Looks like a new entry level meter. - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 60 Old 12-28-2012, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just want to print standard reports. Can the Turorial license allow this?

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 60 Old 12-28-2012, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
As Turbe has already wrote you need Basic, Control or Enthusiast to print reports.
praz is offline  
post #33 of 60 Old 12-28-2012, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
caeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yeah..I saw that. Wasnt clear but thanks for clarifying.

Samsung PN60F8500, Panasonic TH-42PD25U/P, Pioneer VSX-1018TXH-K, Oppo BDP-93, Aperion Audio 5T&5C, HSU STF-2, PS3, Wii, HTPC, SD Homerun Prime, Ceton Echo
caeguy is offline  
post #34 of 60 Old 12-28-2012, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentprice View Post

Just got this meter how do I use it with HCHR?

The SpectraCal C3 only works with CalMAN 5. The C3 inlcudes a license for CalMAN 5 Tutorial which has full gamma/grayscale/cms so I'm not sure why you would need any other software.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #35 of 60 Old 12-28-2012, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by caeguy View Post

Just want to print standard reports. Can the Turorial license allow this?

No reports in CalMAN 5 Tutorial. You would need Basic, Control or Enthusiast license for that. But as pointed out you can always use print screen.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #36 of 60 Old 12-28-2012, 04:55 PM
Member
 
vincentprice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I having trouble with the cms part of the software HRFR seems a bit some simplistic. I'm having no success with it until I research the matter more.

ÂI felt that here at last was a chance to expose the U.S. public to fine art at reasonable pricesÂ
vincentprice is offline  
post #37 of 60 Old 12-31-2012, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
dvzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Illinois
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is a drift on the i1 Display Pro? I understand that in about a year i1 Display 2 was in need of recalibration. Seems like a steep price to pay for something that I will need to pay for again to get it re-calibrated in 12 month. Please correct me. I am new to calibration but drift bothers me since I do plan on keeping this colormeter for longer than a year or two.
dvzzz is offline  
post #38 of 60 Old 01-02-2013, 11:21 AM
Member
 
vincentprice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm planning on storing mine in a cooler with silica desiccant to avoid drift. Any advise? Seems like a good way to keep it from outside air and moisture? I'm still having trouble understanding cms calibration. Since all I can see in this version of the software are graphs with no variables. I also uncertain of what patterns I should be using 75% color or 75% saturation patterns. Greyscale is simple enough but I have just playing with settings and watching the DeltaE as the only sign of which way to go. I can lower it down to 2 for all colors except red and cyan. I only have one master luminance control on my tv sets. Adjusting it seems to have no effect.

ÂI felt that here at last was a chance to expose the U.S. public to fine art at reasonable pricesÂ
vincentprice is offline  
post #39 of 60 Old 01-02-2013, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentprice View Post

I'm planning on storing mine in a cooler with silica desiccant to avoid drift. Any advise? Seems like a good way to keep it from outside air and moisture? I'm still having trouble understanding cms calibration. Since all I can see in this version of the software are graphs with no variables. I also uncertain of what patterns I should be using 75% color or 75% saturation patterns. Greyscale is simple enough but I have just playing with settings and watching the DeltaE as the only sign of which way to go. I can lower it down to 2 for all colors except red and cyan. I only have one master luminance control on my tv sets. Adjusting it seems to have no effect.

If you only have color and tint controls there isn't too much you can do for CMS.

This recent thread might help:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1448983/which-would-you-go-with-re-color-tint

The patterns to use are the 100% saturation, 75% stimulus patterns.

Basically, look only at luminance for red and adjust the color control.

Then look at hue for one of the secondaries (I like yellow myself, in the interest of optimizing for flesh tones) and adjust the tint control.


You can look at all the data for CMS and try and make a compromise if optimizing for red luminance and yellow hue causes large errors for other colors.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #40 of 60 Old 01-02-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
vincentprice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No I have full cms. Tint and color saturation and master luminance which is default of 130 on LG sets. Newer sets have a luminance setting for each color.

ÂI felt that here at last was a chance to expose the U.S. public to fine art at reasonable pricesÂ
vincentprice is offline  
post #41 of 60 Old 01-02-2013, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentprice View Post

No I have full cms. Tint and color saturation and master luminance which is default of 130 on LG sets. Newer sets have a luminance setting for each color.

Perhaps you could post a screen shot of your results, and we could see what might be causing the issue (alt-prtscn, then paste to an image editor)?

If you only have the one Color control for color luminance, you'll just have to make a compromise with it.

Saturation and hue can effect luminance, so try to get saturation and hue close first, then adjust the luminance.

It will likely take a few passes if you are trying to get everything completely dialed in.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #42 of 60 Old 01-11-2013, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Appears to be the same hardware as the x-rite ColorMunki Smile:
http://xritephoto.com/ph_product_overview.aspx?id=1970
jdbimmer is offline  
post #43 of 60 Old 01-11-2013, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
djams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post

Appears to be the same hardware as the x-rite ColorMunki Smile:
http://xritephoto.com/ph_product_overview.aspx?id=1970

But it isn't - as noted in the quote below smile.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

It is a SpectraCal C3 built for us by X-Rite. Yes it does look like a D2 but it is basically the guts of a Chroma 5 with updated filters. The C3 is designed for flat panels in contact mode. So basically you are getting a meter that has improved accuracy for a fraction of the price. It is targeted as a affordable entry level meter.
djams is offline  
post #44 of 60 Old 01-11-2013, 10:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jdbimmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I guess he didn't say "exclusively built for us."rolleyes.gif
jdbimmer is offline  
post #45 of 60 Old 01-12-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 187
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdbimmer View Post

I guess he didn't say "exclusively built for us."rolleyes.gif

what's your point?
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #46 of 60 Old 03-20-2013, 08:45 AM
Newbie
 
Anthony Collazo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI , yes I've heard of this new SpectraCal C3 and wondering if any one else has and if they found a price that is better than retail of $149.00 . I want to help my son out but thats a bit much for saome thing you only use once unless you move and need to re do the adjustments. If any one has any good info please contact me. anthonycollazo@snet.net, thank you guys very much, its a very nice sight, keep up the good work.
Anthony Collazo is offline  
post #47 of 60 Old 03-20-2013, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 1,991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Collazo View Post

HI , yes I've heard of this new SpectraCal C3 and wondering if any one else has and if they found a price that is better than retail of $149.00 . I want to help my son out but thats a bit much for saome thing you only use once unless you move and need to re do the adjustments. If any one has any good info please contact me. anthonycollazo@snet.net, thank you guys very much, its a very nice sight, keep up the good work.

The meter is from a single relatively low-volume source (SpectraCAL) with just a few sales outlets, so I don't believe you'll be able to find much price variation on it. Anyway, $149 is a bargain for the capability it offers. The first meter/software package expressly for display calibration that I ever bought was CRT-only (no LCD or Plasma), and cost about $1700...

Anyway, I seriously doubt it'll end up being only a one-time thing. Most of us that have been here on this part of AVS a while are using our meters and software quite often, seeking just that little bit of improvement. Sometimes it isn't just a little bit, either.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is offline  
post #48 of 60 Old 03-20-2013, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
willieconway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Collazo View Post

HI , yes I've heard of this new SpectraCal C3 and wondering if any one else has and if they found a price that is better than retail of $149.00 . I want to help my son out but thats a bit much for saome thing you only use once unless you move and need to re do the adjustments. If any one has any good info please contact me. anthonycollazo@snet.net, thank you guys very much, its a very nice sight, keep up the good work.

I have the C3/Tutorial package. If you're interested in this kind of thing, then $149 is not 'a bit much'. I'm genuinely curious as to what you would consider a reasonable price for a piece of hardware like this with software included?

Adjusting settings according to personal preference is not calibration.
willieconway is offline  
post #49 of 60 Old 03-20-2013, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Collazo View Post

HI , yes I've heard of this new SpectraCal C3 and wondering if any one else has and if they found a price that is better than retail of $149.00 . I want to help my son out but thats a bit much for saome thing you only use once unless you move and need to re do the adjustments. If any one has any good info please contact me. anthonycollazo@snet.net, thank you guys very much, its a very nice sight, keep up the good work.

If this is a one time thing do the $129.00 rental with a better meter.

http://store.spectracal.com/c6-calibration-rental-kit.html
-Axle- likes this.
praz is offline  
post #50 of 60 Old 04-17-2013, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by guida74 View Post

Derek,

Can the C3 meter be used to calibrate rear projection mounted on a tripod?

+1

We know the C3 is for flat panels and *NOT* for front projectors. We never got a definitive yes or no on rear projectors. I have two Mitsubishi RP DLP's that I'd love to calibrate using the C3 if possible.
allargon is offline  
post #51 of 60 Old 04-18-2013, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by allargon View Post

+1

We know the C3 is for flat panels and *NOT* for front projectors. We never got a definitive yes or no on rear projectors. I have two Mitsubishi RP DLP's that I'd love to calibrate using the C3 if possible.

While the meter would have no problem physically reading a rear projector (where it isn't designed physically for non-contact use), I don't believe it has a UHP table for the lamp on those sets, but I'll double check.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #52 of 60 Old 04-18-2013, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

While the meter would have no problem physically reading a rear projector (where it isn't designed physically for non-contact use), I don't believe it has a UHP table for the lamp on those sets, but I'll double check.

Correct just LED, LCD and Plasma

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #53 of 60 Old 04-18-2013, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
allargon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

Correct just LED, LCD and Plasma

Thanks, Derek and Joel. I really appreciate it.
allargon is offline  
post #54 of 60 Old 04-18-2013, 03:09 PM
Member
 
sillycargt4cs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Derek is there a uk supplier/agent I'm interested in this package
sillycargt4cs is offline  
post #55 of 60 Old 04-24-2013, 05:22 AM
Member
 
Watcher12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Can the C3 be used to calibrate 3D on a plasma set? If not, is the C6 the way to go, or something else?
Watcher12 is offline  
post #56 of 60 Old 04-24-2013, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher12 View Post

Can the C3 be used to calibrate 3D on a plasma set? If not, is the C6 the way to go, or something else?

the Display PRO is another option wink.gif
realzven is offline  
post #57 of 60 Old 04-24-2013, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher12 View Post

Can the C3 be used to calibrate 3D on a plasma set? If not, is the C6 the way to go, or something else?

You need something that can read through the glasses, which means a non-contact meter. So the i1 Display Pro would be your starting point there, with the C6 being the next step up.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #58 of 60 Old 04-24-2013, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Watcher12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks for the suggestions, guys. Will look into it. smile.gif
Watcher12 is offline  
post #59 of 60 Old 04-25-2013, 01:38 AM
Newbie
 
2stroker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillycargt4cs View Post

Derek is there a uk supplier/agent I'm interested in this package

I asked this question when they first came out, and no, one has to import from the US. I haven't got a problem with that, it's just that my laptop only has 500mb ram, so I'd need to upgade that as well.
2stroker is offline  
post #60 of 60 Old 07-27-2013, 11:42 AM
Member
 
defjamz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bothell, WA
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Just bought the C3 & Tutorial package. I was hoping to use it last night, but you have to call to download the software (have to wait till Monday).
I'm excited about learning how to calibrate flat panels myself, and this entry level combo seems like the perfect way to start out. Can't wait to test on my 3 plasmas!

Room1:Panasonic 65VT60/Yamaha A1010/Denon DBT1713/Definitive BP8, CLR2300, SM350/Martin Logan Dynamo1000
Room2:Samsung 64D8000/Yamaha A730/Definitive BP8040, BP6, Mythos 3/PS3, Xbox 360
Bedroom:Samsung 58B860
Office:Audioengine N22/Fiio D3 DAC/Athena P5/Polk PSW10
Car:Acura ELS DVD-audio/Focal
defjamz is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off