eeColor processor - ArgyllCMS - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 345 Old 02-04-2015, 03:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 800
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
What should be the setting in the create 3DLUT, Black output offset?
I think default is 0. Can't find in dispcalGUI guide anything about this.
I ran a Calibration (slow) plus Profile (9805 points). Plus XYZ+Swapped Matrix. I have never tried this combo.
Ran a measurement report, the measured black luminance came out at
0.0161 cd/m². Normally it comes out around 0.004 cd/m² when I use XYZ+Matrix, and no calibration.
Why the big raise in measured black luminance?
http://s000.tinyupload.com/download....45504664843304

Thank You.
ss
The default value of output offset = 0 means that BT.1886 gamma mapping is applied to the input. If you were looking for pure power law scaling you would set this 100%. I think what you have specified in your screen shot (custom, 2.23 absolute, 0% output offset) translates to BT.1886 with a 2.23 exponent. If you are looking for power law of 2.23 you should use custom, 2.23 relative, 100% output offset.

It's typical when you run the 1d calibration process prior to profiling that blacks are lifted by about 0.01 cd/m^2 on displays with deep blacks, but I don't remember if Graeme ever figured out exactly why. I don't recommend doing it if your getting good results from profiling alone which it looks like you are.
sillysally likes this.

Last edited by zoyd; 02-04-2015 at 04:52 AM.
zoyd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 345 Old 02-04-2015, 05:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,184
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 466
I also set the Tone curve to Rec. 709, but that you can't do when you don't use the calibration also.
I had to try, you understand. Now I know.

One of the reasons I tried to do my 3DLUT this way is I heard there was a problem with the black level using argyllCMS. Can't say the PQ is bad, but after consistently getting contrast of around 30K the PQ looks a little dim.

ss
sillysally is online now  
post #333 of 345 Old 05-03-2015, 12:18 AM
Senior Member
 
karrih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I ran calibration using latest versions of ArgyllCMS, MadVR and DispcalGUI beta at 2nd of May 2015 and result looks fine. There were some warnings about black hack, I guess it is for the better as my i1d3 can not read JVC projector blacks.Thanks for the good work guys.
karrih is offline  
post #334 of 345 Old 05-03-2015, 03:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 800
zoyd is online now  
post #335 of 345 Old 05-03-2015, 03:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by karrih View Post
There were some warnings about black hack,
Precisely what was the warning message ?
gwgill is offline  
post #336 of 345 Old 05-03-2015, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,790
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 800
When using the -b switch the following message appears:

"Warning :- RGB black hack trigger more than once! (125)"
zoyd is online now  
post #337 of 345 Old 05-03-2015, 07:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,184
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Here is the report (493 points) I made after I installed this 3DLUT. I used argyllCMS 1.7.0, dispcalGUI 3.0.0.0, madVT 87.21.

I used Auto testchart (11120 points), Calibration slow. Rec.709, black offset 100%, ambient offset 0.50, Reference daylight, Rec. BT.1886, absolute colormetric with white point scaling.
On-screen 4% window, 25% constant gray background.
65VT60, eecolor.

http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php...42294889014068

And yes I donated, as we all should do.

ss

Last edited by sillysally; 05-03-2015 at 07:28 PM.
sillysally is online now  
post #338 of 345 Old 05-04-2015, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
karrih's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
When using the -b switch the following message appears:

"Warning :- RGB black hack trigger more than once! (125)"
Yep, this was the one.
karrih is offline  
post #339 of 345 Old 05-04-2015, 05:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 761
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
When using the -b switch the following message appears:

"Warning :- RGB black hack trigger more than once! (125)"
OK - that shouldn't happen, but the warning is benign. I'll fix it in V1.7.1.
anta1974 likes this.
gwgill is offline  
post #340 of 345 Old 05-04-2015, 07:15 AM
Member
 
transendance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My apologies in advance if this noob question has been already answered.
I attempted to do a first experimental calibration run using latest calman enthusiast software and using madtpg as generator.

Notebook as source (asus "rog" with 660m nvidia card 2 gig ram) latest drivers....

HDMI direct into plasma

Set up as dual screen but ably appeared to have clone option ( no extended scene possible ?)

Then moved the madtpg pattern over to plasma, enabled in calman and ran into two difficulties....
First when I double tapped to go full screen both monitors "blanked".
Second on every occasion I tried the pattern size slider jumped back to full screen from the smaller 10% window I had selected.

What to do? Any help would be appreciated...... ( do I need to hook up an additional monitor to run the madtpg or is there some other simple mistake I'm doing)?
Thanks in advance T.

Last edited by transendance; 05-04-2015 at 08:22 AM. Reason: Spell error
transendance is offline  
post #341 of 345 Old 05-04-2015, 11:37 AM
Member
 
transendance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by transendance View Post
My apologies in advance if this noob question has been already answered.
I attempted to do a first experimental calibration run using latest calman enthusiast software and using madtpg as generator.

Notebook as source (asus "rog" with 660m nvidia card 2 gig ram) latest drivers....

HDMI direct into plasma

Set up as dual screen but ably appeared to have clone option ( no extended scene possible ?)

Then moved the madtpg pattern over to plasma, enabled in calman and ran into two difficulties....
First when I double tapped to go full screen both monitors "blanked".
Second on every occasion I tried the pattern size slider jumped back to full screen from the smaller 10% window I had selected.

What to do? Any help would be appreciated...... ( do I need to hook up an additional monitor to run the madtpg or is there some other simple mistake I'm doing)?
Thanks in advance T.
i managed to solve part of my issue. third screen and clone extend is working!
still have the problem that the pattern size choice keeps reverting to 100percent as soon as calman begins to do a calibration.

any help would be appreciated.
transendance is offline  
post #342 of 345 Old 07-14-2015, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 120
I just post my eeColor Box for sale in the classifieds LINK. Please let me know if anyone is interested. Thanks.

Ryan
mascior is online now  
post #343 of 345 Old Today, 07:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I will soon get my eeColor box & want to know the proper way to setup for my ec930v oled

1. Does the PC video card need to be in 16-235 for profiling ? as the tv will be in black level low - 16-235 ?
2. Do I need to pre calibrate, white point 120 cd/m? 2 point adjust red & blue only ?, set brightness/contrast for 16 black & 235 white ? gamut on wide.
3. testchart auto-optimized around 4-5k is good or is this not great for oled ? should I use custom value's like silly sally: link alltough 11k is gonna take a very long on a i1dp ..

thanks

Last edited by neox387; Today at 07:49 AM.
neox387 is offline  
post #344 of 345 Old Today, 08:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 16,075
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 585 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by neox387 View Post
I will soon get my eeColor box & want to know the proper way to setup for my ec930v oled

1. Does the PC video card need to be in 16-235 for profiling ? as the tv will be in black level low - 16-235 ?
2. Do I need to pre calibrate, white point 120 cd/m? 2 point adjust red & blue only ?, set brightness/contrast for 16 black & 235 white ? gamut on wide.
3. testchart auto-optimized around 4-5k is good or is this not great for oled ? should I use custom value's like silly sally: link alltough 11k is gonna take a very long on a i1dp ..

thanks
Rather than reinvent the wheel, PM sillysally and ask him.
It seems that there may be a problem using a i1dpro as the screen darkens if left on a pattern too long but best to ask him about that.
JimP is online now  
post #345 of 345 Old Today, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,184
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by neox387 View Post
I will soon get my eeColor box & want to know the proper way to setup for my ec930v oled

1. Does the PC video card need to be in 16-235 for profiling ? as the tv will be in black level low - 16-235 ?
2. Do I need to pre calibrate, white point 120 cd/m? 2 point adjust red & blue only ?, set brightness/contrast for 16 black & 235 white ? gamut on wide.
3. testchart auto-optimized around 4-5k is good or is this not great for oled ? should I use custom value's like silly sally: link alltough 11k is gonna take a very long on a i1dp ..

thanks
Yes Jim is correct there may be a problem using a D3, because of the auto static dimmer.
I have NP with auto dimming, but I use a faster meter and have a EG9600.

Anyway in your case I would start out using auto mode in dispcalGUI.

1. Yes 16-235, use madTPG. Select APL Liner (25%) in the mane widow. Use 8% patch window.

2. Yes Using Blue and Red High and Low, adjust so you get close to D65 0.3127 x value and 0.3290 for y value and a good RGB balance (don't worry about gamma). Also 120cd/m2 or a little higher is fine.

3. Start out using around 1000 points using auto testchart slider, once you see you are getting fairly good results then try around 2600 points using the slider for auto testchart.

Also you may want to back up your D3 at-least 6" or more from dead center, this will help with better very low dark reading accuracy.

Below is how I setup dispcalGUI, click on the link.
Official Owners Thread 2015 LG 55EG9600 / 65EG9600 4k

ss
sillysally is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off