[LG LM960V] Inconsistence between internal & external patterns - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2012, 01:53 PM - Thread Starter
 
Koperfild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, I've got the brand new LG LM960V in my hands. It features 20 point white balance and built-in calibration patterns. However I made a few runs and they measure slightly different than ones from my Accupel DVG-5000 generator.

Here's the data collected from internal patterns. Notice that since there is no "0 IRE" pattern I had to use external to measure black level.



Here from the generator



Notice that reference white luminance is 10 candelas greater on internal pattern. I have no explanation for this. The measurements were taken on full field patterns (same as internal), any other ones (windowed, small APL from AVS 709 disc) give unpredictable results but that may be caused by local dimming feature which cannot be defeated in this TV. The TV runs the latest FW: 04.10.26
BTW Entering white balance menu in 2012 LG's causes the contrast to increase to 100...



What do you think about that?
Koperfild is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2012, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 88
does the OSD dispaly for the internal patterns stay up all the time? If so, this with the ld algorithm, may be why

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
 
Koperfild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Turbe - yes but it must stay on to have internal pattern on screen. However to prevent ld algorithm messing up things I left the same menu when I was measuring external patterns.
Koperfild is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 88
it's too bad we don't have an option to disable/enable ld, it can be tellling calibrating with it off (and on)

I'd stick with the Accupel

on another note, I see they are still using, incorrectly, the IRE label


one more thought - while you have a pattern up from the accupel, do you see any fluxuations while leaving it up over a few minutes, or does it settle immediately?

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
 
Koperfild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So you recommend sticking with Accupel and full field patterns?

With windowed patterns or APL patterns it's as weird as that


I think this TV makes strange adjustments based on what is displayed in the middle of the screen.

--also, would you set the local dimming to high during calibration if it's the desired setting for watching?
Koperfild is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 88
that's the key, what's really going on with their algorithm, including with the various options.. full fields if ld enabled during the cal..

Do you see fluxuations over time for one pattern?

Even for displays where ld is disabled for calibration, what does a post cal report look like with ld enabled? For Elites, we will see soon.

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 04:14 PM - Thread Starter
 
Koperfild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Turbe - no fluxuations, i made several readings with different pattern changing interval. They were almost identical.

Which way do You prefer? wink.gif
Koperfild is offline  
Old 10-25-2012, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 88
do you get identical results with small windowed patterns as with the full field (both external and internal)..

Using just the Accupel, what about with and without that LG OSD (for patterns)

perhaps you can post all four results


looks like really just the low end, could be some meter flux

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
 
Koperfild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Turbe there's no meter flux for sure. Here're the results:

Clear screen, Accupel full field patterns


Menu on, Accupel full field patterns


Internal patterns
Koperfild is offline  
Old 10-27-2012, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,457
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 228
If it is a plasma TV you MUST use small-ish window patterns. If it is an LCD with either LED or CCFL backlighting, it doesn't matter whether you use full-screen or window patterns, you should get the same result.

I also think you should stick with the signal generator to insure you are getting accurate patterns.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX -- ISF -- HAA
Doug Blackburn is offline  
Old 10-31-2012, 03:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Are these readings being taken with the profiled colormeter or from the spectro?

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, VideoForge HDMI II, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
Old 10-31-2012, 06:48 AM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
[quote name="Koperfild" url="/t/1435700/lg-lm960v-inconsistence-between-internal-external-patterns#post_22526685"BTW Entering white balance menu in 2012 LG's causes the contrast to increase to 100

What do you think about that?[/quote]

If you are talking about the Service Menu then

Try lower all (together!!) bias/gain values in SM so you can get around 35-40 FTL or set to an FTL value where the RGB grayscale do NOT CLIP and your eyes feel comfortable viewing the light output.

This takes time en experiments but setting grayscale in SM would not be trusted when RGB clip at 100% contrast (just like in the user menu)

If you calibrate in the user menu and internal and external measures the same there should be no problem.

Let me know the result because I have an 2011 model.

Greetzz

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
Old 10-31-2012, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Blackburn View Post

If it is a plasma TV you MUST use small-ish window patterns. If it is an LCD with either LED or CCFL backlighting, it doesn't matter whether you use full-screen or window patterns, you should get the same result.
I also think you should stick with the signal generator to insure you are getting accurate patterns.

It's LED with local dimming. Initially, I didn't look up this new model but he did post about the local dimming in the OP smile.gif
Quote:
give unpredictable results but that may be caused by local dimming feature which cannot be defeated in this TV

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
Old 11-02-2012, 04:20 AM
Member
 
AV-Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes you discovered the biggest flaw of the lm960 - it changes the screen charactersic if the menu is visible!
So you have always to recheck your settings with the menu not visible.
Therefore this tv is a pain in the ass to calibrate.
AV-Freak is offline  
Old 11-04-2012, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
 
Koperfild's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV-Freak View Post

Yes you discovered the biggest flaw of the lm960 - it changes the screen charactersic if the menu is visible!
So you have always to recheck your settings with the menu not visible.

Yes, but the menu must stay on-screen to have internal pattern displayed. Does it mean that I can't relly on internal patterns?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Are these readings being taken with the profiled colormeter or from the spectro?

Profiled colorimeter. It does not fluxuate if that's what you're thinking about smile.gif
Koperfild is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off