i1pro vs i1pro2????? - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 66 Old 10-28-2012, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
<^..^>Smokey Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 63
IMHO, if you don't have a i1pro and want the spectro design, the new (G2 or rev E) i1pro version is a better unit through the various advantages that CalMAN can take advantage of. However if you already own the i1pro D, unless the dark reading thing is a big problem for you, I'd spend money on a C6 or similar unit for the advantages of the two devices combined.

I bought a Jeti1211BT instead, bit of a step in another direction

Masterpiece Calibration Ltd
Christchurch NZ
<^..^>Smokey Joe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 66 Old 10-29-2012, 05:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 4,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

It's an offer for people who want to upgrade, if you don't want to that's okay.

Just spoofing with you. Hence the part about the wife at the end. I deleted my posting, but you caught me!
I did like the part about the extended Dark Reading times, but had forgotten about the Low Level Readings. Will continue with my current setup. (i1Pro profiled to the C6)
p5browne is offline  
post #63 of 66 Old 10-30-2012, 07:57 AM
Member
 
Matthieu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I switche from i1Pro to the i1Pro G2 and it is a relieve not to do the initialization every 10 minutes.
This newer device is so much more proffesional looking too, which also helps to keep the temperature down on the device itself.

My LLH in Calman is set to defau.lt and it is on 10 cd/m2, and than does 20 messurements below it.
Is this what the i1Pro G2 needs to be set on, or is this a default setting for all meters, when you enable LLH?
I only have the i1Pro G2 so I cannot check this..

Low light messuring is indeed taking it's time.
Not sure how calibrating goes with 2 meters, for example the C6 I read about here.
When do you switch meters?
When you do Greyscale, or only when you messure below the 50 IRE settings, than you switch?
To me it seems like a dragon, to switch meters all the time.

Also, I have to read myself in, to what Colorymeter is best to use.
But if it give that much better result,...
Will my display's look so much better?
Matthieu is offline  
post #64 of 66 Old 10-30-2012, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,640
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matthieu View Post

My LLH in Calman is set to defau.lt and it is on 10 cd/m2, and than does 20 messurements below it.
Is this what the i1Pro G2 needs to be set on, or is this a default setting for all meters, when you enable LLH?

It is the default for both the i1Pro and i1Pro 2. Other meters are different and therefore have different defaults.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #65 of 66 Old 10-30-2012, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Matthieu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In another forum, someone wrote to put LLH off till the i1Pro give an error himself.
Maybe this make a faster calibration and posible wont give an error if the display is bright enough, but I think that will give wrong readings at a certain point and no ISF display result.
Or is the i1Pro G2, or CalMAN 5 that good?

Any experience with that.
Matthieu is offline  
post #66 of 66 Old 10-30-2012, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,640
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 175
We ship the defaults because we think they are the best settings.

We expose the settings so you can tweak them if you want to.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off