Why correct gamma makes my display very dim? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-11-2012, 10:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
max90034's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: US
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was trying to calibrate my plasma (Samsung) using radiance mini 3d and CP. It turned out that "before" gamma was very wrong going from ~1.2 at 90% to ~1.8 at 10%. Using either manual controls or CP autocalibration I could make gamma curve much flatter and close to 2.2. The problem is that it makes picture much dimmer! I know now that it is supposed to get dimmer when I rise gamma at right end from 1.2 to 2.2. So, technically it is much more correct after calibration but I just cannot stand that dim picture! Is this a problem with my display, my eyes, my brain?? Anything I can do to get correct gamma without dimming the picture?
max90034 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-12-2012, 04:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by max90034 View Post

I was trying to calibrate my plasma (Samsung) using radiance mini 3d and CP. It turned out that "before" gamma was very wrong going from ~1.2 at 90% to ~1.8 at 10%. Using either manual controls or CP autocalibration I could make gamma curve much flatter and close to 2.2. The problem is that it makes picture much dimmer! I know now that it is supposed to get dimmer when I rise gamma at right end from 1.2 to 2.2. So, technically it is much more correct after calibration but I just cannot stand that dim picture! Is this a problem with my display, my eyes, my brain?? Anything I can do to get correct gamma without dimming the picture?

can you increase peak white by turning up contrast? or is it already as high as it can go without clipping/discoloration?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-12-2012, 06:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 179
max

You need to ask this in the Chromapure thread.

Sounds vaguely familiar but not sure if I read it there on the Calman thread.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-12-2012, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 204
If your peak output at 100% is near 120 cd/m2 and the gamma is in the 2.2-2.3 range, then this is what a calibrated display looks like. If you had gotten used to a gamma of 1.2, then this may look dim to you.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-12-2012, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
max90034's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: US
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It turned out that the problem was me using field model to calibrate plasma. It was reading gamma incorrectly and was trying to fix it by reducing brightness. Once I switch to window, gamma reading was much more reasonable and brightness was not change after calibration.
max90034 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off