Edge blending two projectors... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 11-19-2012, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avsforumun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So there were a couple threads on this from several years ago...

http://www.avsforum.com/t/335192/blending-2-projectors-using-a-pc-it-works/60

But I have not been able to find any info on the current state of edge blending (with a PC). I have two LG PA70G's, and I'm pretty sure they have no built in support for edge blending, so it will need to be done in software. I plan on using a Windows 7 computer, with a Radeon HD 6900 to do dual monitor output. The question is, what are my options as far as edge blending? Don't all modern video cards support that 'eyefinity' thing? So they must have some blending software for people who use multiple projectors instead of multiple lcd monitors? Since I was thinking about running both in 4:3 mode (for a 8x3 desktop, close enough to 16:9 for me), It seems like all I will need to do is line them up perfectly, and just overlap a SINGLE column of pixels, then tell the driver to render that single column at 50% brightness, right?

Anyone have any info on this?
avsforumun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 11-19-2012, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Video card drivers have no build in capability to do edge blending.

You'd need something extremely custom, most people end up going with stand alone hardware to do blending.

The other option is to go stacked, then you just need to take care of physical convergence.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-19-2012, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avsforumun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And is there any particular reason why there is no driver support for this? Seems like a pretty simple thing to do in software...

I cant be the first person who wanted to do dual projector output, without having to spend tens of thousands of dollars on extra hardware..
avsforumun is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-19-2012, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsforumun View Post

And is there any particular reason why there is no driver support for this?.

No demand.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-21-2012, 03:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Amber Ale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
A quick google search for "edge blending software" led me to some graphic cards and pc software options. Try asking Snipe3000, in one of his videos it says he was using Warpalizer software. I think this is the website.

You could ask him what he's using in here, look at his post #9

Read the comments in this video
Amber Ale is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-22-2012, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
avsforumun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As far as I can tell http://www.gamewarping.com/sider/start.asp?NodeID=920 is the only real option out there. And its 450 bucks..

Anyone aware of a cheaper solution?
avsforumun is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-20-2013, 03:08 PM
Member
 
pk442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'd prefer a hardware based edge blending setup. Arey there any out there that are HDCP compliant, ie. you could do
bluray, HDTV, etc. ?
pk442 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-20-2013, 05:04 PM
Member
 
Beta-Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Projectors from Panasonic(for example) have Edge Blending natively,requiring no additional hardware or software(other than a DA).

"You down with CRT?....Yeah, you know me!"
Beta-Boy is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-13-2013, 09:05 PM
Newbie
 
vinchoi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Matrox m-series video card has edge blending capability. However, the product description says it works with Panasonic & Mitsubishi edge blending product. From what I understand, the feathering of the edge is handled by the card, not the project. There should be no need to "edge blending projector"

http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/graphics_cards/m_series/
vinchoi is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-14-2013, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nashou66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: West Seneca, NY
Posts: 4,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Unless you have full CMS for both display's along with Gamma control there will always be a visible blend zone at some % whites.

I use the TV-One C2-2250's and two lumagen processors for a CRT Projector blend and you still can see the Blend zone at certain IRE's.

it takes lots of work and determination.


Athanasios
nashou66 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off