Signal loss 3D HDMI matrix w/HDMI over cat5? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
EpicVegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm going to be getting a HDMI 4 x 2 matrix with 3D support. My question is I will need to run a hdmi cable over 100ft to the upstairs home theater room. I'm thinking of using a cat5 hdmi extender to prevent signal loss but I dont know if i will loose 3D going through a cat5 extender to my 3d projector. Any ideas if I will loose signal, quality or 3d by doing to?
EpicVegas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2012, 08:55 AM
 
BobL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 53
At 100' you are probably OK with a cat5/6 balun. Much further and I would look at coax or fibre baluns.
BobL is offline  
Old 07-10-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,309
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 379
HDBaseT extenders work over a single Cat5e/cat6 at up to 300'... Monoprice has a model that uses the HDBaseT technology for ~$200, and includes IR repeating and Ethernet...

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011012&p_id=8123&seq=1&format=2

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
 

Tags
Cat5 Rack 1u
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off