Best setup for use with a Mac - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-19-2012, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 99
My only computer is a Mac with OS 10 lion. Looks like calman doesn't work with OSX

I was looking at This

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0055MBQOW/ref=gno_cart_title_1

Is this the best option for me or is there a better one for the price?

My main TV is a Samsung PN59D7000 if that helps. I mainly hang out in the audio side of things so your inside in this display arena is appreciated.

Xbox One Gamertag = The Barbeerian

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-19-2012, 09:38 PM
Member
 
stryderlis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have that colorimeter and used it on my laptop, it's pretty a pretty drastic change when I calibrated my laptop. It's also easier as the software does all the changes needed, all you really do is change the brightness. You can also use it with calman if you want to calibrate you TV.
stryderlis is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-20-2012, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I use Parallels and Win7 on my MBP so I can use CalMan.

You can also use Boot Camp + Windows.

Tyler Pruitt - Pro Calibrator - BionicAV
Technical Support - SpectraCal

THX Certified - Video Calibration

WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-20-2012, 03:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
brian6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 3,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I don't want to buy Windows and I'm not using it for monitors. Only TV's.

Xbox One Gamertag = The Barbeerian

PS4 PSNID = The-Barbeerian
brian6751 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-20-2012, 04:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
wmwilker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian6751 View Post

I don't want to buy Windows and I'm not using it for monitors. Only TV's.

I use BootCamp on my MacBook Pro. If you don't want to use Windows then you are probably out of luck. If you want to buy one of the major cal software packages you are definitely out of luck.
I would say come to the Dark Side but Apple IS the Dark Side now eek.gif

Mike

wmwilker is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-20-2012, 07:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
CalMan and ChromaPure both run just fine in VMWare Fusion for my on my Mac, and inside of Windows XP. Going Boot Camp means Windows 7 at a minimum now I believe. You can find an older version of Color HCFR for Mac I believe, but it won't work with the i1Display Pro. I have VMWare Fusion only for calibration software and the occasional PC program (Paradigm Perfect Bass Kit, etc...) that reviews require, it's just the way everything is right now it seems.

Chris Heinonen
Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, www.hometheaterhifi.com
Displays Editor, AnandTech.com
Contributor, HDGuru.com and Wirecutter.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
Smackrabbit is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off