CalMan 5 Release Notes and Discussion - Page 84 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2491 of 2498 Old 09-21-2014, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post
Hi Ted, thank you for taking the time

I have in the past had problems with raised black level however there is none of that in the new one, does the LUT file indicate that? also how do you analyse the file?

EDIT: looking at it again there is a sligt raised black level but its very small and i only noticed it because it was set to low in the first place.


I'm using LightSpace to check your correction LUT file generated from CalMAN.

Look what is happening to your low-end, something is breaking the linearity of the correction there.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2492 of 2498 Old 09-21-2014, 05:42 AM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 43
My TV has always had problems with undersaturated colors at low luminance could that be the problem
ACappo is offline  
post #2493 of 2498 Old 09-21-2014, 05:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post
My TV has always had problems with undersaturated colors at low luminance could that be the problem
Please post some Pre/Post-Calibration Reports once you have time.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #2494 of 2498 Old 09-21-2014, 08:50 AM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Please post some Pre/Post-Calibration Reports once you have time.
Pre Calibration


post calibration


i will do the 1000 patch cc aswell
ACappo is offline  
post #2495 of 2498 Old 09-21-2014, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,321
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post
i will do the 1000 patch cc aswell
The problem is that you are starting an AutoCAL with a display which has 2.4x gamma (2.5 to your low end) and request 2.2 as a target.

So CalMAN is 'boosting/lifting' your RGB levels output to get you on target. If you start with 2.15 average to request 2.20 you will have less problems for sure.
ACappo likes this.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #2496 of 2498 Old 09-21-2014, 01:38 PM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 43
that is a very good point I will redo the calibration on a different lut and compare.

here is the pre/post comparison
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...20autocal.xlsx

thank you for taking the time
ACappo is offline  
post #2497 of 2498 Old Yesterday, 10:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
LR6AGB001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question

Looking for some advice since I'm completely new to CalMAN.
I'm looking for a CalMAN basic bundle that's also capable of creating ICC profiles for desktop PCs. Is there such a bundle or would CalMAN Basic & CalMAN RGB packages be my best bet.
LR6AGB001 is offline  
post #2498 of 2498 Old Today, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 5,087
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 498
If you go to the Enthusiast level Calman RGB is included.

65VT60
55ST60
Sony BDV-F7 3dbluray/soundbar
Calman Enthusiast
Dish Network with Hopper/Super Joey
chunon is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off