Just got a used i1Pro spectro... some questions about accuracy and use - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I just got a used i1Pro spectro today. I first ran i1 diagnostics, which worked perfectly and then ran a grayscale and gamut run on my primary display, a LG CCFL-LCD. The display was calibrated just yesterday with a C6 running a profile created by a Jeti 1211.

C6 Profiled by Jeti 1211.pdf 45k .pdf file

i1Pro Enhanced (rev. D spectro).pdf 45k .pdf file

C6 Profiled by Jeti 1211 gamut.pdf 227k .pdf file

i1Pro Enhanced (rev. D spectro) gamut.pdf 220k .pdf file

Both meters were used in contact mode, though while the C6 was dead on center, the i1Pro was a bit off, mainly due to the suspension strap being just barely long enough to be secure behind this 42" LCD. Given that the i1Pro wasn't dead center and FOV wasn't matched at all, are these results typical?

Also, is there any way to extend the suspension strap to allow the counterweight to hang further down the back of the TV? It's basically at the top at the moment and I had to move the i1Pro a little above the vertical center to keep it secure.

Does FOV matter when comparing the results between the C6 and i1Pro? when profiling the C6 with the i1Pro?

When working on color/tint and CMS, should I use the profiled C6 (via the i1Pro) or the i1Pro directly? for grayscale/gamma?

Also, if I choose to use this meter with a tripod, I'll need a long extender to get the meter close enough to the display. Where can I find one? The tripod holder it came with was too short (I have the SpectraCal one).
Attached Files
File Type: pdf C6 Profiled by Jeti 1211.pdf (45.2 KB, 53 views)
File Type: pdf i1Pro Enhanced (rev. D spectro).pdf (45.2 KB, 59 views)
File Type: pdf C6 Profiled by Jeti 1211 gamut.pdf (227.2 KB, 41 views)
File Type: pdf i1Pro Enhanced (rev. D spectro) gamut.pdf (219.5 KB, 40 views)
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post


Also, is there any way to extend the suspension strap to allow the counterweight to hang further down the back of the TV? It's basically at the top at the moment and I had to move the i1Pro a little above the vertical center to keep it secure. Add a piece of string. Seriously.


When working on color/tint and CMS, should I use the profiled C6 (via the i1Pro) or the i1Pro directly? for grayscale/gamma? Use either but the spectro leaves no doubt.


Also, if I choose to use this meter with a tripod, I'll need a long extender to get the meter close enough to the display. Where can I find one? The tripod holder it came with was too short (I have the SpectraCal one). Adjust the legs, extend the neck - you can get within inches of a flat panel screen without any help.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,607
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 109
What i did for the i1pro to get a longer strap was to replace it with a Dritz tape measure (had 2 in the sewing box). You can get them at your local Joan Fabrics or online.

http://www.createforless.com/Dritz+Tape+Measure+Vinyl+60/pid13340.aspx?utm_source=googlebase&utm_medium=cse&cagpspn=pla&CAWELAID=1439798307&gclid=COOQyv_n-bECFQVgMgodeSgAHw

I think I had to wrap it around the counter weight 2 times get good tension but I am not sure. This will give 4' or more of line, worked great on a 72" RP display. I can send you pictures if you want, just email me.

Far as the FOV I think you will find minor differences like you saw here moving your meter around the display, I know I saw much larger difference when moving the meter around my LG (not the same panel as you have so maybe not but test it out)
airscapes is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

Also, if I choose to use this meter with a tripod, I'll need a long extender to get the meter close enough to the display. Where can I find one? The tripod holder it came with was too short (I have the SpectraCal one).

We have this extension bar available, fully adjustable to where you need it smile.gif

Profiling Kit also available.

dsskid likes this.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 04:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by airscapes View Post

What i did for the i1pro to get a longer strap was to replace it with a Dritz tape measure (had 2 in the sewing box). You can get them at your local Joan Fabrics or online.
http://www.createforless.com/Dritz+Tape+Measure+Vinyl+60/pid13340.aspx?utm_source=googlebase&utm_medium=cse&cagpspn=pla&CAWELAID=1439798307&gclid=COOQyv_n-bECFQVgMgodeSgAHw
I think I had to wrap it around the counter weight 2 times get good tension but I am not sure. This will give 4' or more of line, worked great on a 72" RP display. I can send you pictures if you want, just email me.
Far as the FOV I think you will find minor differences like you saw here moving your meter around the display, I know I saw much larger difference when moving the meter around my LG (not the same panel as you have so maybe not but test it out)

thanks; it should be strong enough, right? I wouldn't want it to snap under the weight of the meter or counterweight (which is quite heavy compared to those counterweights used on colorimeters).

Also, do I need only one of these tape measures or two? Is one thick enough?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,607
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

thanks; it should be strong enough, right? I wouldn't want it to snap under the weight of the meter or counterweight (which is quite heavy compared to those counterweights used on colorimeters).
Also, do I need only one of these tape measures or two? Is one thick enough?

Oh it is plenty strong..you only need one. I would have had to go buy one to replace the one in the sewing box.. but there were 2. wink.gif
Yes, it is thick enough and just the correct width. The metal end hold nice in the hanger
airscapes is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 06:57 PM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 38
^^^thats a great idea airscapes!!!
1forsnow is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 08-21-2012, 10:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: WA State
Posts: 15,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I experimented with FOV and ended up following Doug's idea on the combo tri-pod mount, worked well and gave me more repeatable results (NOTE: the i1Pro does not have to be in contact mode and I have actually been told by a seasoned pro that it can sometimes be beneficial to keep it off the screen).

My strap is long enough for a 60" but just barely, I'll grab one of the tape measures as Doug suggested (another great tip, thank you Doug).

I would use the i1Pro for Gamut and the corrected C6 for greyscale, been having excellent results doing it this way.

Jason
DaGamePimp is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off