CalMan 5 Release Notes and Discussion - Page 79 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2341 of 2449 Old 05-18-2014, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AVfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I don't recall 5.3 being released. If so they need to update their web site for the new features and hardware support page.

- AVStefan
If you like someone's post, just use the Like button to give thanks.
AVfile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2342 of 2449 Old 05-18-2014, 01:39 PM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Can BT1886 reveal banding?

my issue is the following My son is watching X-Men 2 on sky (satellite) an in a dark scene i notices some banding on the background, initially I was thinking Image compression is not uncommon on TV, however I decided (much to my sons frustration smile.gif ) to pause the scene and turn the cLUT off , this revealed that there still was banding however not as much, could this be down to the fact that I use BT1886 on my cLUT and that my TV in general have a flat Power Law 2.2. i.e. without the cLUT the dark back ground was darker, and brighter with the cLUT applied (more revealing).
ACappo is online now  
post #2343 of 2449 Old 05-18-2014, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post

If you see the LightSpace's Customers List, Shooters Inc. and Park Road Post Productions are using LightSpace and propably used monitors calibrated for Blu-Ray (REC.709) Release with Power Gamma Law 2.2-2.3 Power Law Gamma.

BT1886 is a fairly new feature in LS right? So yes based on that BT1886 is unlikely.

Ted you know of the cube solutions available for the pro marked, how many other have BT1886 as a gamma option?

The defacto applications that post-production studios are using all these years for large 3D LUT Profilings are:

BaseLight TrueLight (September 2003)

Rising Sun Research CineSpace (around 2002) changed to CineTal CineSpace (August 2008) - > later became THX CineSpace CineCube (April 2012) were it was locked to REC.709 only (with reduced price).

Light Illusion LightSpace CMS (January 2009) (The Chief Color Scientist of LightSpace was responsible for the colour science in TrueLight)

CalMAN Studio where it was entered lately to pro industry (July 2012).

During my latest access of CineSpace's Private Secured FTP, they didn't had support for BT1886, just at August 2013 they added the Target Profiling File for REC.709 2.4 Power Gamma, before August it were available only REC709 2.2

THX CineSpace/CineCube has 2 worklows: ITU-R_709_g2.2 + ITU-R_709_g2.4, no BT1886...

It was not possible to enter custom gamma value with CineSpace.

Also THX CineSpace/CineCube project has now discontinued... frown.gif Their site are offline also... frown.gif

BaseLight TruLight has BT1886 as an option but I don't see any option for Black Offset, I can't test a evaluation to tell you this 100% because I don't have a Mac or a Truelight Projector / Monitor Probe...

TruLight works only with their probe, no other probes are supported. frown.gif But meter correction matrix is available.

Since the Post Production Industry don't widely using BT1886, you can calibrate to any gamma target you want, just note that REC.709 2.2 Power Gamma is the most common gamma used for the movies that have been mastered since now...

If you take 3 different displays, lets say, one plasma, one LED-backlit LCD and one CCFL-LCD backlighting and you calibrate them using the same gamma target value, if you display the same material after that the same time from that 3 panels, it will be different at shadow detai/mid-tones etc. etc.. to your eyes....

An idea of having 2-3 different memories to your LUT Box of to your internal display memories and swap them to find which one that it gives you the best performace of your display to each specific movie using your eyes is the best solution right now.

We can't do anything about it, and we don't know if the monitors that are calibrated at studios are calibrated so tight to the specs..... or how frequently they are calibrated... a mystery.....

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #2344 of 2449 Old 05-18-2014, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

Can BT1886 reveal banding?

my issue is the following My son is watching X-Men 2 on sky (satellite) an in a dark scene i notices some banding on the background, initially I was thinking Image compression is not uncommon on TV, however I decided (much to my sons frustration smile.gif ) to pause the scene and turn the cLUT off , this revealed that there still was banding however not as much, could this be down to the fact that I use BT1886 on my cLUT and that my TV in general have a flat Power Law 2.2. i.e. without the cLUT the dark back ground was darker, and brighter with the cLUT applied (more revealing).

can you elaborate on your latest calibration ?

which display/PJ did you calibrate, CM options and cube size, validation workflow.... did the 1000+pt val patch set run through okay the second time ?

Can you post pics here of the CM report of the large validation patch set ?

Thanks.

- M

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2345 of 2449 Old 05-18-2014, 06:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 813
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post

Hello guys, the last official release was CalMAN 5 Home Theater 5.3.0.1450
I pulled that info directly from the public site. Apparently they have another version somewhere else.
cadett is offline  
post #2346 of 2449 Old 05-18-2014, 11:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

Can BT1886 reveal banding?.

Yes ... absolutely, yes. Perhaps the worst example of banding I've ever seen is on the remake of "Fright Night" (delivered via D*, HBO/Sho/Starz ... don't recall which at the moment)

It's not BT1886's fault, the banding is clearly in the source ... it's just much more noticeable when you flatten out the "gamma" at the dark end.
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #2347 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 01:56 PM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Mike I did not try again with the large patch set, but I have just set it of again with a gamma of 2.22.

This bring up a question.

All my tv modes have undersaturated green with the exception of dynamic, has anyone tried to calibrate that? I have reduced contrast and backlight and set brightness so it look ok, however my pre calibration grayscale if very off, can the cube sort that out? I guess time will tell smile.gif

HDTV

I will try with 2.22 hopefully that will help, I must admit I have yet to see a movie where I preferred bt1886
ACappo is online now  
post #2348 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

Mike I did not try again with the large patch set, but I have just set it of again with a gamma of 2.22.

This bring up a question.

All my tv modes have undersaturated green with the exception of dynamic, has anyone tried to calibrate that? I have reduced contrast and backlight and set brightness so it look ok, however my pre calibration grayscale if very off, can the cube sort that out? I guess time will tell smile.gif

HDTV

I will try with 2.22 hopefully that will help, I must admit I have yet to see a movie where I preferred bt1886

the eeColor 65^3 LUT can/will definitely improve your GS, it has 65 GS points, but you should try to setup GS as good as possible before profiling, do at least 30/100 and try to get 100 as accurate as possible...

post back the large validation patch set report when u had a chance to run it... that will give us great feedback how the LUT performs !

- M

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2349 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 02:15 PM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Problem is in dynamic mode does not have any gray scale control.

I will post the validation files when done, but might be a few days, depending on the dynamic test
ACappo is online now  
post #2350 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 02:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

Problem is in dynamic mode does not have any gray scale control.

I will post the validation files when done, but might be a few days, depending on the dynamic test

I meant, setup the display BEFORE you start the profiling process... that's the correct approach...

ergo, load the CM 30/100 chart (there is one somewhere under Advanced Calibration IIRC) - adjust 30 and 100 on your screen via the internal display CMS, and when all good then start your LUT profiling process in CM... smile.gif

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2351 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 02:56 PM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
I'm clearly not good at explaining myself smile.gif
To avoid undersaturated green am I using the dynamic profile on my tv, however when selecting dynamic all advanced options in the tv menu is greyed out, no 2pg grayscale settings and no CMS.
ACappo is online now  
post #2352 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

I'm clearly not good at explaining myself smile.gif
To avoid undersaturated green am I using the dynamic profile on my tv, however when selecting dynamic all advanced options in the tv menu is greyed out, no 2pg grayscale settings and no CMS.

what is a "dynamic profile" and what is the name and model of this mysterious tv ? smile.gif

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2353 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 03:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post

what is a "dynamic profile" and what is the name and model of this mysterious tv ? smile.gif

Better yet, put your display and calibration equipment/software in your signature so we can better help you.
tbaudoin likes this.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is offline  
post #2354 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,677
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Is this ok for placemebt it's about 3-4 inches away but it's a HP dalite screen so it's kinda in direct path of my projector.

My projector is shelf mounted above my head for best results with that screen.

Holiday121 is offline  
post #2355 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,605
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holiday121 View Post

Is this ok for placemebt it's about 3-4 inches away but it's a HP dalite screen so it's kinda in direct path of my projector.

My projector is shelf mounted above my head for best results with that screen.


Looks pretty good. You'd want the meter at about the same angle of incident as your eyeballs for viewing. I'd guess that would mean a little more horizontal if you can work it that way.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #2356 of 2449 Old 05-19-2014, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,677
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Thanks was just making sure I was doing it right
Holiday121 is offline  
post #2357 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 12:06 AM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post

what is a "dynamic profile" and what is the name and model of this mysterious tv ? smile.gif

im in a bit of a rush but will update tonight meanwhile please find attached data of the validation set
1085.xlsx 1010k .xlsx file
Attached Files
File Type: xlsx 1085.xlsx (1,009.6 KB, 14 views)
Iron Mike and ConnecTEDDD like this.
ACappo is online now  
post #2358 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 02:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

im in a bit of a rush but will update tonight meanwhile please find attached data of the validation set
1085.xlsx 1010k .xlsx file

THANK YOU smile.gif

you are one of the first to provide actual validation data of a CM LUT running a large custom patch set in CM...

alright, 1087pt custom patch set

dE 2000
avg: 1.075503039
max: 6.8854
points with dE > 1.5: 233
points with dE > 2.0: 124
points with dE > 2.5: 75
points with dE > 3.0: 54

dE 2000 luminance compensated
avg: 1.132358748
max: 8.1761
points with dE > 1.5: 259
points with dE > 2.0: 150
points with dE > 2.5: 99
points with dE > 3.0: 77


- M
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2359 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 02:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Holiday121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,677
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I am so close to pulling the trigger on Calman 5.

Eh
Holiday121 is offline  
post #2360 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 454
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

im in a bit of a rush but will update tonight meanwhile please find attached data of the validation set
1085.xlsx 1010k .xlsx file

THANK YOU smile.gif

you are one of the first to provide actual validation data of a CM LUT running a large custom patch set in CM...

alright, 1087pt custom patch set

dE 2000
avg: 1.075503039
max: 6.8854
points with dE > 1.5: 233
points with dE > 2.0: 124
points with dE > 2.5: 75
points with dE > 3.0: 54

dE 2000 luminance compensated
avg: 1.132358748
max: 8.1761
points with dE > 1.5: 259
points with dE > 2.0: 150
points with dE > 2.5: 99
points with dE > 3.0: 77


- M

Hello ACappo, how many color points did you calibrated with CalMAN to have this report?

Can you re-measure these 1085 Patches without correction LUT Active?
Iron Mike likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #2361 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,442
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post

Hello ACappo, how many color points did you calibrated with CalMAN to have this report?

Can you re-measure these 1085 Patches without correction LUT Active?

I was going to ask the same thing, there is a trend for high dE points at lower saturations so it would be good to know what the pre-LUT values are for these points. I've found that a saturation density of 9 (17/9 is what I typically use) provides good coverage in combination with DLC, and the DLC threshold set to 1.5

Out of curiosity I ran the same test set ACappo used through my RC1 calibrated eecolor memory slot to compare to what I see using my typical random set and the statistics were very close to each other.

1000 Random

Avg= 0.69
Max= 2.60
# > 1.0 = 139
# > 2.0 = 4
# > 3.0 = 0

1086 set

Avg=0.64
Max=2.76
# > 1.0 = 136
# > 2.0 = 5
# > 3.0 = 0
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
zoyd is online now  
post #2362 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 12:51 PM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I can semi add to this. The screenshot below is from the latest version of calman. I have a kuro so the blue is undersaturated, so the spike in errors if from the color points that are undersaturated. That can clearly be seen in the charts. As a confirmation i suppose I can create a custom colorspace to move the blue point up to remove the saturation error in the charts. However that wont do anything for me but give me better looking charts.

ConnecTEDDD likes this.
1forsnow is offline  
post #2363 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 01:19 PM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Okay let's try:)

My test display is an older samsung LN46A560. It has issues with undersaturated red and green and at low luminance it desaturate colors (mainly red)

To avoid the undersaturated red/green did use dynamic mode (i have the options of standard/movie/dynamic) I know this is my far the worst mode for calibration, since it turn blue up in the grey scale without the option to fix it (advanced menu is disabled) so pre calibration the picture is as bad as possible. I will try again in standard this weekend.

I used CalMAN's detailed option when starting the cube calibration, I unfortunately I didn't Check the total number of readings

I will recalibrate this weekend, doing a full pre calibration patch set.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
ACappo is online now  
post #2364 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1forsnow View Post

I can semi add to this. The screenshot below is from the latest version of calman. I have a kuro so the blue is undersaturated, so the spike in errors if from the color points that are undersaturated. That can clearly be seen in the charts. As a confirmation i suppose I can create a custom colorspace to move the blue point up to remove the saturation error in the charts. However that wont do anything for me but give me better looking charts.


what are the stats for this ?

Charts like this can look "better" because of resolution of the point and the target area, that's why they don't mean much...

what are the numbers ?

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2365 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post

Okay let's try:)

My test display is an older samsung LN46A560. It has issues with undersaturated red and green and at low luminance it desaturate colors (mainly red)

To avoid the undersaturated red/green did use dynamic mode (i have the options of standard/movie/dynamic) I know this is my far the worst mode for calibration, since it turn blue up in the grey scale without the option to fix it (advanced menu is disabled) so pre calibration the picture is as bad as possible. I will try again in standard this weekend.

I used CalMAN's detailed option when starting the cube calibration, I unfortunately I didn't Check the total number of readings

I will recalibrate this weekend, doing a full pre calibration patch set.

not sure what exactly "dynamic mode" does on this display, but u def want to disable any "dynamic" behavior... display needs to be set up as good as it can be in pre-profile and then remain stable...

"dynamic mode" does not sound good to me.... eek.gif

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2366 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 01:48 PM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Its what is also known as torch mode
ACappo is online now  
post #2367 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 02:07 PM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post

what are the stats for this ?

Charts like this can look "better" because of resolution of the point and the target area, that's why they don't mean much...

what are the numbers ?

I am not sure what you mean mike? The average for 1000 points is .5272 with the highest error at 2.1335. The delta graph at the bottom shows this. Is this not good?
1forsnow is offline  
post #2368 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1forsnow View Post

I am not sure what you mean mike? The average for 1000 points is .5272 with the highest error at 2.1335. The delta graph at the bottom shows this. Is this not good?

yeah, for whatever reason the image does not enlarge when I click on it... it's hard to tell what the numbers are on the Y axis... so it's dE 1, 2, 3 ?

Edit: got it, had to restart Firefox to get it to work ! smile.gif

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2369 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 791
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 356
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1forsnow View Post

I am not sure what you mean mike? The average for 1000 points is .5272 with the highest error at 2.1335. The delta graph at the bottom shows this. Is this not good?

so, can you elaborate on your validation set up ?

Is this a custom patch set or a 10^3 grid ? did you use an external patch generator, HDMI Out or Ted's disk via Blu-ray ?

- M
ConnecTEDDD likes this.

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #2370 of 2449 Old 05-21-2014, 04:06 PM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Mike View Post

so, can you elaborate on your validation set up ?

Is this a custom patch set or a 10^3 grid ? did you use an external patch generator, HDMI Out or Ted's disk via Blu-ray ?

- M

I used this:



i have to admit, i am a rookie with this patch generator, so i wanted to start with the basics. I used hdmi out, but I have verified its accuracy against a dvdo tpg which calman now has triplet support for.
Once i get more familiar with the patch generator, i will expand my patch options.
Iron Mike and ConnecTEDDD like this.
1forsnow is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off