Using RGB gain/cuts for gamma? - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 42 Old 08-23-2012, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Hi,

I'll be happy to load up graphs to show you how it goes with my pj.

Im not familiar so much with anything other than projectors where the range the controls give you is pretty wide.

I tried calibrating my plasma once but it just wasn't the same type of fun. So, I just went with warm 2 and turned off overscan and stuff like that,biggrin.gif
Brian Hampton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 42 Old 08-23-2012, 03:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,490
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post

Hi,
I'll be happy to load up graphs to show you how it goes with my pj.
Im not familiar so much with anything other than projectors where the range the controls give you is pretty wide.
I tried calibrating my plasma once but it just wasn't the same type of fun. So, I just went with warm 2 and turned off overscan and stuff like that,biggrin.gif

confused.gif ......... I just don't have words... mouth open.. head shaking.. So you don't care if your Plasma is calibrated but you will argue tooth and nail the you can effect gamma in a great way using the 2 point controls.. OK Then!

Doug
Planar PD8150 with DC4 DMD paired with a Dalite HP 2.8 110"
http://www.airscapesart.com

 
airscapes is offline  
post #33 of 42 Old 08-23-2012, 03:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote "
......... I just don't have words... mouth open.. head shaking.. So you don't care if your Plasma is calibrated but you will argue tooth and nail the you can effect gamma in a great way using the 2 point controls.. OK Then!"


I have a 42" plasma 3DTV bought on Black Friday that is mostly used by my wife and kids. Stuff like Spongebob and The Closer.

Downstairs I have a 82" screen and projector in a dedicated Home Theater.<- That's the one I use and the one I care about.

If you own a projector,... you understand.

If you don't own a projector ... well,... sorry to hear that. tongue.gif

I did a basic calibration for the other set but trust me when I say my wife and kids didn't care either way.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #34 of 42 Old 08-23-2012, 04:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 5,490
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 315 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Yep, only watch the projector, but every other display is calibrated, can not stand to look at an uncalibrated image any more! As long as everyone is happy, that is really all that matters in life!!

Doug
Planar PD8150 with DC4 DMD paired with a Dalite HP 2.8 110"
http://www.airscapesart.com

 
airscapes is offline  
post #35 of 42 Old 08-30-2012, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 478 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Hello Again,

I got some time to tune my pj today (since the kids started back to school). I've uploaded 2 graphs of gamma before and after.

I leave all my basic settings at default (Contrast, Brightness, Color, Tint.) I dis-able lots of video processing in my pj (Iris, Color Correction, Gamma Settings) becuase my pj gets some strange artifacts and they all dissapear without the extra processing.

So All I adjusted were cuts, gains and panel drivers. Panel Drivers is like a master contrast for each color and I needed to adjust those.

You see in the end I went from a gamma of approx 1.8 to approx 2.1. I "should" try to raise it a bit more but on my projector a slightly low gamma makes a very great picture.

gammaafter.jpg 196k .jpg file

gammabefore.jpg 192k .jpg file

illum-after.jpg 157k .jpg file

illum-before.jpg 158k .jpg file

Settled? I can answer and further queastions or concerns.

Some notes-
The Gamma looks flatter in the first (Before)graph... true.
Neither before or after is perfect. It's all I had time for today.
My projector comes with a gamma correction software you run on a PC and then upload to the pj via serial cable. It lets you adjust the curve of each primary color and it lets you nail RGB balance and gamma. However, My pj also has known issues with blocky, blotchy blacks and in my experience dis-abling more of these types of corrections eliminates those problems. What you wind up with is worst graphs but better picture... Another topic completely.... Which I think will warrant another thread.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gammaafter.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	195.5 KB
ID:	63377   Click image for larger version

Name:	gammabefore.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	191.9 KB
ID:	63378   Click image for larger version

Name:	illum-after.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	157.5 KB
ID:	63381   Click image for larger version

Name:	illum-before.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	158.2 KB
ID:	63382  
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #36 of 42 Old 08-30-2012, 01:02 PM
Member
 
kanedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You can definitely affect gamma with gain/cut controls. However, these are crude controls for adjusting white balance, and even more crude controls for adjusting gamma. A lot of trial and error is needed to use gain/cut to adjust W/B and gamma. I've done it and like a poster mentioned earlier, it can be at the cost of black level. Personally, unless the gamma is extremely terrible, I prefer darker blacks over "correct" gamma. You'll just have to play with the controls and see what you like.
kanedo is offline  
post #37 of 42 Old 11-25-2015, 02:12 AM
Member
 
ckyam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I have been browsing through the forum and maybe some one could give me an answer regarding RGBHighEnd and RGBLowEnd for Red and Blue color. How are these setting called in LG Plasma menu (PB5600).

I have in CMS: Saturation,Tint,Luminance and also in Gamma section I have Red,Blue and Green.

Thank you in advance

Last edited by ckyam; 11-25-2015 at 02:14 AM. Reason: grammar mistake
ckyam is offline  
post #38 of 42 Old 11-25-2015, 04:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 806 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckyam View Post
Hello, I have been browsing through the forum and maybe some one could give me an answer regarding RGBHighEnd and RGBLowEnd for Red and Blue color. How are these setting called in LG Plasma menu (PB5600).

I have in CMS: Saturation,Tint,Luminance and also in Gamma section I have Red,Blue and Green.
RGB HighEnd and RGBLowerEnd controls are not in the CMS section. They are in the colour temperature section, usually under "Expert Mode"

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 11-25-2015 at 05:41 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #39 of 42 Old 11-25-2015, 04:50 AM
Member
 
ckyam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
RGB HighEnd and RGBLowerEnd are in the CMS section. They are in the colour temperature are grey scale section, usually under "Advanced Options"
Dear Dominic i don't think that's right, because in color temperature, i can only give "gamma" to blue -50 to +50 and red from -50 to +50.
From the little i have understood from different posts, these are two seperate values for each color respectively, compared to the option in color temperature where i have a single value Blue, Red and Green
ckyam is offline  
post #40 of 42 Old 11-25-2015, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 806 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckyam View Post
Dear Dominic i don't think that's right, because in color temperature, i can only give "gamma" to blue -50 to +50 and red from -50 to +50.
My comment was a "generic" one based on my own LG TV, and indeed may not apply to your specific TV. Unfortunately the Owner's Manual doesn't give any details.
Quote:
From the little i have understood from different posts, these are two seperate values for each color respectively
That is correct - RGBHigh and RGBLow are two separate values for each colour. When you said "different posts", were you referring to posts on your specific TV? Yours may simply not have those.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 11-25-2015 at 06:25 AM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
post #41 of 42 Old 11-25-2015, 06:23 AM
Member
 
ckyam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominic Chan View Post
My comment was a "generic" one and indeed may not apply to your specific TV. Unfortunately the Owner's Manual doesn't give any details.

That is correct - RGBHigh and RGBLow are two separate values for each colour. When you said "different posts", were you referring to posts on your specific TV? Yours may simply not have those.
No, I was referring to posts on this forum, and through internet search in general. Thanks for your answer though Chan,even if I haven't found yet what I'm looking for

moved to : LG 60" PB5600 Calibration (Following "For Dummies")

Last edited by ckyam; 11-25-2015 at 02:27 PM. Reason: Introduced a new thread for my case
ckyam is offline  
post #42 of 42 Old 11-25-2015, 05:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Mississauga, ON, Canada
Posts: 1,395
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 806 Post(s)
Liked: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckyam View Post
Dear Dominic i don't think that's right, because in color temperature, i can only give "gamma" to blue -50 to +50 and red from -50 to +50.
I just read your post in the other thread, and there you said you have "High" Point and "Low" Point, not just "Gamma". That made more sense.

Last edited by Dominic Chan; 11-25-2015 at 05:27 PM.
Dominic Chan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off