Epson 3010/TW6000 or 3010e/TW6000W Calibration Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 07-16-2012, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Keks22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I have a Epson TW6000W and i try to calibrate this PJ. I read the dummies Guide first an setup the Gray Scale. This works really good and nearly perfect.

Now i want to calibrate the primaries and secondaries. But there is a problem. The point for green is not on the right position. Its more yellow-green than green. Everything i tried don't move the position. I try it with different presets, saturation and hue but nothing happens.

Does somebody calibrate successfully calibrate the colors on the right position?

I will upload some files from my calibration later.

Regards
Keks22

PS: Sorry for my bad english!
Keks22 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 07-17-2012, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Monitorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keks22 View Post

Hello
I have a Epson TW6000W and i try to calibrate this PJ. I read the dummies Guide first an setup the Gray Scale. This works really good and nearly perfect.
Now i want to calibrate the primaries and secondaries. But there is a problem. The point for green is not on the right position. Its more yellow-green than green. Everything i tried don't move the position. I try it with different presets, saturation and hue but nothing happens.
Does somebody calibrate successfully calibrate the colors on the right position?
I will upload some files from my calibration later.
Regards
Keks22
PS: Sorry for my bad english!

Hi Keks22,

First make sure you start in the Natural Mode. This should get you very close to Rec 709 on Color Gamut. In fact, so close that you would not need to use the CMS at all.

Kevin Miller
ISF Technician
Co-Instructor ISF Level I & II Seminars
Display Product Development Consultant
kevin@isftv.com
Co-founder tweaktv.com
Monitorman is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 07-17-2012, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Keks22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Monitorman

Thanks for your reply.

I try every prest, but it doesn't change my gamut. Here are the gamuts which i can use:

Natural
329

Kino
329

Livingroom
329

Dynamic
329

In every gamut the green is not on the correct position. How can i change this?

My best result after calibration ist this (kino preset)

329


After my gray scale calibration i see something strange in the gamma. The gamma clips between 70% gray and 90% gray Maybe i can change this with the gamme EQ.

328

Is there a assosiation betwenn this and the position of the calibration reference point?
Keks22 is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 07-17-2012, 07:03 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Keks22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*double post*
Keks22 is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 07-17-2012, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

Of course the quality of the meter you are using also plays into this ... as well as the color of the walls in the room.

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 07-17-2012, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Keks22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, the walls and the ceiling is white. For my calibration i use a Spyder3 with HCFR.

I think i will do a gamma calibration first with the gamma EQ instead off the Gain and Offset Controller method for RGB.

Kino_after.zip 5k .zip file
Attached Files
File Type: zip Kino_after.zip (5.0 KB, 14 views)
Keks22 is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 07-17-2012, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

White walls have a tendency to shrink color triangles ... and the Spyder 3 wasn't designed to do what you are using it for. frown.gif (more a grayscale only device ... sorry to say)

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 07-18-2012, 05:07 AM
Member
 
Monitorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi Keks22,

Michael is right. Your meter accuracy is a huge question mark here for the color gamut. Even grayscale on a front projection system will not be measured accurately by a Spyder.

Kevin Miller
ISF Technician
Co-Instructor ISF Level I & II Seminars
Display Product Development Consultant
kevin@isftv.com
Co-founder tweaktv.com
Monitorman is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 07-18-2012, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Keks22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings
Quote:
... and the Spyder 3 wasn't designed to do what you are using it for.

Which one is better for that? X-Rite i1 pro? Or the lower cost Colorimeter i1 Display pro?

I see in an older thread that member falafala had the same problem but no solution.
Keks22 is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 07-19-2012, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Keks22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found a thread in a other forum. The results there were the same like my calibration. He used a i1pro spectroradiometer. My Spyder3 measures were correct.

Epson PowerLite® Home Cinema 3010/3010e Official Thread

The question is how can i change the gamut now?
Keks22 is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 07-20-2012, 09:01 AM
Newbie
 
dreameruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.avforums.com/reviews/Epson-TW6000-EH-TW6000W-3-Chip-LCD-3D-1080p-Projector-Review_254/Test_Results.html

The review here could not get the colour gamut correct either.

I too have this projector and will be having it professionally calibrated in the next month or so.

It would be great to have this problem sorted for the calibration but as it is i love this pj and don't notice any issues during normal viewing, but i'm ignorant as to what the problem looks like until i see it in the calibration process!
dreameruk is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 07-20-2012, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
dreameruk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also came across this statement referring to Epson projectors, don't know what model(s), so i don't know if it's of use here?

Quote:
My only comment so far is that this machine really really needs as calibrtion. The best mode is Cinema but the green is GROSSLY undersaturated before calibration.The CMS does not allow the green to be set for enough saturationwith the global saturation control (called Color saturation) in the user menu set to ), the factory default. But we found a way to get it spoot on. We raised the color control to 17, then we went into the CMS (RGBYCM) and everything could be set fine. This is one very nice machine. I have no idea why the color was set to default at 0. The setting at 17 is to us the 0 point and from there grasy scale and MS is a snap. Gamma is easily set to. Convergebce controls are really nice and intuitive. The corners needed adjustment, follow the bouncing ball and then the convergence was spot one. One very nice machine.

regards, roy
dreameruk is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 08-09-2012, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
CaliCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see that much calibration settings with this PJ... However, I'm sticking with the only one available. ProjectorReviews.com's Settings, which can be found by searching Epson 3010 Calibration via Google.

3D Calibration though is a different thing. I hope someone comes up with solid settings
CaliCool is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 10-15-2012, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
CaliCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump again.

3D anyone?
CaliCool is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 10-16-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
catmother's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA
Posts: 1,703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliCool View Post

I don't see that much calibration settings with this PJ... However, I'm sticking with the only one available. ProjectorReviews.com's Settings, which can be found by searching Epson 3010 Calibration via Google.
3D Calibration though is a different thing. I hope someone comes up with solid settings

It can be done if you know how.

http://www.displaycalibrationonline.com/reviews_epson5010.asp


While this applies to the 5010, the 3010 has most of the same calibration controls and should respond similarly.


Later this year I will calibrate my 2010 using ChromaPure Prof and the D3 Pro.
The hitch now is that my tripod is too short to elevate the D3 to screen center.
I will have to use a second tripod stacked on the first one to see if I can reach screen center that way or find another way to do so.

The one item Tom omitted is whether he used 75% Saturation patterns as recommended in many threads dealing with FP's in general and the Epsons in particular.

Keep in mind that I have an iScan Duo VP and will most likely use the 3D CMS in the Duo to calibrate the 3010 so my settings will only apply to my Ht configuration.

Certified HDTV junkie and AVS addict
U.S. Army FA WWII
catmother is offline  
post #16 of 17 Old 11-23-2012, 05:22 AM
h2c
Newbie
 
h2c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: France
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
someone will notice it a problem on the gray scale, about 10% of a blue black on the TW6000 ? A problem that disappears by activating the iris! Should be able to adjust iris manual to settle this problem. Maybe the service menu there is a setting in the manual iris ?
h2c is offline  
post #17 of 17 Old 12-02-2012, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
CaliCool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CatMother,

I used the settings found in the site you posted and it is similar, at least in my eyes, with the Cinema Mode settings that I'm using... Really good! It seems like we won't see much variation in terms of settings.

Still waiting for 3D Calibration... It seems the settings that I come up with is too dark.
CaliCool is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off