CalMAN 5 Tutorial for Novice Calibrators - Page 5 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #121 of 140 Old 09-15-2016, 02:51 PM
Member
 
slackmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post
I believe serial cables are good for almost 50 ft.
USB cables OTOH are only suppose to do 15ft or so.

YMMV
Ok. Thanks.
slackmack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #122 of 140 Old 09-15-2016, 11:59 PM
Newbie
 
chrisc0le's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti View Post
On the CMS page they should have an RGB chart.

So if Red is high and Green and blue are low, lower red and raise green and blue. You may find that there is residual error even when a control is maxed out. That is just a display limitation and not something you can fix.
Thanks Sotti, so basically the aim is to reduce the RGB bars as close to '0' as possible.
chrisc0le is offline  
post #123 of 140 Old 09-16-2016, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom899's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Brownstown, Michigan
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I ended up ordering CalMAN Enthusiast with a C6 HDR meter.
I see the tutorial in the first post, which looks very good! Thanks! is from 2013.
I'm new and a beginner with this software so wondering if it is still valid and up to date for me to use? I want to calibrate my Sony 40ES projector.
I bought CalMAN and an inexpensive meter back in 2009 but could not figure it out and it sat in a drawer. I would really like to put all my effort into it this time around.
Thanks

-Tom
Tom899 is offline  
 
post #124 of 140 Old 04-02-2017, 07:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My TV is a Samsung 46f5500 and using Calman 5 Control and a Xrite I1 display pro retail.
Hi I just finished calibrating and here is the post calibration. Can someone tell me whats else needs fixing and how? Cause I think some of the deltae for some of the colors are high and most of the circles are not inside the box. Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	calman.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	152.3 KB
ID:	2062817  
protege888 is offline  
post #125 of 140 Old 04-02-2017, 10:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,157
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2504 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by protege888 View Post
My TV is a Samsung 46f5500 and using Calman 5 Control and a Xrite I1 display pro retail.
Hi I just finished calibrating and here is the post calibration. Can someone tell me whats else needs fixing and how? Cause I think some of the deltae for some of the colors are high and most of the circles are not inside the box. Thanks.

Does your set have a CMS ? if so use that to minimize the color errors , otherwise use your color control to minimize error for primaries tint to minimize error for secondaries.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #126 of 140 Old 04-02-2017, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Does your set have a CMS ? if so use that to minimize the color errors , otherwise use your color control to minimize error for primaries tint to minimize error for secondaries.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
my tv doesnt have cms
protege888 is offline  
post #127 of 140 Old 04-02-2017, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,157
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2504 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by protege888 View Post
my tv doesnt have cms


you can use color and tint then to reduce the errors


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #128 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 04:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
Does your set have a CMS ? if so use that to minimize the color errors , otherwise use your color control to minimize error for primaries tint to minimize error for secondaries.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
what colors are the primaries and secondaries? thanks
protege888 is offline  
post #129 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 04:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,539
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1733 Post(s)
Liked: 2136
Quote:
Originally Posted by protege888 View Post
what colors are the primaries and secondaries? thanks
Hi, these charts can help you:

Saturation:



Luminance:



Hue:


Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #130 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 04:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks
protege888 is offline  
post #131 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 04:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,157
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2504 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by protege888 View Post
what colors are the primaries and secondaries? thanks


red green and blue primaries cyan magneta and yellow secondaries .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #132 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 05:54 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Based on my pic above which colors needs fixing? Also the primaries should be in the box more than the secondaries?
protege888 is offline  
post #133 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 06:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,157
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2504 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by protege888 View Post
Based on my pic above which colors needs fixing? Also the primaries should be in the box more than the secondaries?

your 2 biggest errors are green and cyan. I would try dropping color one or two clicks and move tint towards green. see what that does overall to your errors. does the control version of calman have a mms screen ? If so post your readings from there.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #134 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
your 2 biggest errors are green and cyan. I would try dropping color one or two clicks and move tint towards green. see what that does overall to your errors. does the control version of calman have a mms screen ? If so post your readings from there.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
what is a mms screen? how can screen capture from calman?
protege888 is offline  
post #135 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 07:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,157
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2504 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by protege888 View Post
what is a mms screen? how can screen capture from calman?


Sorry typo CMS


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #136 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
here is my cms
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	calman.png
Views:	55
Size:	387.6 KB
ID:	2067369  
protege888 is offline  
post #137 of 140 Old 04-04-2017, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wilmington Ohio
Posts: 9,157
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2504 Post(s)
Liked: 2233
Quote:
Originally Posted by protege888 View Post
here is my cms

Sent you a pm



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sony 75XBR940E
Time Warner Cable/Panasonic UB900/ Roku Premiere +/Sony S780 Soundbar/Harmony 650
Calman Enthusiast/Chromapure Standard with Auto Cal
chunon is online now  
post #138 of 140 Old 04-11-2017, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 1,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
Just purchased Calman 2016 Control for Home Video. I take it that the AVS709 disc(or any disc at all!) is no longer able to be used as I find no option for Pattern Disc to be selected under source. As a matter of fact, other than manual, all of the options appear to be some kind of external pattern generator. Is this correct?


edit: So I discovered MobilForge. I'll see how this works.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr

Last edited by lovswr; 04-12-2017 at 04:06 AM. Reason: more info
lovswr is offline  
post #139 of 140 Old 04-18-2017, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 5,539
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1733 Post(s)
Liked: 2136
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post
Just purchased Calman 2016 Control for Home Video. I take it that the AVS709 disc(or any disc at all!) is no longer able to be used as I find no option for Pattern Disc to be selected under source. As a matter of fact, other than manual, all of the options appear to be some kind of external pattern generator. Is this correct?
Hi, there no problem to use any calibration disk without selecting anything to the pattern source window of calman.

This function was related with the capability of CalMAN to control your dvd player remote and send commands to go to next chapter etc. using an external IR transceiver the user had to buy for about $100 and configure it according to his brand of player, so CalMAN was sending next or previous chapter commands via IR to the player and CalMAN was measuring Grayscale for example without user prompt....but the supported disks had no correct pattern order for CalMAN 5.

I have posted about this here: Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk

There is mismatch of Grayscale patches AVSHD has when it's been used from CalMAN users, see more details here: What is the best calibration disc???

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #140 of 140 Old 04-18-2017, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lovswr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Riverview, FL
Posts: 1,615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Send a message via AIM to lovswr
Thanks for the info, Ted.

carry on with your HD-Lite Directv loving banter! <--Comedy Gold
Don't fall for the HDMI 1.3 Hype!
PSN = lovswr
XBOX Live = lovswr
lovswr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off