eeColor Processor - CalMAN - 3D LUTs - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 562 Old 07-11-2014, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
And if you need to generate a new cLUT using another gamma formula you need to take again a new 3x patch reads run.
Add 2x in your total time if CalMAN crushes during the AutoCAL also, something that is happening a lot lately for large cubes, as users reported.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 562 Old 07-11-2014, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Add 2x in your total time if CalMAN crushes during the AutoCAL also, something that is happening a lot lately for large cubes, as users reported.
...and add 2x your time with the other software to start Calman to profile your meters again and do some verification that the other software cannot do, leading to different profiles being used for calibration and verification, which is far from ideal.

I really don't believe it's fair to either software to mention only one side of the story.

As you know, I have spent the last ten days running large LUTs with calman, it didn't crash once. Are these crashes reported with beta/RC versions or the latest release version (build 1598)?
Manni01 is offline  
post #543 of 562 Old 07-11-2014, 01:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
-Hitman-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
...and add 2x your time with the other software to start Calman to profile your meters again and do some verification that the other software cannot do, leading to different profiles being used for calibration and verification, which is far from ideal.

You can profile with dispcal and has full auto verify function exported to a smart html spreadsheet.
-Hitman- is offline  
post #544 of 562 Old 07-11-2014, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
You can profile with dispcal and has full auto verify function exported to a smart html spreadsheet.

I wasn't talking about dispcal as argyllCMS doesn't support my meter so I'm unable to test it. I was talking about another software using a similar methodology, which I was able to test because it supports my meter.


Anyway, I was dragged into this reluctantly, as I said earlier, I don't have an eecolor so I'm out.


Thanks for your information .
Manni01 is offline  
post #545 of 562 Old 07-11-2014, 02:18 PM
Member
 
1forsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Add 2x in your total time if CalMAN crushes during the AutoCAL also, something that is happening a lot lately for large cubes, as users reported.
No crashes on my end...
1forsnow is offline  
post #546 of 562 Old 07-11-2014, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni01 View Post
I wasn't talking about dispcal as argyllCMS doesn't support my meter so I'm unable to test it.
What meter is that ?
gwgill is offline  
post #547 of 562 Old 07-11-2014, 11:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwgill View Post
What meter is that ?
It's the basICColor DISCUS.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #548 of 562 Old 07-12-2014, 12:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwgill View Post
What meter is that ?
Hello Graham,

It's the BasiCColor Discus which I use trained to the i1pro2. We have discussed it recently in the MadVR/ArgyllCMS thread when I wanted to give it a try (at the time Calman was not supporting MadVR and I wanted to assess that) and you told me you had no plan to support it as you have no acces to one, which I totally understand.

I'm sorry that my naive question to Hitman started one of these discussions I hate reading on AVS and which I usually never participate to. These discussions are silly. I really don't understand why some users feel that the software that fits their need best is necessarily "better". It reminds me of Mac/PC discussions or here the JVC/Sony ones .

I happen to have both a Mac and many PCs and I use both for different things they are better suited to. Plus there is the matter of price, and in that area I don't think anything can beat ArgyllCMS/dispcalGUI or HCFR

I started with HCFR (before the fork) and stopped using it when it stopped evolving at that time, and then I purchased and used over the years Chromapure and Calman. I have evaluated LS (twice) once it added Discus and radiance mini support and would have looked at ArgyllCMS/dispcalGUI if it had supported the Discus because I'm interested in its LUT generation feature and the fact that it supports MadTPG, unlike any of the paid-for software at this stage. Today I only use Calman because it fits my present needs best, supports my hardware perfectly (meter, VP and display) and gives me great results.

I'm not saying that one approach is better than the other (and I'm frequently recommending another approach to friends, especially when it does something that the others don't or don't do as well or when a free solution suits them better) but in order to do a proper, objective comparative one has to leave the "cult member" approach, become as proficient with all products, properly understand the pros and cons of each methodology used and look at them not from their own perspective but from each type of user perspective. I haven't had the time to do so hence I've never started a comparative thread, even if I have looked around and made my own opinion for my own needs. That opinion is not set forever, and I'm not tied to any solution. If the product I used falls behind, I look elsewhere.

That being said, when I see something unfair posted about Calman in a Calman thread, I do react because I don't like bias. I would do exactly the same (and have already done so when I felt I had to) for Chromapure, Lightspace, HCFR or ArgyllCMS/dispcalGUI. This is AVS science and an incorrect fact should be corrected when spotted, irrespective of personal preferences or even friendship.

None of this is directed to you (or anyone else) specifically but your quote dragged me back in a thread I had left so I prefer to clarify my point of view .

By the way, one last thing, I'd like to also take this opportunity to thank you for the work you and others are doing for this community. I admire the amount of work put into these non-commercial projects out of sheer passion and the incredible level of performance they reach. Because you are looking at it from an enthusiast perspective, you are forcing others to implement features they would probably never implement otherwise because it doesn't always make economical sense for a wider audience, but are forced to because of you. For this, and for many other reasons, everyone owes you guys .

Now as this is an eecolor calman thread I would really appreciate if it could go back to its topic, as I would honestly like to be able to leave it for good, having no eecolor myself and having subscribed to it when I was trying to resolve the Calman MadVR support issue, which is now solved...
Manni01 is offline  
post #549 of 562 Old 07-12-2014, 12:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
-Hitman-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Come on Manni lets be truthful, I didn't say anything about one is better than the other in the context your using, I merely "recommended" DCal for 3Dlut creation, as bigger lut creations can be possible as it's faster, end of.


Even though I use DCal for most of the calibration process, it still doesn't make my copy of Calman defunct, it's still in use for other things


You did create "the bigger" conversation yourself, no one forced you into it and it's not silly in anyway as now you know something else is available to help you and that's the context of my original post, to help!


Maybe you should be careful what you ask if you don't like discussing things further but you may miss out especially if the intention from the other poster is to help you

Last edited by -Hitman-; 07-12-2014 at 12:56 AM.
-Hitman- is offline  
post #550 of 562 Old 07-12-2014, 01:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Manni01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,371
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
Come on Manni lets be truthful, I didn't say anything about one is better than the other in the context your using, I merely "recommended" DCal for 3Dlut creation, so bigger lut creations can be possible as it's faster, end of.

You stated that DispcalGUI's method was faster because it read patches 1x vs Calman reading them 3x. This is an incorrect statement because the methodology used is different and each method has drawbacks and advantages, but it would take even longer to explain them in detail.


Again I can't comment on DispcalGUI but in my setup, testing another software which uses a similar method (From what I understand in your statement), I got similar results with Calman from a color accuracy point of view (all dE in Colorchecker SG under 3 and average below 1) in LESS time (around 2 hours vs around 2 hours and 40mn with the software that measures all the points one time). All the charts were disabled in Calman during the cube generation to speed it up, otherwise the time would be roughly the same. I only kept the text data. I don't know if such speed optimisation is possible in the other software at the expense of visual feedback. Visually the results were identical (and both were EXCELLENT).


The reason why I don't want to discuss this further is because it's OFF TOPIC IN THIS THREAD and I can't test DispGUI myself


Now as you can use both software, please start a fair comparison thread, where you provide times and measurements for both software and where we can discuss this at will or let's drop it .


Simply dropping a statement like you did is biased and unfair unless backed up with facts and measurements.

Last edited by Manni01; 07-12-2014 at 01:44 AM.
Manni01 is offline  
post #551 of 562 Old 08-03-2014, 08:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,359
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Hey Spectracal guys,

I'm migrating my calibration software to another computer and am having problems getting the eecolor processor to be detected. I keep getting an error 12. Double checked with older laptop and it connects to the eecolor just fine. So its not the cable.

New computer is Windows 7 with 64 bit architecture.

I suspect that Error 12 means that it can't find the eecolor but wanted to confirm this with you and to ask if you have any suggestions.

I have already downloaded the drivers and reinstalled them a few times and still nothing.

Thanks in Advance.

EDIT::::::::::::::::::: As a last resort, I reloaded windows 7, the drivers for the eecolor and Calman. For whatever reason, it now works.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.

Last edited by JimP; 08-15-2014 at 05:41 PM.
JimP is offline  
post #552 of 562 Old 08-03-2014, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
The EEColor is a USB to serial device. The box uses an FTDI chipset.

Error 12 is a generic can't find device error message.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #553 of 562 Old 08-15-2014, 12:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
CalMAN 5.3.6 Build: 1606 Released @ 15 August 2014

New Features

Added support for the AJA LUT Box.

Added support for the Panasonic BT4 series displays.

Resolved Issues

Resolved issue with pattern delays and Client 3.

Resolved issue where the Brightness DDC control wasn't displaying for the HP DreamColor on the Monitor-Direct workflow.

Download Links:

Download CalMAN 5 for Business / ColorChecker 5.3.6 (Build 1606)

Download CalMAN 5 for Home Video Calibration 5.3.6 (Build 1606)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #554 of 562 Old 08-20-2014, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
CalMAN 5.3.6a Build: 1611 Released @ 21 August 2014

Resolved Issues

Resolved issue where data from previously saved data files was not restoring properly for a Color Checker run.

Resolved issue where after changing a LUT selection, CalMAN would fail read a 3D LUT from a device.

Resolved issue which would cause crashes in AutoCal and DDC grayscale controls.

Download Links:

Download CalMAN 5 for Business / ColorChecker 5.3.6a (Build 1611)

Download CalMAN 5 for Home Video Calibration 5.3.6a (Build 1611)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #555 of 562 Old 08-21-2014, 03:03 AM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 42
anyone had any experience using the later versions of calman and the eecolor? I was hoping to find soome time today/this weekend to test.
ACappo is offline  
post #556 of 562 Old 08-21-2014, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,621
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post
anyone had any experience using the later versions of calman and the eecolor? I was hoping to find soome time today/this weekend to test.
We haven't made any changes that would effect the calibration in 5.3.6 over what was in 5.3.5. If you do upgrade to 5.3.6, make sure to grab the 5.3.6a version.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #557 of 562 Old 08-21-2014, 09:40 AM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 42
hi sotti,

i have updated to latest version, and after ~6 hours calman crashed, is there any logfiles that could help?

to clarify abit I used calmans internal patterns and used the best possible option when i started the autocal
ACappo is offline  
post #558 of 562 Old 08-26-2014, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
CalMAN 5.3.6b Build: 1622 Released @ 26 August 2014

Release Notes

Performance updates to the UI.

Added feature that allows users to view information on their meter's NIST certificate from within CalMAN. NIST certificates are only available on meters that have been enhanced or certified by SpectraCal. The back end for this feature is not yet in place, but this version of CalMAN will work with the feature once it is.

Added new dE2000/JNDab formula that emphasizes luminance error, particularly at the low end.

Download Links:

Download CalMAN 5 for Business / ColorChecker 5.3.6b (Build 1622)

Download CalMAN 5 for Home Video Calibration 5.3.6b (Build 1622)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5

Last edited by ConnecTEDDD; 08-27-2014 at 06:21 AM.
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #559 of 562 Old 08-29-2014, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote: Originally Posted by ACappo

Anyone know how to change the text in the osd? In all my LUT's it says unity where I would like to put in a better description for the lut

Quote:
Originally Posted by derekjsmith View Post
I will get our eeColor/ColorBox tool uploaded this week. It has support for updating the OSD images from BMP files.
Hi Derek, can you please upload that interesting tool for all eeColor users?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5

Last edited by ConnecTEDDD; 09-08-2014 at 12:51 PM.
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #560 of 562 Old 09-09-2014, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
CalMAN 5.4.0 build 1632 Open Beta Released @ 09 September 2014

Release Notes

This is an early open beta of CalMAN 5.4.0 which contains support for the new Lumagen 21xx series and the 17x cube sizes.

In adding this support, we needed to make some changes which could potential affect the older Radiance models. We have not seen evidence of that in our internal testing, but please let us know if anything pops up.

Download Link


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #561 of 562 Old 09-12-2014, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 471
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACappo View Post
hi sotti,

i have updated to latest version, and after ~6 hours calman crashed, is there any logfiles that could help?

to clarify abit I used calmans internal patterns and used the best possible option when i started the autocal
Hi, have you tryed the CalMAN Open Beta for AutoCAL?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #562 of 562 Old 09-13-2014, 07:20 AM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 42
my plan was tonight to use the latest official release with a very much reduced workflow, since calman crashes on lack of memory, which is unfortunate on a PC with 16gb Ram
however since Calman is a 32bit application it can only access 2 gb. (I will try to make this 4 by modifying boot.ini.but not sure it will work.

I was not planing on using the lates beta since its only updated for the Lumagen, however if people would prefer i use the beta i will give it a go
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
ACappo is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off