crt calibration - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 02-09-2013, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Hi,

I have a number of color grading broadcast monitors. I'm having a nightmare calibrating. As you may be aware, in the broadcast industry it is normal to use blue only mode. However, when I adjust using blue only mode, I get a red which measures 37% of white. I have used smpte test patterns and confirmed results on a spectrometer.

What is going wrong? The image clearly looks too red in comparison to a domestic plasma whose red is set to 21% of white.

Any advice will be welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 02-09-2013, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I'm not a pro, but it sounds like you will probably have to adjust the gains and cuts of red. If you can't do it via the user menu, you will have to do it via the service menu.

I can imagine the service menu of a CRT being very dangerous if you don't know how to navigate, though.

You could also just adjust the color control until red measures correctly. I would rather have red fixed and a deficiency of blue than to have overpowering reds..

Current HT setup:

Samsung UN65F6300 65" LCD HDTV, Polk CS20 Center, 2x Polk Monitor 75T Fronts, 2x Polk TSI300 Backs, Polk PSW110 Subwoofer.

post #3 of 15 Old 02-09-2013, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 112
What make/model display do you have? What controls do you have?
If you only have the global Color/tint then use your meter and adjust your color control to reduce the average luminance error until you have the least difference between all 3 colors. Use the tint to reduce the Delta H errors to the lowest value across all secondary colors.
Then view content and make the final teaks. If you have Calman or Chromapure do a saturation sweep to see how the set tracks.

Doug