Does refresh rate affect a calibration? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-02-2012, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter
 
maliclipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I was playing around with my macbook pro which has a HDMI port on it and hooked it to my Vizio e601i-a3 (a tv that claims 120hz) but it came up as 60hz in the properties.

I have an i1pro and calman v4 and hcfr. I don't have a dvd/bluray player so I was hoping to use calman's or hcfr image / color generator through my macbook or another computer to help me calibrate the display - so does refresh really matter?

In all honesty I'm sending the vizio back and have a samsung ES7100 coming in the next couple days that boasts a 240hz display but I'm worried that the PC hdmi signal won't give me what a bluray player or dvd player would running a dvd essentials disc. I might break down and get a bluray player but if I can make it easier on myself I will.

Thanks,
M
maliclipse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-02-2012, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,024
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 305
That's a definite maybe.

Every manufacturer does different things, I don't know the specifics about your set. The only sure fire way to know is to test.

On windows that are several different ways to change the refresh rate so you should be able to match the signal for either a blu-ray or cable box.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-03-2012, 12:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 346
The real issue is how the TV is setup to operate. A 120 Hz or 240 Hz display doesn't necessarily accept 120 Hz or 240 Hz INPUTS. Instead, it accepts 60 Hz inputs and converts those to 120 or 240, sometimes using motion-smoothing processing (sometimes not). These same TVs may also accept 24p inputs and convert those to 120 or 240 internally.

What this means is that if we ever get a 120p video source (or 240p), today's "120 Hz or 240 Hz" TVs will NOT accept those inputs. You MIGHT be able to make a TV that accepts 120p or 240p inputs, but I don't think anybody is making such a home video display today. There might be computer monitors that accept 120 Hz or higher video rates.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX -- ISF -- HAA
Doug Blackburn is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-05-2012, 01:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 17,174
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 953 Post(s)
Liked: 433
Do our eyes see color differently than our equipment/software when refresh rates are changed?
JimP is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-05-2012, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 7,024
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Do our eyes see color differently than our equipment/software when refresh rates are changed?

Intensity might be slightly different, but chromaticity would not.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-05-2012, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,646
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 346

.What you see depends on how the higher refresh rate is implemented and/or what settings you've made to the display. Some high frame rates insert black frames between each "normal" feame. Obviously, that probably won't look as bright initially, but you might be able to compensate by raising contrast or backlight or both. For example, 240 Hz with black frames would be frame1-black-frame1-black-frame2-black-frame2-black, etc. There would be 120 frames per sexond plus 120 black frames per second.

There might be SOME meter out there that has problems with some refresh rate or another, but I've never seen one myself. If the display in the above example measured 30 fL with no black frames inserted, if you switched to a mode where half the frames were black, you'd expect 100% white to drop to 15 fL. If you want 30 fL you'd have to experiment with Contrast and Backlight to get back to 30 fL. Color shouldn't be an issue one way or the other. And I don't recall ever seeing a display that measured differently at a high frame rate vs. 60 Hz, not that I go looking for that, but I do sometimes check things like that the first time I see a display.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX -- ISF -- HAA
Doug Blackburn is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 01-19-2016, 11:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Send a message via AIM to NightWolve
Anybody know good software to test your refresh rate, and I mean real executable apps and not any web pages that implement the test with the browser ??
NightWolve is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 01-20-2016, 12:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 1003
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightWolve View Post
Anybody know good software to test your refresh rate, and I mean real executable apps and not any web pages that implement the test with the browser ??
Hi, take a look for Burosch Motion Blur Check which is a PC utility that has 5 different selectable frame rates: 24/25/30/50/60p, fully adjustable speed ​​in pixels/second control and direction of motion by pressing a key.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 01-20-2016, 12:47 AM
Member
 
Bloodwound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My Pioneer Kuro seems to be the largely the same whether I use 24hz (72hz internally) or 60hz. But in 50hz mode (100hz internally), it's slightly desaturated. For that reason I always use 24hz when I calibrate. I could have a seperate calibration for 50hz sources (espescially since I live in PAL-land) but I don't, since I'm not really bothered.
Bloodwound is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-20-2016, 01:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,568
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 619 Post(s)
Liked: 1003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwound View Post
My Pioneer Kuro seems to be the largely the same whether I use 24hz (72hz internally) or 60hz. But in 50hz mode (100hz internally), it's slightly desaturated. For that reason I always use 24hz when I calibrate. I could have a seperate calibration for 50hz sources (espescially since I live in PAL-land) but I don't, since I'm not really bothered.
Hi, yes, it's true. KURO's have various working modes internally according to the input signal with different internally (in service menu) calibration values from the factory per each mode (Video-60Hz,PC-60Hz,Video-48Hz,Video-50Hz,Video-60Hz,Video-72Hz,Video-75Hz).

When you will playback a 24p signal it will enter to Video-72Hz mode. When you will playback a music/concept blu-ray disk which is 60i when it will enter to Video-60Hz mode.

These 2 modes I choose to calibrate (24p+60p), and for 60p patterns, I use my calibration disk which has been encoded for 24p but I force my Blu-Ray Player to output the patterns @ 60p.

There differences to panel output performance for different input frame rates that will require different calibration is needed for Panasonic Plasma's also.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off