Spears & Munsil HD Benchmark Blu-Ray 2nd Edition - Page 31 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 68Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 910 Old 07-25-2016, 07:18 PM
Senior Member
 
kram1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunrise Florida
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rimo View Post
I would set the brightness (black level) first. Also, what is your source blu-ray player?
Thanks for the reply

Yeah its a LG Blu-Ray Player
I have no problems setting the black levels but no matter what setting i can't get the contrast black bars to show up even after the black levels are set there still not showing up

Any suggestions ?

Last edited by kram1; 07-25-2016 at 08:41 PM.
kram1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 910 Old Yesterday, 12:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,717
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 1108
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram1 View Post
I could use some help here just got a new set the 2016 Sony XBR43X800D and grabbed a copy of above Spears & Munsil 2 to try and calibrate and right away I'm having some difficulty trying to set up the contrast first setting on the video
I've trying every possible setting and adjustment on the set and BR player and the inside bars are not really visible as you can see in the below picture
Maybe not compatible with the newer sets ?
Hi, what's your source player output settings?

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #903 of 910 Old Yesterday, 01:38 AM
Senior Member
 
kram1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunrise Florida
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, what's your source player output settings?
Tried both these below settings coming off the LG BR player they don't make a different
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160726_043026.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	129.3 KB
ID:	1565441   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20160726_043246.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	127.5 KB
ID:	1565457  
kram1 is online now  
post #904 of 910 Old Yesterday, 02:16 AM
Member
 
FreMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Corsica - FRANCE
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, what's your source player output settings?
But shouldn't contrast and luminosity set from the display instead of from the source player?
FreMo is online now  
post #905 of 910 Old Yesterday, 02:20 AM
Senior Member
 
kram1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunrise Florida
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreMo View Post
But shouldn't contrast and luminosity set from the display instead of from the source player?

Yeah all setting are adjusted from with in the display he just asked what my source player output settings were is all
kram1 is online now  
post #906 of 910 Old Yesterday, 04:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 3,717
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 675 Post(s)
Liked: 1108
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreMo View Post
But shouldn't contrast and luminosity set from the display instead of from the source player?
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram1 View Post
Yeah all setting are adjusted from with in the display he just asked what my source player output settings were is all
Yes, adjustments from the display only, from player disable any enhancement mode. Check and disable the enhancements from the display also. What do you see having the your display contrast slider at default position?

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #907 of 910 Old Yesterday, 10:16 AM
Senior Member
 
kram1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunrise Florida
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Yes, adjustments from the display only, from player disable any enhancement mode. Check and disable the enhancements from the display also. What do you see having the your display contrast slider at default position?

All my display and player enhancements are turned off but on or off or in default after a reset which I've done many many times the contrast bars will not show up at all
In the picture i posted thats after I've made the best possible adjustment u can almost see just a small hint of 231 -233
kram1 is online now  
post #908 of 910 Old Yesterday, 05:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram1 View Post
All my display and player enhancements are turned off but on or off or in default after a reset which I've done many many times the contrast bars will not show up at all
In the picture i posted thats after I've made the best possible adjustment u can almost see just a small hint of 231 -233
The correct setting for your Blu-ray player will be YCbCr. This sends the signal in video level. You may want to check your display settings for 'limited' or 'video' mode and make sure you do not have it connected to any PC specific input.

Your display may also accept RGB, but you would need to put it into a 'wide' mode or something similar. To start, just make sure you are in video or limited mode.

YCbCr should be able to display 16-235 while the RGB can display 0-255. If you are sending RGB to a 'limited' display, you will have issues with the black level.

Also, some displays will clip whites above 235. This can be disabled with a 'super white' or similar display mode. I have never owned a sony display so I am not sure if it is available to you.

In any case, set to limited, set black level so that 17 and above are flashing, and then work on contrast. Make sure your gamma is not set too low, choose a mode like 'cinema' or movie if available.

Let me know if this helps, or maybe send some screenshots of the display image settings.

Good Luck!
Rimo is offline  
post #909 of 910 Old Yesterday, 06:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 13,044
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5045 Post(s)
Liked: 2847
Quote:
Originally Posted by kram1 View Post
I could use some help here just got a new set the 2016 Sony XBR43X800D and grabbed a copy of above Spears & Munsil 2 to try and calibrate and right away I'm having some difficulty trying to set up the contrast first setting on the video
I've trying every possible setting and adjustment on the set and BR player and the inside bars are not really visible as you can see in the below picture
Maybe not compatible with the newer sets ?
FWIW, I have the Sony XBR75X940D, and when I bring up the Contrast test screen, I can see the all the numbered white bars up to 252, and I see the dots in the center of the color squares at the bottom of the test screen. As a reference point, I have Brightness set to 35, Contrast to 88, and Black Level at 50.

I am using an Oppo BDP 103 with HDMI output set to Auto.

I don't understand why you are having trouble with the Contrast test screen on SM2.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #910 of 910 Old Yesterday, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
kram1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sunrise Florida
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
FWIW, I have the Sony XBR75X940D, and when I bring up the Contrast test screen, I can see the all the numbered white bars up to 252, and I see the dots in the center of the color squares at the bottom of the test screen. As a reference point, I have Brightness set to 35, Contrast to 88, and Black Level at 50.

I am using an Oppo BDP 103 with HDMI output set to Auto.

I don't understand why you are having trouble with the Contrast test screen on SM2.
I think the XBR-43X800D is a completely different animal then X940D. The X8000D using some cheap IPS panel I can't see any of the black bars with your settings also
kram1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Tags
Spears Munsil , Spears Munsil High Definition Benchmark Blu Ray Disc Edition Blu Ray , Spears Munsil Hd Benchmark And Calibration Disc 2nd Edition
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off