Professional Calibrators in Eugene, OR area? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-15-2013, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hi; I searched the ISF calibrators thread extensively to see if there's any mention of someone who calibrates in this area, and the closest I can find is Portland.

I was wondering if anyone provides service in Eugene/Springfield area, and what is the cost?

I have a Panasonic 50ST60

Thanks!
Dabois09 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-15-2013, 04:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Lake Tahoe, NV
Posts: 4,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 88
One of the Top Gun Calibrators is based out of Portland, David Evans @ 21st Century Calibrations....

Did you check to see if he will travel to Eugene?

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

 

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

turbe is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-15-2013, 04:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I'm in Portland as well and occasionally get down to Eugene as I have family there as well.

Chris Heinonen
Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, www.hometheaterhifi.com
Displays Editor, AnandTech.com
Contributor, HDGuru.com and Wirecutter.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
Smackrabbit is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackrabbit View Post

I'm in Portland as well and occasionally get down to Eugene as I have family there as well.
.

What's your typical rate?

Thanks!
Dabois09 is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

One of the Top Gun Calibrators is based out of Portland, David Evans @ 21st Century Calibrations....

Did you check to see if he will travel to Eugene?

What's his typical session cost?
Dabois09 is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-18-2013, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Dabois09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by turbe View Post

One of the Top Gun Calibrators is based out of Portland, David Evans @ 21st Century Calibrations....

Did you check to see if he will travel to Eugene?

He will; for anyone else interested he quoted me for 309 for three input devices on my 50ST60, and 150 for travel expenses (100 miles drive).
Dabois09 is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-19-2013, 02:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Ryan25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PDX
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Interesting. So if you were using an AVR as the hub, would all sources have to still be calibrated or just the out from the AVR?
Ryan25 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-20-2013, 07:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Smackrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan25 View Post

Interesting. So if you were using an AVR as the hub, would all sources have to still be calibrated or just the out from the AVR?

Calibrating multiple inputs was more essential with analog video, where the actual signal quality could vary from device to device, causing different responses in the display. With HDMI devices, issues where the data coming is different than another device would be due to the device having something wrong in the design, and those often aren't errors you could calibrate around. Exceptions to this would be if you are running a device like the PS3 full range for games and running other devices, like a TV/Satellite box and Blu-ray player, in standard video range. But typically, if you get it right with HDMI, it should be right for everything, otherwise it's the source that is at fault.

Chris Heinonen
Senior Editor, Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity, www.hometheaterhifi.com
Displays Editor, AnandTech.com
Contributor, HDGuru.com and Wirecutter.com
ISF Level II Certified Calibrator, ReferenceHomeTheater.com
Smackrabbit is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-20-2013, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Ryan25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PDX
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Cool, thanks for the answer. I was more curious than anything.
Ryan25 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off