velodyne subs/Sony BDP s780/PS4 Pro/X1S/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/Game PC/Multi-Arcade / #standwithscotty / My HT SLIDESHOW
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-25-2012, 11:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 1,921
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by space2001 View Post

Hey Guys as the title says is there any difference between the spyder 4 pro and elite sensor.( on the website it mainly looks like software.)

And will both work with Calman.

Also what is the difference between the Calman Spyder 4 and the pro/elite.

Thanks.

To CalMAN the retail Spyder4 meters are all the same. The SpectraCal C1 which is a OEM of the Spyder4 has additional display calibration tables written into the meter beyond the factory ones.

Derek

CTO Portrait Displays Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 05-27-2012, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
space2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Thanks guys, the reason why I asked was my work either has a pro/elite one and was thinking of using it.

Thanks
space2001 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off