eeColor Processor - CalMAN - 3D LUTs - Page 21 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 20Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #601 of 620 Old 05-29-2015, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally
The APL settings in Calman don't work for madTPG. Only window size.

Can you tell me in what way it is not working for you? We are not aware of any issues with the APL patterns in madTPG. If it is not working, it would be a bug.
sspears is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 620 Old 05-29-2015, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,091
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 396
The window sizing works just fine, its the background APL. In madTPG there are three different APL backgrounds, those don't work in the official release of CM. I use split screen, on my PC is the desktop, on my display is madTPG.

There may be some benefit using the "APL Linear" background when calibrating a LG OLED 65EG9600. Because of how the EG9600 has a static ABL or ASBL.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #603 of 620 Old 05-29-2015, 02:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Zimbalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 261
I confirm problems with APL settings.
sillysally likes this.

Plasma TV: Pioneer Kuro KRP-500A - Pioneer Kuro LX-508D - Panasonic TX-P50VT30E
Sources: Oppo BDP-93 - Popcorn Hour A210 - Video Processor: TruVue eeColor
Probe: i1Display Pro profiled by JETI Specbos 1211-L - Software: Calman 5 Enthusiast
Zimbalo is online now  
post #604 of 620 Old 05-29-2015, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,091
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker
Sorry I don't meant that for madTPG.

First I want to use CM Pattern for my first steps with the eecolor.

And I want to know which APL level I have to set up for my VT60.

The pattern size will be 6%
If you are going to use a background, constant gray of 20 or 25% should be ok.
I never used a background APL when calibrating my VT60, mainly because you probably will get better meter reads if you don't use onscreen for your meter placement.

The bigger the area to a point the meter reads, the more information your meter has about the color.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #605 of 620 Old 05-29-2015, 04:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sspears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Sammamish, WA, USA
Posts: 5,262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by zimbalo
I confirm problems with APL settings
In what way is it not working for you?

I just tested madTPG and constant APL and it is working as expected. If you can tell me how it is not working, that would help. I compared a constant APL 18% to a user defined (Pattern Size = 10 and Pattern APL = 18) and the two match. For a Window at level 16, the background is 60 and the window is 16. For a 235 window, the background is 35 and the window is 235.

Also tried the yellow window from the color checker page. It has a purple-like background vs. black on a normal window.

Last edited by sspears; 05-29-2015 at 04:16 PM.
sspears is offline  
post #606 of 620 Old 05-29-2015, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,637
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 834 Post(s)
Liked: 737
Quote:
Originally Posted by sspears
In what way is it not working for you?

I just tested madTPG and constant APL and it is working as expected. If you can tell me how it is not working, that would help. I compared a constant APL 18% to a user defined (Pattern Size = 10 and Pattern APL = 18) and the two match. For a Window at level 16, the background is 60 and the window is 16. For a 235 window, the background is 35 and the window is 235.

Also tried the yellow window from the color checker page. It has a purple-like background vs. black on a normal window.
linear and gamma light APLs are working as expected but if you choose "constant gray" in the madTPG window, CM patterns always show a black background.
Zimbalo likes this.
zoyd is online now  
post #607 of 620 Old 05-31-2015, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I try it again when I use 6% CM Pattern how I set the APL Level for my VT60? Also 6%?
BlackJoker is offline  
post #608 of 620 Old 06-01-2015, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,726
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker
I try it again when I use 6% CM Pattern how I set the APL Level for my VT60? Also 6%?
Typically you want a higher APL. Most content varies between 10-30% on average. You probably want to pick a number based on the content you primarily watch. I'd go in the 12-15% for darker shows and the 20-25% range for brighter content.


The difference between higher and lower APL calibrations are more subtle than moving from variable APL to constant APL.
anta1974 likes this.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #609 of 620 Old 06-01-2015, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,091
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker
I try it again when I use 6% CM Pattern how I set the APL Level for my VT60? Also 6%?
The problem with the VT60 is the white level keeps shifting, usually it keeps dropping slightly each time it shifts when measuring a white window .
So unless Calman has a setting like argyll for white point drift there is not much of a benefit using a APL background..

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #610 of 620 Unread 06-07-2015, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Did anyone know how I can improve my result in combination with an VT60 and a d3 sensor? My first calibration with the latest beta of calman which ss posted and the eecolor we're awful I got an dE of 5.

Did I have to calibrate greyscale and gamma before I create the lut? For some testing I created a quick profile with 879 reads
BlackJoker is offline  
post #611 of 620 Unread 06-07-2015, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,726
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker
Did anyone know how I can improve my result in combination with an VT60 and a d3 sensor? My first calibration with the latest beta of calman which ss posted and the eecolor we're awful I got an dE of 5.

Did I have to calibrate greyscale and gamma before I create the lut? For some testing I created a quick profile with 879 reads
So calibrate the grayscale, but try and leave the gamut as wide as possible.

For Plasma you really need at least 3000 reads.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #612 of 620 Unread 06-07-2015, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Before I start did I have do to a ddc reset of the eecolor over calman? So I calibrate the greyscale with active eecolor one of the 6 memory spaces active right?

How I get better results with time or point based lut?
BlackJoker is offline  
post #613 of 620 Unread 06-07-2015, 10:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,726
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker
Before I start did I have do to a ddc reset of the eecolor over calman? So I calibrate the greyscale with active eecolor one of the 6 memory spaces active right?

How I get better results with time or point based lut?
Make sure you've reset the eeColor inside CalMAN, It should do it for you, but doing it manually will make sure. While the eeColor is transparent for the most part doing the calibration with it inline makes the most sense.

Point based gives you the best control. For a plasma 3000-3500 points is the knee where additional points start yielding very small gains in performance. Going from 3000 to 5000 reads gets you about the same increment more performance as going from 2500 to 3000.

Most people see the best results when they've done some level of optimizations inside the display. So while you don't need to do a full calibration in the plasma, at least get the cuts and gains dialed in and make sure the gamut is as wide as possible before starting.

Lastly in terms of range, make sure either your plasma isn't clipping up to 255, or make sure that you limit the profile range to 235.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #614 of 620 Unread 06-07-2015, 11:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thx sotti for the informations I'am realy confused and I'm sure that I do some mistakes ..
I set the Gammut of the TV to native so the box have some room to work.

Buzz said in his first post that we don't have to use the DDC Reset?
Did I get this right I only try to get a good wight balance with cuts and gains and do not calibrate RGB and Gamma before? Is the colorbox doing this for me?

Can please someone help me out this thing makes me crazy here are my following steps please correct me if something is wrong:

1. connect PC with eecolor HDMI Input and HDMI Output with VT60 (1920*1080@24hz)
2. Load Profile 1 on the eecolor and run a DDC Reset
2. Using CalMAN as pattern generator (Size 11% and 18% APL)
3. Video Levels 16-235 and Target Gamma 2.20 - REC709
4. Whitbalance with guts and gains at 30 and 100 IRE
5. No manually RGB and Gamma calibration
6. Autocal 3D LUT with 4000 Points

I'm using the latest CalMAN beta and a d3 profiled against an i1pro2
BlackJoker is offline  
post #615 of 620 Unread Yesterday, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,726
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker
1. connect PC with eecolor HDMI Input and HDMI Output with VT60 (1920*1080@24hz)
2. Load Profile 1 on the eecolor and run a DDC Reset
2. Using CalMAN as pattern generator (Size 11% and 18% APL)
3. Video Levels 16-235 and Target Gamma 2.20 - REC709
4. Whitbalance with guts and gains at 30 and 100 IRE
5. No manually RGB and Gamma calibration
6. Autocal 3D LUT with 4000 Points

I'm using the latest CalMAN beta and a d3 profiled against an i1pro2
If you're using 24hz output, make sure the VT60 is in 96hz mode, native 24hz is a little unstable for the d3.

With a PC connected to CalMAN make sure you eiter have the driver correctly configured for full range and uncheck the "expand patterns to PC Levels" box or leave the box checked and run with the driver on RGB limited or YCC mode.

The rest sounds about right.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #616 of 620 Unread Today, 03:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 16,003
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackJoker
5. No manually RGB and Gamma calibration
I would manually calibrate RGB as close as I can and have the gamma on the VT60 selected to get me 2.2-2.22.

If you've got the time to experiment, try it both ways and notice in the color checker what happens with the grayscale readings and average/max dEs.

Since content is mastered all over the place when it comes to gamma or what they now like to call EOTF, I precalibrate my Samsung plasma to 2.2 (or very close to 2.2) and then run my original LUTs for 2.2. Then I retarget and make a 2.3 and a BT1886. On TV broadcast, I tend to leave it on the 2.3 setting as it has a little more pop without making things look harsh. On movies, if I'm in a picky mood, I'll try all three and settle on the one that looks the best for that movie.
JimP is online now  
post #617 of 620 Unread Today, 03:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 16,003
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 526 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti

With a PC connected to CalMAN make sure you eiter have the driver correctly configured for full range and uncheck the "expand patterns to PC Levels" box ...snip...
Is this only for madVR TPG ?

Do you find any benefit in using madVR over the built in pattern generator?
JimP is online now  
post #618 of 620 Unread Today, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,726
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP
Is this only for madVR TPG ?

Do you find any benefit in using madVR over the built in pattern generator?
If you're doing a LUT for madVR then it has the advantage of being able to validate your LUT.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is online now  
post #619 of 620 Unread Today, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP
Is this only for madVR TPG ?

Do you find any benefit in using madVR over the built in pattern generator?
Hi Jim, since you use eeColor and the 3D LUT correction table will be active to eeColor's memory, the build in pattern generator will have no problem to measure your post-calibration performance.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #620 of 620 Unread Today, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,091
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 341 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti
If you're using 24hz output, make sure the VT60 is in 96hz mode, native 24hz is a little unstable for the d3.

With a PC connected to CalMAN make sure you eiter have the driver correctly configured for full range and uncheck the "expand patterns to PC Levels" box or leave the box checked and run with the driver on RGB limited or YCC mode.

The rest sounds about right.
Are you sure the VT60 will stay at 96hz, if using a PC as the pattern generator.

Wouldn't it be best to set your video card to 1080@60hz set at 0-256 and the output set at 16-235 for a VT60 set to legal video (16-235)

I know if using madVR/TPG you would want to set as stated above. You may also have to use madTweaker to force you video card to PC level 0-256.

ss
sillysally is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off