CalMan 5 Release Notes and Discussion - Page 90 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 42Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2671 of 2678 Old 04-11-2015, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,393
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Note: Once the Final version of 5.5.0 is put online to be downloaded and installed, then anyone who has an Expired Maintenance Agreement, and wants to install, will be required to purchase a new Maintenance agreement.
p5browne is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2672 of 2678 Old 04-11-2015, 08:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,843
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Users of Klein K10A colorimeters.

Which settings do you use under Calman for number of reads and low light handling trigger and number of reads for LLH? This is for a Samsung F8500 where the black level is something like .0135 ftl.

Doing LUTs calibrations, I really don't want to use higher number of reads than is necessary to get an accurate reading.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, VideoForge HDMI II, Klein K10A, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #2673 of 2678 Old Yesterday, 12:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mark_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,951
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
For the LLH I use a threshold of 2 cdm and use 30 reads. Above that I use 1 read only.

I used the Klein software to watch how it responds to low light and then set CalMAN accordingly.

Works well for me with repeatable results.

My cinema: The Cave!

My kit: 15' 2.35:1 Screen Research CP2 4-way mask, Sony vw1000es, Lumagen 2144, Meridian 861/621/7x5500/2xSW5500


Last edited by Mark_H; Yesterday at 09:19 AM.
Mark_H is offline  
post #2674 of 2678 Old Today, 07:19 AM
Member
 
Myron_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Newbie here. I just watched the CalMan 5 Tutorial walkthough. Why can't the software use the C3 or other device to calibrate brightness and contrast? Why must this be done manually? I'd like a device to properly calibrate my HDTV, but just eye-balling contrast/brightness is not very accurate.
Myron_H is offline  
post #2675 of 2678 Old Today, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
CalWldLif's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Bay'Los Angeles California.
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myron_H View Post
Newbie here. I just watched the CalMan 5 Tutorial walkthough. Why can't the software use the C3 or other device to calibrate brightness and contrast? Why must this be done manually? I'd like a device to properly calibrate my HDTV, but just eye-balling contrast/brightness is not very accurate.
brightness, perceived, has to be done by eye because of room light.
dark room allows a lower setting than a bright room would.

contrast is not as affected.
although room light will cause a need to use the eye for feeling of pop/ then also the ramps will help show when a color runs out.

Loving D65
CalWldLif is online now  
post #2676 of 2678 Old Today, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myron_H View Post
Newbie here. I just watched the CalMan 5 Tutorial walkthough. Why can't the software use the C3 or other device to calibrate brightness and contrast? Why must this be done manually? I'd like a device to properly calibrate my HDTV, but just eye-balling contrast/brightness is not very accurate.
I would recommend going to the calibration section of AVS & read up on the calibration process.
cadett is offline  
post #2677 of 2678 Old Today, 10:00 AM
Member
 
Myron_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have loaded the driver pack for my Spyder4Pro but CalMan doesn't see it properly. It shows the device name in red text. Do I need to uninstall DataColor software first?
Myron_H is offline  
post #2678 of 2678 Old Today, 05:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,656
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myron_H View Post
I have loaded the driver pack for my Spyder4Pro but CalMan doesn't see it properly. It shows the device name in red text. Do I need to uninstall DataColor software first?
Hi, what CalMAN license do you have?

When you see your meter at CalMAN's list with red letters this means that your meter is not supported by that license you are using or that you need to initialize within CalMAN before using it.

BTW, Spyder family meter are not supported by the Free ColorChecker version of CalMAN.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off