What really is R-YR, R-YB, G-YR, G-YB ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 03-19-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
[Sorry if these are basic questions, but I have not been formally trained in video where this may be taught in Video Systems 101.]

I got back into calibrating my Sony KDS-60A2020 this week while the wife is away on vacation. I got things looking pretty good according to the software using AVSHD and HCFR with an i1-D2. I did grey scale and CMS calibration.

I have questions that have bugged me for years whenever I get the chance to get into a calibration of CMS. What are the definitions for R-YR, R-YB, G-YR, G-YB? As an engineer, I want to know what is really being controlled by these adjustment, not just how to adjust them.

What I have learned from searching the net, including AVS Forums, is to adjust:

Color for Blue Luminance

Tint for Cyan position

R-YR for Red Luminance

G-YR for Green Luminance

R-YB for Magenta position

G-YB for Yellow position

Is R-YB defined as Red Luminance minus Blue Luminance? This works since Magenta position is along the Red-Blue side of the triangle. But then this logic doesn’t work for G-YB. Yellow is along the Red Green side.

Is G-YR a difference between Red and Green?

Is the “-“ not a minus sign? Is "Y" not Luminance? Am I over thinking this?

So what are these controls really adjusting? Or, how are they making the adjustment?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 03-20-2013, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 226