How could I calibrate for 0-255? Are there any calibration patterns for it? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 101 Old 12-17-2012, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Unfortunately no plasmas can ever be fully - and accurately - calibrated.

ABL prevents that. There is just no way around it.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 101 Old 12-17-2012, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hmm. Although I know plasmas are great. There is also a darkside to them called....ABL smile.gif

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #93 of 101 Old 12-17-2012, 08:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone Burton View Post

Hmm. Although I know plasmas are great. There is also a darkside to them called....ABL smile.gif

Also image retention which can effect measurements.

LCDs also have issues with response time, black level and viewing angle.

Sadly there is no ideal display.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #94 of 101 Old 12-17-2012, 08:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

Also image retention which can effect measurements.
LCDs also have issues with response time, black level and viewing angle.
Sadly there is no ideal display.
not even the cinemas screen?

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #95 of 101 Old 12-18-2012, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyrone Burton View Post

not even the cinemas screen?

The trade off there of course is going to a projector you'll need to have a totally light controlled environment.
Older wheel based DLPs have the issue with people seeing rainbow effects (front or rear projection).
3 Chip DLPs have higher black level than single chip DLPs.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #96 of 101 Old 12-18-2012, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well if what your saying is that all display devices are never full completely accurate, I'm happy. Because it can't be helped smile.gif

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #97 of 101 Old 12-18-2012, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi light illusion. I'd like to just ask a question about your brightness pattern? Does it have a BTB square at all, and if it does is it by any chance the last square on the image?

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #98 of 101 Old 12-19-2012, 09:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post

The IPS panels we have tested and calibrated have been very good
what kind of native on:off and ansi contrast ratios are we talking about here?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #99 of 101 Old 12-20-2012, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Light Illusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 522
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Quote:
Hi light illusion. I'd like to just ask a question about your brightness pattern? Does it have a BTB square at all, and if it does is it by any chance the last square on the image?

The patterns are all full data range, so they include 'sub-black' and 'super-white', which are the correct terms to use.
But this depends on how you display the images.

See: www.lightillusion.com/data_tv_levels.html

You need to understand if the workflow / signal path you are using is re-mapping the image levels/data, or clipping.

Most home systems will re-map, so there will be no sub-black, or super white.

Steve

Steve Shaw
LIGHT ILLUSION

Light Illusion is offline  
post #100 of 101 Old 12-20-2012, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Light Illusion View Post

The patterns are all full data range, so they include 'sub-black' and 'super-white', which are the correct terms to use.
But this depends on how you display the images.
See: www.lightillusion.com/data_tv_levels.html
You need to understand if the workflow / signal path you are using is re-mapping the image levels/data, or clipping.
Most home systems will re-map, so there will be no sub-black, or super white.
Steve
well using the brightness pattern on my PS3, while outputting TV legal levels, I can see all the squares and don't have any clipping going on with either the brightness or contrast images.

It's just I wanted to know this as Scotti has explained to me that alot of Oporating systems don't output BTB, so I should clip it using the brightness control. I'm currently showing the last square in your image barely.

Tyrone Burton is offline  
post #101 of 101 Old 12-23-2012, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Tyrone Burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK,Cheshire
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello again guys. I'm running into a bit of confusion at the minute. I need to ask questions in two different threads to get my problem strait.

I'm not sure but I think what scotti was saying about consoles being designed to run in 16-235 if I'm right, might be happening here. I'd just like to ask, what did you mean you said "that's the way they were designed to work"?

Tyrone Burton is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off