eeColor processor - ArgyllCMS - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 299 Old 06-08-2014, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

Color Space is what I am measuring.

Yes I know, but what are the measures? If the triangle is not getting mapped to Rec.709 at the dE 0.5 level and your starting point is outside the target gamut then something is wrong in the process. The screenshot I was looking for is this one with your settings:

zoyd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 299 Old 06-08-2014, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

Yes I know, but what are the measures? If the triangle is not getting mapped to Rec.709 at the dE 0.5 level and your starting point is outside the target gamut then something is wrong in the process. The screenshot I was looking for is this one with your settings:

]

Sorry I know I posted the wrong screen shot.
sillysally is offline  
post #273 of 299 Old 06-08-2014, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 361
First problem I notice is that you used rec709_gamma22.icm as your source profile and also checked BT.1886 offset mapping, that will ruin your LUT. You should have either rec709_gamma22.icm and BT.1886 unchecked or rec_709.icm and BT.1886 checked. Remeasure the gamut edges after making that correction and post results.
zoyd is offline  
post #274 of 299 Old 06-08-2014, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

First problem I notice is that you used rec709_gamma22.icm as your source profile and also checked BT.1886 offset mapping, that will ruin your LUT. You should have either rec709_gamma22.icm and BT.1886 unchecked or rec_709.icm and BT.1886 checked. Remeasure the gamut edges after making that correction and post results.

Sorry about all of this "zoyd". I was rushing to correct my first posted image, that I just made the second image up.
Below is the real image.
[IMG

reloaded that profile and mad a LUT, loaded it into eecolor. Below is what LS reported about the new LUT, I have the VT60 in Native mode.




As it turned out madVR was locking my video card at 0-255, so when I ran a test using LS and its inturnal genorator my video card was locked at 0-255 and therefore LS was not reading correctly. That is also the reason why LS made a poor Profile/LUT, Sorry Steve.

Now I have to figure out what the problem with CM and using my Lumagen as a pattern generator is, but not know.

Thanks, and again sorry about this zoyd and Steve.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #275 of 299 Old 06-08-2014, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 361
no problem, user errors are the easiest to fix. smile.gif

A trick you can use in LS if you want to keep your video card at 0-255 but still profile or verify in video levels is to load a unity lut into LS and then video scale it. After that use that as a virtual LUT to run your patterns and it will behave the same as your madVR flow. (also equivalent to the -E switch in dispread).
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
zoyd is offline  
post #276 of 299 Old 06-10-2014, 06:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Any Idea how I can correct Magenta @ 100% Luminance, I am getting about dE of 2.7.
Also Triplet: 235,104,16 is giving a dE 2.5
Other wise my avg dE across the board is around .6 and high if I take out the one triplet is around 1.3
These numbers and report are being generated by CM QC SG.

Below is my testchart I am using.


I am not complaining, but just trying to squeeze ever bit I can out of my LUT's.
Also both Rec 709 2.2 and BT 1886 2.4 are being mapped well from the same profile. I am using a second PC to run my test and leaving the PC I use to run ArgyII/madVR locking my video card a 0-255, so I don't have to play around getting madVR to put my video card back to 16-235. Working well. smile.gif

Thanks,

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #277 of 299 Old 06-10-2014, 07:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 361
hmmm....2.7 at one point on the gamut edge would not keep me awake at night. wink.gif The first thing I'd want to know at that level is if it's real. In order to do that you should run verification tests using exactly the same hardware and software as was used to create the LUT. That will eliminate variables not related to the display performance. So you should use the measurement report feature of dispcalGUI to do your first pass at verification and proceed from there.
zoyd is offline  
post #278 of 299 Old 06-11-2014, 02:10 AM
Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

To get a 2.2 power law you have to replace rec709.icm with rec709_gamma22.icm in the collink command.
yes, use TV encoding in and out if you are running YCC or limited RGB through the box.
You do not need to do anything with the 1d files if you use TV encoding
Of course the files will load. rolleyes.gif

So your command line should look like:

collink -v -qh -G -ia -3e -et -Et Rec709_gamma22.icm display.icm display_link

if I want to have a 2.25 or 2.3 power law, how can I create a .icm file for that?

(as "only" .icm files for 2.2, 2.35 and 2.4 power law are available)
DrFaxe is offline  
post #279 of 299 Old 06-11-2014, 03:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 361
zoyd is offline  
post #280 of 299 Old 06-11-2014, 06:01 AM
Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Thanks Zoyd! I already thought about that but was not sure, because of the different file extension and which settings to use.

I assume I just have to load the Rec709 RGB preset, change tone curve to gamma, enter the desired value and leave white / black level at default (120 / 0 cd/m²). Afterwards rename the icc file to icm extension.

And for BT1886, using IB or Ib switch with any value in the collink command, I have to use the REC709.icm, correct?
DrFaxe is offline  
post #281 of 299 Old 06-12-2014, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFaxe View Post
Afterwards rename the icc file to icm extension.
No need to change the extension.

Quote:
And for BT1886, using IB or Ib switch with any value in the collink command, I have to use the REC709.icm, correct?
Yes.
fhoech is offline  
post #282 of 299 Old 06-12-2014, 10:02 AM
Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Thanks for confirmation Mr. Hoech.
DrFaxe is offline  
post #283 of 299 Old 06-12-2014, 05:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 75
sorry, wrong thread

Last edited by spacediver; 06-12-2014 at 05:40 PM.
spacediver is offline  
post #284 of 299 Old 06-15-2014, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
hmmm....2.7 at one point on the gamut edge would not keep me awake at night. The first thing I'd want to know at that level is if it's real. In order to do that you should run verification tests using exactly the same hardware and software as was used to create the LUT. That will eliminate variables not related to the display performance. So you should use the measurement report feature of dispcalGUI to do your first pass at verification and proceed from there.
Here is the test results from a 9270 patch profile, using BT 1886 2.4.
Sorry I can't seem to post the full html report.
Any suggestions.?

ss
Attached Files
File Type: zip Test file 06-15.zip (19.7 KB, 16 views)
sillysally is offline  
post #285 of 299 Old 06-16-2014, 03:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Can you link or upload the html file, it's not very readable as plain text. Why does your white Luminance say 403.6 cd/m^2?
zoyd is offline  
post #286 of 299 Old 06-16-2014, 03:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Can you link or upload the html file, it's not very readable as plain text. Why does your white Luminance say 403.6 cd/m^2?
I have seen that strange reporting of SS's peak white again to another thread I believe.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #287 of 299 Old 06-16-2014, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Can you link or upload the html file, it's not very readable as plain text. Why does your white Luminance say 403.6 cd/m^2?
I don't think AVS will let me upload the file. I could link but that would be to me PC and I don't think that is very safe. If you have a way let me know.
In the mean time here are some screen shots from CM's QC SG reports. I did the CM report in the same session.

See link below in my post to spacediver
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Lum zoyd.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	297.5 KB
ID:	120930   Click image for larger version

Name:	Grayscale zoyd.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	289.6 KB
ID:	120938   Click image for larger version

Name:	ColorChecker SG zoyd.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	350.7 KB
ID:	120946  

Last edited by sillysally; 06-16-2014 at 01:28 PM.
sillysally is offline  
post #288 of 299 Old 06-16-2014, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
spacediver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

I don't think AVS will let me upload the file. I could link but that would be to me PC and I don't think that is very safe.
Try a free online file host - I think this one would work well:

http://tinyupload.com/
sillysally likes this.
spacediver is offline  
post #289 of 299 Old 06-16-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Can you link or upload the html file, it's not very readable as plain text. Why does your white Luminance say 403.6 cd/m^2?
Quote:
Originally Posted by spacediver View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

I don't think AVS will let me upload the file. I could link but that would be to me PC and I don't think that is very safe.
Try a free online file host - I think this one would work well:

http://tinyupload.com/
Thanks, here is the link.
http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php...27319035335079

ss

Last edited by sillysally; 06-16-2014 at 01:30 PM.
sillysally is offline  
post #290 of 299 Old 06-16-2014, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,725
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
well I don't understand that white luminance value and it showed up in your previous LS screenshot as well, close to 400 nits. In any case the normalized values appear to work and it looks like you might be clipping slightly in red when using the native gamut.
zoyd is offline  
post #291 of 299 Old 06-16-2014, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
well I don't understand that white luminance value and it showed up in your previous LS screenshot as well, close to 400 nits. In any case the normalized values appear to work and it looks like you might be clipping slightly in red when using the native gamut.
I am using Rec. 709 gamut, with this LUT.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #292 of 299 Old 07-19-2014, 10:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
sillysally is offline  
post #293 of 299 Old 08-05-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
I see on the latest update for dispcalGUI, there is a note about "(requires Argyll CMS 1.7 beta development code 2014-07-10 or newer)".

Is there a update for ArgyCMS 1.7 beta 2014-05-21.???
If so can you point me to the download and any special instructions on installing it.

Thanks.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #294 of 299 Old 08-05-2014, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
I see on the latest update for dispcalGUI, there is a note about "(requires Argyll CMS 1.7 beta development code 2014-07-10 or newer)".

Is there a update for ArgyCMS 1.7 beta 2014-05-21.???
Not as binary release, only in source code form as far as I know (thus the phrasing in the changelog).
fhoech is offline  
post #295 of 299 Old 08-22-2014, 08:47 AM
Member
 
ACappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 44
in madvr in the setting "the display expect the following RGB output levels" what is the correct setting when my TV will show btb and wtw with my laptop as source?

is there any issues using Argyll CMS 1.6.3 with the latest dispcal 2.1.1.6 Beta?
ACappo is offline  
post #296 of 299 Old 08-23-2014, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
is there any issues using Argyll CMS 1.6.3 with the latest dispcal 2.1.1.6 Beta?
None that I'm aware of at least.
fhoech is offline  
post #297 of 299 Old 09-02-2014, 03:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by assm0de View Post
This looks fascinating. In theory you could get very accurate colour on any display. Do you get any banding on the end result? What is the bit depth of the LUT on the eeColor box? Does it use a dithering LUT like AMD GPUs? Where is the best place to buy the eeColor box? Thanks.
Hi, The eeColor 3D LUT Box features 16-bit internal signal processing and 6 memory slots (selectable via the infrared remote control) for 65-Point Cube 3D-LUT Tables (274.625 Color Points) with 10-bit color depth per color channel (30-bit) for color management (10-bit 3D-LUT Table Depth).

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS + CalMAN ColorChecker
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, CalPC, ControlCAL
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #298 of 299 Old Yesterday, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 265
sillysally is offline  
post #299 of 299 Old Yesterday, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
How do I change the interpolated lookup table size from the default 33x33x33?
On the command line, it's the either -q for general sizes, or -r for a specific size.
See http://www.argyllcms.com/doc/collink.html#r
gwgill is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off