i1pro hcfr plasma measurements - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-17-2012, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
delphiplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hi,

Just wondered if plasma screens can be calibrated using the above set-up? Or has the meter got a built in infra red filter?

Thanks
delphiplasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-17-2012, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,755
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by delphiplasma View Post

Hi,
Just wondered if plasma screens can be calibrated using the above set-up? Or has the meter got a built in infra red filter?
Thanks

i1 Pros don't need filters, they read the spectrum and know how much weight each wavelength contributes to the measurement.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-18-2012, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
delphiplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks. What I meant to say was does the i1pro have built in infra red correction for plasma display calibration?
delphiplasma is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-18-2012, 11:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,755
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by delphiplasma View Post

Thanks. What I meant to say was does the i1pro have built in infra red correction for plasma display calibration?

There is no such thing.

The color matching function is what gates infrared's contribution to the X value of the XYZ measurement. If infra-red effects a colorimeter it's because it has bad filters. Spectro's don't have this issue at all. They see the infrared, but know it is infrared.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-18-2012, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
delphiplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks. I was comparing my i1lt with the i1pro. The i1pro saw the plasma red output down by around 5%. The LT was set to 'plasma' for it's reading and measured red on the line. I suppose I need to do my tests using an LCD display. Many thanks sitting for the well constructed response
delphiplasma is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-13-2013, 08:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 16,048
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 312
What did you find out?
JimP is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-13-2013, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
delphiplasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hi,

I never managed to check with LCD. However, I managed to compare with a broadcast monitor which had been professionally set up. A side by side greyscale ramp showed that the ione pro was more correct. The lt la lacking red

Hope that helps?
delphiplasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off