Colormunki vs i1 basic pro? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 Old 09-15-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Which of this two meters is the most accuracy out of box?
I use Calman.

colormunki:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pantone-CMUNPH-X-Rite-ColorMunki-Photo/dp/B00169N0BK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1347721015&sr=8-2


i1 basic pro:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pantone-X-Rite-i1-Basic/dp/B001RMVFSG/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1347721062&sr=1-1-catcorr


I have exactly this two to chose.
Bits123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 27 Old 09-15-2012, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
The i1 Pro is a little more accurate.

Quite a bit of the internals is shared between the two meters.

If you're measuring print or other reflective measurements the i1 Pro has a much better internal lamp. For Emissive measurements (measuring displays) they are much closer to each other.

Probably the big difference for our use is the i1 Pro has glass optics while the Munki has plastic. You've seen what clear plastic looks like in 3 or 4 years compared to glass.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #3 of 27 Old 09-15-2012, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Then the i1 basic pro it is.
Bits123 is offline  
post #4 of 27 Old 09-15-2012, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do i1 pro need to calibrat against black before using?
Bits123 is offline  
post #5 of 27 Old 09-15-2012, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
both the munki and i1 Pro need periodic dark cals

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #6 of 27 Old 09-16-2012, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, does it need to be warmd up?
If yes, how long time?
Bits123 is offline  
post #7 of 27 Old 09-16-2012, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bits123 View Post

Ok, does it need to be warmd up?
If yes, how long time?

Not really, that's what the periodic dark cals take care of.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #8 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do i dark cal it? Do i use The White tile who come with The i1pro?
Bits123 is offline  
post #9 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 10:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bits123 View Post

How do i dark cal it? Do i use The White tile who come with The i1pro?

Yes or just a dark surface for the i1Pro. The i1Pro 2 requires it's dark cal on the cal plate only.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #10 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 107
The way I was told to do the i1pro was, in calman set the button action to initialize. Then when you need to do a dark reading you put your finger over the hole and press the button on the side of the i1pro.. done. Very fast and simple to do once you get rolling in your calibration, takes all of 3 seconds.
airscapes is offline  
post #11 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by airscapes View Post

The way I was told to do the i1pro was, in calman set the button action to initialize. Then when you need to do a dark reading you put your finger over the hole and press the button on the side of the i1pro.. done. Very fast and simple to do once you get rolling in your calibration, takes all of 3 seconds.

Ever put a flash light up to your finger?

I'd use something more opaque.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #12 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did get my i1Pro today, and the certification was made 5 october 2010 and it expired 1 May 2012.
But it's new so do I need to check it out or can I just use it?

It shod be more accurat then my 1 year old i1display pro 3 right?


The cert:
Bits123 is offline  
post #13 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,579
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Ever put a flash light up to your finger?
I'd use something more opaque.

?? If you tv is putting out that much light you would be blind, don't you think?
airscapes is offline  
post #14 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 02:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bits123 View Post

I did get my i1Pro today, and the certification was made 5 october 2010 and it expired 1 May 2012.
But it's new so do I need to check it out or can I just use it?
It shod be more accurat then my 1 year old i1display pro 3 right?
The cert:

Yes indeed. Since spectros don't have filters, they don't really age just sitting around in a box like a colorimeter. Nearly all the i1 Pro's we get in for re certification pass with flying colors.

If it really does bother you, I'd contact whoever sold it to you and complain. Getting shipped a meter with an expired certificate is a legitimate gripe, but I wouldn't worry too much about the accuracy.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #15 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazon dont have it left in stock, so no.

But I can use it, I can re-calibrate it against a Jeti or something later.
Bits123 is offline  
post #16 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bits123 View Post

Amazon dont have it left in stock, so no.
But I can use it, I can re-calibrate it against a Jeti or something later.

Re-calibrations with spectros are a bit different than creating profile.

But I would use it and wouldn't even worry about it.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #17 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Bits123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Shod I store the i1 pro in a plastic bag and then i the original bag or can I just store it in the bage without the plastic bag around it?

Which one is best?

I guess that it can moisture in the bag right?
Bits123 is offline  
post #18 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 03:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bits123 View Post

Shod I store the i1 pro in a plastic bag and then i the original bag or can I just store it in the bage without the plastic bag around it?
Which one is best?
I guess that it can moisture in the bag right?

Moisture isnt' a huge issue with the i1 Pro, but it's always better to take better care of it.

Mine has been sitting on my desk for 3 years.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #19 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 03:25 PM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Joel,
Has anyone a SpectraCal had an opportunity to re-evaluate a ColorMunki spectro after a significant period of time? Mine is just over a year old, and I'm curious about its long term stability. I currently use it to generate a profile for my D3.
slb is offline  
post #20 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Regarding dark readings for the original i1 Pro, after doing the inital dark reading at the start of the calibration session, how far can you go before you really need to do another dark reading? (on a LED-LCD flat panel used in contact mode)
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #21 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 03:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Joel,
Has anyone a SpectraCal had an opportunity to re-evaluate a ColorMunki spectro after a significant period of time? Mine is just over a year old, and I'm curious about its long term stability. I currently use it to generate a profile for my D3.

I don't know that we have. I'll ask around when I have the chance.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #22 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Joel,
Has anyone a SpectraCal had an opportunity to re-evaluate a ColorMunki spectro after a significant period of time? Mine is just over a year old, and I'm curious about its long term stability. I currently use it to generate a profile for my D3.[/quote
I don't know that we have. I'll ask around when I have the chance.

We use them in the rental program so Darrell should know.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #23 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

Regarding dark readings for the original i1 Pro, after doing the inital dark reading at the start of the calibration session, how far can you go before you really need to do another dark reading? (on a LED-LCD flat panel used in contact mode)

Depends if you are going to be measuring stuff below about 5 cd/m.

If you are going to measure things that are dim, then probably 10-15 minutes.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #24 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 05:43 PM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

I don't know that we have. I'll ask around when I have the chance.

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

We use them in the rental program so Darrell should know.


Anything you could share would be great. BTW, I'm really liking CalMan 5 so far. I'm going to try an autocal on my Duo soon and see how it compares to my manual CalMan 4 results.
slb is offline  
post #25 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,424
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by slb View Post

Joel,
Has anyone a SpectraCal had an opportunity to re-evaluate a ColorMunki spectro after a significant period of time? Mine is just over a year old, and I'm curious about its long term stability. I currently use it to generate a profile for my D3.

Though I'm not SpectraCaI, I have, with 7 ColorMuni Spectros now..

There is no difference, all seven are from the original release

Purchase your Colormeter as your only meter, lets have this conversation again in a few years smile.gif

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #26 of 27 Old 09-18-2012, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,056
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Depends if you are going to be measuring stuff below about 5 cd/m.
If you are going to measure things that are dim, then probably 10-15 minutes.

Thanks.

In my case, under 5 cd/m only includes 20% gray (I do 9-step grayscale with the spectro). So, I should be fine from 30% on up.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #27 of 27 Old 09-19-2012, 10:30 AM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

Though I'm not SpectraCaI, I have, with 7 ColorMuni Spectros now..
There is no difference, all seven are from the original release
Purchase your Colormeter as your only meter, lets have this conversation again in a few years smile.gif

Thanks Turbe. Surprisingly, except for luminance, my D3 and ColorMunki agree fairly well on my GT50 plasma and Samsung CCFL LCD.
slb is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off