What Calman bundle to buy? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-25-2013, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keeefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear Friends,

I am about to update my calibration equipment. As I today run Calman 4 with the X2 meter (basically an eye one display 2 with tables for newer backlight standards) and feel comfortable with this system would like to remain as a Calman user.
My budget is limited, perhaps I can spend some $1000-1400 ex freight. The question is what I should go for… The tools will not be used very often, perhaps once a month but when used it needs it to be pretty reliable. The products I work with are all LCD/LED and currently does not have any auto calibration interface. The pattern source I use today is a WD TV Live media player with AVS HD patterns. (I also have a PS3 available).
The options I consider are listed below. Of course I do not want to spend more money than necessary, but as they have different functions/options I need your help to give me a push to the best choice for my needs. Please also comment if you have any other suggestion or any more information needed.

CalMAN 5 Control with i1 Pro 2 995:-
X-Rite i1Pro 2 Enhanced + CalMAN 5 Control 1290:-
X-Rite i1Pro 2 Enhanced + CalMAN 5 Enthusiast 1390:-
CalMAN 5 Enthusiast with SpectraCal C6 and DPG-2000 Bundle 1399:-
keeefan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-25-2013, 03:39 AM
Senior Member
 
visca blaugrana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I would go with the enthusiast and the i1 pro option that is a really good combo, on top of that you could in the future if you want add a i1 pro display. But as a bundle that is a killer package.
visca blaugrana is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-27-2013, 07:24 AM
Member
 
knmlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Glen Haven, Colorado
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm also interested in a Calman bundle and would appreciate your suggestions. I'm new to this, having only done manual adjustments with DVE in the past. I will be calibrating a Panasonic VT50 and a JVC X3 projector. I tend to upgrade one of these every year. My VT50 is connected to my network, so I'd like to be able to create the ISF day and night configurations. Which bundle would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

Mark

Mark

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
knmlee is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-27-2013, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by knmlee View Post

I'm also interested in a Calman bundle and would appreciate your suggestions. I'm new to this, having only done manual adjustments with DVE in the past. I will be calibrating a Panasonic VT50 and a JVC X3 projector. I tend to upgrade one of these every year. My VT50 is connected to my network, so I'd like to be able to create the ISF day and night configurations. Which bundle would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

Mark

To use our AutoCal Features you'll need CalMAN Control or CalMAN Enthusiast. CalMAN enthusiast adds design mode which lets you customize the workflows and also the ability to calibrate a 3D LUT in the radiance or colorbox.

As for the meter you'd want, the OEM i1 Display Pro is a great value

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-27-2013, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thunderduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Virginia
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post

As for the meter you'd want, the OEM i1 Display Pro is a great value

Does this meter require yearly calibration?

Tks,

Steve
Thunderduck is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-27-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
derekjsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,890
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderduck View Post

Does this meter require yearly calibration?

Tks,

Steve

No the D3/C6 are very stable. You would only need to send one of them back in for NIST re-cert if you needed a current NIST cert.

Derek

CTO / Founder - SpectraCal Inc.
derekjsmith is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-27-2013, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post

No the D3/C6 are very stable. You would only need to send one of them back in for NIST re-cert if you needed a current NIST cert.

Just to be clear, the only recert service available on the SpectraCal site is for the C6, there is no recert option for the OEM or Retail i1D3..

Quote:
Originally Posted by visca blaugrana View Post

I would go with the enthusiast and the i1 pro option that is a really good combo, on top of that you could in the future if you want add a i1 pro display. But as a bundle that is a killer package.

+1

As far as meters, I always recommend a i1Pro 1/2 Spectrometer..

Why a Spectro? See why here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1373556/i1-pro-or-d3-if-you-could-only-have-one-meter

http://www.tlvexp.ca/2012/04/do-calibration-tables-really-work-for-tri-stim-devices/

And Read this Thread:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1449310/eye-one-pro-or-display-3-pro

Need to find a Professional Calibrator?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
me with your Display & City


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-27-2013, 03:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Thunderduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Woodbridge, Virginia
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thank you Derek and Turbe.

Steve
Thunderduck is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-28-2013, 11:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
keeefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear All,

Tks for your advices.


/ Keeef
keeefan is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off