New Apartment Screwed up My LCDs Custom Calibrations! WHY?!! PLEASE HELP!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 07-20-2012, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I just recently moved into a new place, and I just set up my Sharp LCD in my room. When I went to turn it on? It looked great! Though, when I started playing games, and watching Netflix/ movies (I use my Xbox360 for everything)? I started to notice the contrast and brightness were way out of wack!

The contrast was over saturating the whites, and my blacks were so hard/ dense... Thinking, at first, "Oh, my settings must have gotten messed up from unplugging the TV from my old place, and reset to default." I check to see if that was the case? It wasn't!

I'm so confused by this because I calibrated my TV like an art at my previous place. everything looked great at the setting they were at, and now they look like garbage! Not only do I have to drop my contrast ratio, but I also have to raise my brightness up to over the 50% marker! Everything's washed out now! Though, using the calibration tools I have from this site, this is the correct setting its supposed to be at now?! Am I missing something?? I'm at a huge loss here as to why my TV's calibrations are all out of wack!

Is it the voltage coming out of the wall? Did the Xbox360 recently update the Source material for color coding to something outrages now? I'm kind of bummed...

If anyone has an answer, or can at least speculate whats happened? Id love the input!

Thanks you.

Posting my before/ after Custom calibrations and my Sharp LCD model number below:

Sharp Aquos LC-42D64U

Before Custom Calibrations (old house)-

Mode: Dynamic
Backlight: +0
Contrast: 32
Brightness: -1
Color: +0
Tint: -11
Sharpness: -4
Color Temp: Low
Active Contrast: Off
Fine Motion: Off
Film Mode: Off

*NEW* Custom Calibrations (new house)

Mode: Dynamic
Backlight: +0
Contrast: +26
Brightness: +11
Color: +2
Tint: -11