Mascior's Calibration Disc - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2013, 05:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73 View Post

Could you give link for rev.007, sadly I removed that when burned 008.
008 is just great but I can´t get "meter position" pattern to work, it jams my PS3. However AVCHD version burned just fine to single layer disk with Nero.

Hi Make73,

 

I'm sorry to hear you're having issues. Since REV_008 is maxing out standard dvd-r capacities, it's creating issues for certain image burning software and in turn causing playback issues on some players. I posted a download link for Imgburn on the main page of this thread(which is how I create all of my iso files and burns/plays fine)...see if this software works and plays well with your PS3. If not let me know and i'll send you a link to REV_007 via PM.smile.gif

 

Ryan

mascior is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2013, 08:51 AM
Member
 
RUBEN PORTILLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP .... MAY BE IN YOUR PATTERNS CAN ADD THE 4 STEPS GREYSCALE??? ... HELP ME MUCH AS I WANT TO IMPROVE THE IMAGE OF MY THX IN MY TC-P65VT30 .. ..
RUBEN PORTILLO is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 04:31 AM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mascior View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Make73 View Post

Could you give link for rev.007, sadly I removed that when burned 008.
008 is just great but I can´t get "meter position" pattern to work, it jams my PS3. However AVCHD version burned just fine to single layer disk with Nero.

Hi Make73,

 

I'm sorry to hear you're having issues. Since REV_008 is maxing out standard dvd-r capacities, it's creating issues for certain image burning software and in turn causing playback issues on some players. I posted a download link for Imgburn on the main page of this thread(which is how I create all of my iso files and burns/plays fine)...see if this software works and plays well with your PS3. If not let me know and i'll send you a link to REV_007 via PM.smile.gif

 

Ryan


Hi Mascior,

sorry to bump in this thread but i am having trouble burning the rev8 version to disk even though I enabled the overburning option in Nero.

second disk also failed with IMGburn

It looks like the image is slightly to big for my DVDr disk (imation)

could you als send me the link to rev7 ?

thanks in advance

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119

I'm sorry some members are having burn issues with the AVCHD version of REV_008. I temporarily disabled the link and will have a new version of REV_008 later on this evening with the same content just smaller in overall size.

 

Ryan

mascior is online now  
Old 08-25-2013, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119

The AVCHD REV_008 link is back up! The new .iso file is 4.20 GB (4,516,020,224 bytes)...(681.6 MB zipped) . I burned multiple test copies, using several different disc/image burning software...including but not limited to Imgburn, Nero, Roxio, and Windows disc image burner successfully. I then tested all disc's in an Oppo BDP-93 and a PS3 with no issues. If you were successful in burning a copy prior to this fix, I would still recommend re-burning a new copy of REV_008 (AVCHD version) as I found a few issues (that I resolved) that would affect playback on a few select BD players. As always, please let me know of any problems and or issues with this revision.

 

Ryan

prsut and Make73 like this.
mascior is online now  
Old 08-25-2013, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Killerbeenl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mascior View Post

The AVCHD REV_008 link is back up! The new .iso file is 4.20 GB (4,516,020,224 bytes)...(681.6 MB zipped) . I burned multiple test copies, using several different disc/image burning software...including but not limited to Imgburn, Nero, Roxio, and Windows disc image burner successfully. I then tested all disc's in an Oppo BDP-93 and a PS3 with no issues. If you were successful in burning a copy prior to this fix, I would still recommend re-burning a new copy of REV_008 (AVCHD version) as I found a few issues (that I resolved) that would affect playback on a few select BD players. As always, please let me know of any problems and or issues with this revision.

 

Ryan


great service in short time

can I buy you a beer with paypal ?

Sometimes you are 1 click away from pulling your hair out and bang your head against the wall
Killerbeenl is offline  
Old 08-25-2013, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Killerbeenl View Post


great service in short time

can I buy you a beer with paypal ?

biggrin.gif

mascior is online now  
Old 08-27-2013, 04:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Looking forward to downloading this disk smile.gif
Stu03 is offline  
Old 08-27-2013, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu03 View Post

Looking forward to downloading this disk smile.gif

Hi Stuart,

 

Long time...how's the Pioneer?smile.gif I created an entire 4% window size section specifically for Pioneer based off there patch sizes in the service menu. Let me know what you think about the disc.

 

Ryan

mascior is online now  
Old 08-27-2013, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Stu03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kingdom of Fife, Scotland.
Posts: 1,399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Hi Ryan,

The red tint inflicted 500A (reset) one is long gone sold. But was running as well as could be expected before it was sold on - partly due to your good help at the time. That screen has approximately 900hrs since it's last reset and apparently the last time i heard everything is very well. smile.gif

This new 500M, 24hrs when i got it home is doing fine so far - slides been going 14hrs a day approximately. Up to 316 hrs of slides now as we speak. Going to put 500hrs of slides on before i start with the tweaking. Get as much ageing as i can on it. Certainly any temporary IR since i first got it is massively reduced since i started the slides. Of course they weren't originally designed for that but it works anyway.

Will keep these windows in mind when i do start with tweaks...

Thanks again smile.gif
Stu03 is offline  
Old 08-27-2013, 04:17 PM
wl1
Advanced Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mascior View Post

The AVCHD REV_008 link is back up! The new .iso file is 4.20 GB (4,516,020,224 bytes)...(681.6 MB zipped) . I burned multiple test copies, using several different disc/image burning software...including but not limited to Imgburn, Nero, Roxio, and Windows disc image burner successfully. I then tested all disc's in an Oppo BDP-93 and a PS3 with no issues. If you were successful in burning a copy prior to this fix, I would still recommend re-burning a new copy of REV_008 (AVCHD version) as I found a few issues (that I resolved) that would affect playback on a few select BD players. As always, please let me know of any problems and or issues with this revision.

 

Ryan

Great disc, THANKS!

 

I thought I would grab the last AVCHD V8 a few weeks ago, but didn't have time to use it.  And then I saw your latest version, and so grabbed that too.  I burnt it to disc with IMG Burn, as I always have done, and it wouldn't play back on the PC.  I have not tried in my main setup yet, but do not expect it to work.

 

I have attached some screen shots, which seem to be showing differing file sizes to those you mention. And a couple of the errors.

 

I am on W7, NTFS.

 

If you have some suggestions - else I will keep hold of the v6 for now.  Thanks again.

 

 

1.jpg 43k .jpg file

 

 

 

 

2.jpg 66k .jpg file

 

 

 

3.jpg 63k .jpg file

 

 

 

4.jpg 38k .jpg file

 

 

 

5.jpg 41k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (41.1 KB, 14 views)
wl1 is offline  
Old 08-27-2013, 05:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post

Great disc, THANKS!

 

I thought I would grab the last AVCHD V8 a few weeks ago, but didn't have time to use it.  And then I saw your latest version, and so grabbed that too.  I burnt it to disc with IMG Burn, as I always have done, and it wouldn't play back on the PC.  I have not tried in my main setup yet, but do not expect it to work.

 

I have attached some screen shots, which seem to be showing differing file sizes to those you mention. And a couple of the errors.

 

I am on W7, NTFS.

 

If you have some suggestions - else I will keep hold of the v6 for now.  Thanks again.

 

 

 

Hi wl1,

 

Sorry for all the different revision of REV_008. I checked out all of the pics you posted and here's what I would suggest...erase all current copies of REV_008 off your computer, download a fresh copy from the thread, and burn the iso file with Imgburn. I know this sounds backwards but the smallest zip file from your pics is the most current copy of REV_008 (due to the changes and how certain images compress/zip). Remember, even though you are burning this iso file to a dvd...it's still in BDMV format that I converted to an AVCHD format for playback on blu-ray players. This disc will not play on Windows Media player or any other standard dvd player...it's a blu-ray format that just happens to be formatted to fit on a standard dvd.smile.gif Please let me know if you have any further issues.

 

Ryan

mascior is online now  
Old 08-27-2013, 05:29 PM
wl1
Advanced Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I eventually finished up my PC work, and tried the disk on my main HT system - it worked fine. Not really sure about file sizes etc. I did think my PC BDROM had previously played the burnt discs, with vlc, but I must be wrong.

Sorry for mis-post - I should have checked first.

Thanks,

Wayne.
wl1 is offline  
Old 08-27-2013, 05:35 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post

I eventually finished up my PC work, and tried the disk on my main HT system - it worked fine. Not really sure about file sizes etc. I did think my PC BDROM had previously played the burnt discs, with vlc, but I must be wrong.

Sorry for mis-post - I should have checked first.

Thanks,

Wayne.

No problem Waynesmile.gif

mascior is online now  
Old 08-28-2013, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
LewG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All- Just a heads up on rev 008 not fitting on disc. The first time I tried it with IMGBurn, I also had the problem of not fitting the disc. Then I realized that I had burned the image on a DVD+R instead of -R.. Went back and re-burned with -R and had no problems whatsoever. The instructions said to burn to a -R.. I wonder if the people that are having problems are using the wrong media. LewG
LewG is offline  
Old 10-08-2013, 11:44 AM
Newbie
 
nolimithardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi Mascior,

are the patterns also good for Full RGB (0-255) Calibration ?
Because I want to calibrate my new Plasma TV in this Range with a PS3.

You wrote HTPC for the MP4 , are the AVC Disc and MP4 Patterns different (15-235 / 0-255) ?

Thank you.
nolimithardware is offline  
Old 10-08-2013, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119

Hi nolimithardware,

 

The blu-ray and avchd versions of my disc were designed for video calibration range (16-235). The file labeled HTPC MP4 have the same exact patterns but are full range (0-255). FWIW...there are PS3 settings threads on this forum to help you optimize your setup.:)

 

Ryan

mascior is online now  
Old 10-08-2013, 05:35 PM
Newbie
 
nolimithardware's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you much for your quick response:)
nolimithardware is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 08:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by mascior View Post

Hi nolimithardware,


The blu-ray and avchd versions of my disc were designed for video calibration range (16-235). The file labeled HTPC MP4 have the same exact patterns but are full range (0-255). FWIW...there are PS3 settings threads on this forum to help you optimize your setup.
smile.gif

Ryan

Confused about this since I have mainly used your MP4 patterns since I currently don't have a stand-alone blu-ray player. The MP4 patterns should still provide identical results to the disc patterns or am I missing something. I would think the patterns would also be video range 16-235 since their purpose is to calibrate the system to that standard anyway.

BTW, they still show up as Limited range (which is 16-235) when I check them through my video renderer of choice (MadVR). So I'm curious why you chose this route if there is some discernable difference in their range. All other discs I've calibrated with (AVS HD709 or the GCD) to my knowledge are mastered exactly the same way.

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings
Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings
HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT660 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60
fairchild99 is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
monvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
They are limited range, because 16 is supposed to be black. Of course the bars below 16 and above 235 are still there. If it was flagged as full range madVR would interpret 0 as black and you would completely mess up your calibration by trying to set black to 16.
monvo is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairchild99 View Post


Confused about this since I have mainly used your MP4 patterns since I currently don't have a stand-alone blu-ray player. The MP4 patterns should still provide identical results to the disc patterns or am I missing something. I would think the patterns would also be video range 16-235 since their purpose is to calibrate the system to that standard anyway.

BTW, they still show up as Limited range (which is 16-235) when I check them through my video renderer of choice (MadVR). So I'm curious why you chose this route if there is some discernable difference in their range. All other discs I've calibrated with (AVS HD709 or the GCD) to my knowledge are mastered exactly the same way.

Hi fairchild99,

 

Sorry for the confusion. My mp4 files were created using the same method as the AVSHD709 and GCD disc's which should read limited (16-235). When I created these mp4 files I confirmed that they were correct, limited (16-235) but when I loaded them back into Photoshop to test they read as full range (0-255). FWIW, I just tested this, the AVSHD709 and GCD disc's read the same when pulled into Photoshop but when verified through re-rendering software they read (16-235). Again, sorry for the confusion.

 

Ryan

mascior is online now  
Old 10-12-2013, 01:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
fairchild99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Ok, so basically the MP4/MKV patterns should read identical to burning to a disc and reading them that way. Thanks for confirming. Wanted to use your APL patterns and do a calibration again and wanted to confirm. Thanks!

Now to decide to use the 10% APL or 4% APL to calibrate my 2013 S60 Panasonic plasma. wink.gif

Sony 32" EX400 calibrated settings
Panasonic 50" S60 calibrated settings
HTPC/Sony S5100 to Sony HT-CT660 to Panasonic 55" VT60, Sony 32" EX400, Panasonic 50" S60
fairchild99 is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by fairchild99 View Post

Ok, so basically the MP4/MKV patterns should read identical to burning to a disc and reading them that way. Thanks for confirming. Wanted to use your APL patterns and do a calibration again and wanted to confirm. Thanks!

Now to decide to use the 10% APL or 4% APL to calibrate my 2013 S60 Panasonic plasma. wink.gif

I plan on measuring my current calibration (done with standard 7.5% windows) with various standard window sizes and various APL window patterns for my S60. I'll add all the screencaps to my S60 thread in the this section of the forum.
PlasmaPZ80U is online now  
Old 10-12-2013, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
ttnuagmada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I used the 4% APL on my ST60, and calibrated to a gamma of 2.35, but while the color/greyscale seems to be fine, the gamma seems way off. The gamma from a 10% window calibration I did the other day seems much more natural. I measured the results with 10% windows, and the gamma seems to drop quite a bit, the closer it gets to 100%. 90% registers at about 1.6 when the 4% APL calibration is measured with 10% windows.

I'm going to give 10% APL a shot and see if things are any better.

edit: not trying to suggest that there is anything wrong with the patterns, just that my TV doesn't seem to like 4% APL

HTPC: I3 2100, Radeon 6950.
ttnuagmada is offline  
Old 10-12-2013, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
ttnuagmada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Amen brother.

I heard the the VT60s are worst.

One technique I recently tried was something I saw in DNice's number and that was that he didn't adjust 2 point lows. He adjusted 2 pt high and then did 10pt adjustments to even things out. I've got that style calibration in one of the memories but didn't think to do a 21 pt grayscale to see how the between points behaved. I'll check it out in the next few days.

I ended up doing this on my ST60, just because I couldn't get the black clipping set correctly using the 2pt lows without the black level rising due to too much red. I can also get a perfect looking chart using 10pt, but 20pt shows a couple of spots that are pretty far off, it's bad enough that I can see it in a grayscale ramp.

HTPC: I3 2100, Radeon 6950.
ttnuagmada is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

Sorry, I should have not worded that question the way I did. I was referring to the color checker patterns that Ryan created. They were designed to work with Chromapure.
The method you described is the way that I do CMS work also. Thanks for the reply.


I use CP and just burned this disc. What exactly is color checker and how do I use it in CP?


thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post


I use CP and just burned this disc. What exactly is color checker and how do I use it in CP?


thx

bob

Hi Bob,

 

See if this link helps http://www.chromapure.com/movies/ColorChecker/ColorChecker.html

 

Ryan

mascior is online now  
Old 10-15-2013, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mascior View Post

Hi Bob,

See if this link helps http://www.chromapure.com/movies/ColorChecker/ColorChecker.html

Ryan


Thanks, Ryan

So how does one adjust all these "new" colors?


bob
spongebob is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 03:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
realzven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 84
You can't since you don't have acces to direct control for this colors. The only option is a 3d lut with autocal
realzven is offline  
Old 10-15-2013, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,968
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

Thanks, Ryan

So how does one adjust all these "new" colors?


bob

The patterns are meant for "checking" or verification of your CMS performance at colors other than at the edge of the gamut. So you don't adjust them directly. You can use them to evaluate for example the performance of a calibration using 100% luminance points vs. 75% luminance or 100% saturation points vs. 75% saturation. Typically a lower average dE for this set of colors is desirable vs. just low dE numbers at the edges.
Barsk likes this.
zoyd is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off