LG LW5600 Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 03-01-2013, 06:05 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry for another one of these threads, but I am new to this stuff. I have read a ton and know what I should be seeing. I have a calibrated TV in the house now, so it isn't that I am not used to a calibrated set.

I have the LG LW5600. The color temp is coming up as 8900-9000. I have set the TV at 89 Contrast, 51 Brightness. The backlight at 55 gives me 56Ftl for Daylight. Gamma is set at 2.2 on TV.

The color temp is the problem. I have done 30-80-100% patterns and there is just no red to be found. I think I can fix the problem with the service menu WB. I just don't know which way is correct. I have already tried lowering a lot of blue and green Contrast in the service menu and measured the screen to get red back, but is this correct to do this. I don't know how far you can subtract or add in there without detrimental affects.

When I did this earlier, I got a straight line gamma of 2.22 on a 10 point and all colors were under 2 on the delta without any CMS adjustments, but when I watched the TV after, the colors seemed really really deep and wasn't enjoyable. They were almost fake like someone colored them in really hard with crayons.

So after a long post here, the second time I have mentioned it- again sorry, I ask for help. I know where to go and make the adjustments in the service menu with the meter, just not sure which direction to take the blue out. The blue is consistently excessive in all of the 30-100 patterns. Do I add green and red in SM or just pull blue and watch meter for changes? Do I only work out of Contrast in the SM or Brightness only, or both?

My default SM numbers if it would help anyone willing to help me learn

RED C -192
Green C -192
Blue C - 172
All 3 Brightness - 64

Thanks for any help anyone can give me here or on a PM if you would like.

Ed

Ed