MadVR - ArgyllCMS - Page 100 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 286Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #2971 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Evanesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
What's the output from Argyll CMS (in DCG, "Tools" menu, "Show log")?
22:39:17,072 dispcalGUI.pyw 2.9.0.1 Beta 2015-03-18T23:49:52.72Z
22:39:17,072 Windows 6.2.9200 (8/Server 2012)
22:39:17,073 Python 2.7.6 (default, Nov 10 2013, 19:24:18) [MSC v.1500 32 bit (Intel)]
22:39:17,073 wxPython 3.0.1.0.b20140104 msw (classic)
22:39:17,073 Encoding: cp850
22:39:17,073 File system encoding: mbcs
22:39:17,074 Starting up...
22:39:17,074 C:\ProgramData\0install.net\implementations\sha256 new_HUPIUFKWDTKGEIAZPTXWG3ONL4
22:39:17,074 ETVUIUOBJU4QVHMXXVVBJTTJNA\bin
22:39:17,074 Argyll CMS 1.7.0_beta
22:39:17,074 Verify: 'test.cal' IS loaded (discrepancy 0.0%)
22:39:17,075 Initializing GUI...
22:39:17,075 ...ok.
22:39:17,075 Ready.
22:39:17,394 Setting up scripting host at 127.0.0.1:15411
22:39:17,395 Check for application update...
22:39:34,801 dispcalGUI is up-to-date.
22:39:44,002 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
22:39:44,002 Calibrate & profile
22:39:45,808 --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
22:39:45,809 Session log: madVR 2015-03-19 0.3127x 0.329y S XYZLUT.log
22:39:45,810 Working directory:
22:39:45,810 c:\
22:39:45,811 users\
22:39:45,812 admin\
22:39:45,813 appdata\
22:39:45,813 local\
22:39:45,814 temp\
22:39:45,814 dispcalGUI-12lxq6\
22:39:45,815 Command line:
22:39:45,816 dispcal.exe
22:39:45,816 "-P0.5,0.5,7.280110"
22:39:45,817 -v2
22:39:45,817 -dmadvr
22:39:45,818 -c1
22:39:45,818 -yn
22:39:45,819 -X
22:39:45,820 "Xrite i1 DisplayPro, ColorMunki Display & Dell DELL U2713HM (GretagMacbeth
22:39:45,820 i1 Pro).ccmx"
22:39:45,821 "-w0.3127,0.329"
22:39:45,821 -b
22:39:45,822 "madVR 2015-03-19 0.3127x 0.329y S XYZLUT"
22:39:46,252 dispcalGUI: Starting interaction with subprocess
22:39:46,259 Setting up the instrument
22:39:47,080 Product Name: i1Display3
22:39:47,080 Serial Number: I1-14.A-02
22:39:47,081 Firmware Version: v1.03
22:39:47,081 Firmware Date: 05Jun12
22:39:47,162 Created MadVR window
22:39:47,927 Place instrument on test window.
22:39:47,928 dispcalGUI: Waiting for send buffer
22:39:47,978 dispcalGUI: Sending buffer: ' '
22:39:47,980 Hit Esc or Q to give up, any other key to continue:
22:39:47,980 Display type is 'n'
22:39:47,991 Target white = xy 0.312700 0.329000
22:39:47,991 Target white brightness = native brightness
22:39:47,991 Target black brightness = native brightness
22:39:47,991 Black point device hack is enabled
22:39:47,992 Target advertised gamma = 2.400000
22:39:47,992 Display adjustment menu:
22:39:47,992 Press 1 .. 7
22:39:47,993 1) Black level (CRT: Offset/Brightness)
22:39:47,993 2) White point (Color temperature, R,G,B, Gain/Contrast)
22:39:47,993 3) White level (CRT: Gain/Contrast, LCD: Brightness/Backlight)
22:39:47,994 4) Black point (R,G,B, Offset/Brightness)
22:39:47,994 5) Check all
22:39:47,994 6) Measure and set ambient for viewing condition adjustment
22:39:47,995 7) Continue on to calibration
22:39:47,995 8) Exit
22:39:47,995 dispcalGUI: Waiting for send buffer
22:39:53,442 dispcalGUI: Sending buffer: '2'
22:39:53,451 Doing some initial measurements
22:39:56,558 , using delay of 200 msec & 0 msec inst reaction
22:40:00,743 Red = XYZ 14.248 20.162 26.523
22:40:00,744 Green = XYZ 14.247 20.162 26.521
22:40:00,744 Blue = XYZ 14.247 20.162 26.521
22:40:02,187 White = XYZ 14.246 20.162 26.514
22:40:02,187 Adjust R,G & B gain to get target x,y. Press space when done.
22:40:02,187 Target Br 20.16, x 0.3127 , y 0.3290
22:40:12,039 dispcalGUI: Sending buffer: ' '
22:40:12,742 \ Current Br 97.76, x 0.3009+, y 0.3159+ DE 6.3 R-- G- B-
22:40:12,743 Press 1 .. 7
22:40:12,743 1) Black level (CRT: Offset/Brightness)
22:40:12,744 2) White point (Color temperature, R,G,B, Gain/Contrast)
22:40:12,744 3) White level (CRT: Gain/Contrast, LCD: Brightness/Backlight)
22:40:12,745 4) Black point (R,G,B, Offset/Brightness)
22:40:12,745 5) Check all
22:40:12,746 6) Measure and set ambient for viewing condition adjustment
22:40:12,746 7) Continue on to calibration
22:40:12,746 8) Exit
22:40:12,747 dispcalGUI: Waiting for send buffer
22:40:18,160 dispcalGUI: Trying to end subprocess gracefully...
22:40:18,201 dispcalGUI: Sending buffer: '\x1b'
22:40:18,203 Exiting
22:40:18,203 The instrument can be removed from the screen.
22:40:18,456 dispcalGUI: Reached EOF (OK)
22:40:18,457 ...aborted.
22:40:18,478 Calibration has not been finished.

PANASONIC TX-58AX800E ULTRA HD 4K LED TV
i1 Display Pro, CalMAN Control
YAMAHA RX-A2040 9.2 DOLBY ATMOS Networked Receiver
ROTEL RB-1572 Ext AMP
DALI MENTOR 6 FRONTS, DALI IKON VOCAL 2 CENTER, DALI IKON ON-WALL REAR
MPC-HC+MadVR 3DLUT calibrated with DispcalGUI.
Evanesco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2972 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanesco View Post
Code:
22:40:00,743 Red   = XYZ 14.248 20.162 26.523
22:40:00,744 Green = XYZ 14.247 20.162 26.521
22:40:00,744 Blue  = XYZ 14.247 20.162 26.521
22:40:02,187 White = XYZ 14.246 20.162 26.514
22:40:02,187 Adjust R,G & B gain to get target x,y. Press space when done.
22:40:02,187    Target Br 20.16, x 0.3127 , y 0.3290
22:40:12,039 dispcalGUI: Sending buffer: ' '
22:40:12,742 \ Current Br 97.76, x 0.3009+, y 0.3159+  DE  6.3  R-- G-  B-
Thanks. Argyll CMS seems to be working, so I assume the problem is with madTPG/madVR. Try resetting madVR settings (using "restore default settings.bat"), then un-installing/re-installing madVR. Are you using the latest madVR version (0.87.14 as of today)?
fhoech is offline  
post #2973 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,858
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Which OS are you using? Can I have a screenshot?
Can't reproduce it, I'll grab a screenshot if I see it again.
zoyd is online now  
post #2974 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Evanesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Thanks. Argyll CMS seems to be working, so I assume the problem is with madTPG/madVR. Try resetting madVR settings (using "restore default settings.bat"), then un-installing/re-installing madVR. Are you using the latest madVR version (0.87.14 as of today)?
Thanks alot!!!


It helped with; restore default settings.bat and un-install/reinstall madvr. Now I'm getting patches in the madTPG window.

And now it's bedtime.

BR Gerard ;-)

PANASONIC TX-58AX800E ULTRA HD 4K LED TV
i1 Display Pro, CalMAN Control
YAMAHA RX-A2040 9.2 DOLBY ATMOS Networked Receiver
ROTEL RB-1572 Ext AMP
DALI MENTOR 6 FRONTS, DALI IKON VOCAL 2 CENTER, DALI IKON ON-WALL REAR
MPC-HC+MadVR 3DLUT calibrated with DispcalGUI.
Evanesco is offline  
post #2975 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
-Hitman-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 712
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
No, I'm not an eeColor owner. The only real issue back then as far as I can see from the archived mails was that one time, the 3D LUT wasn't uploaded to the eeColor completely.


No it was before that minor issue, you said - quote : "so unless an updated collink is available which fixes the eeColor scaling issue".


I'll dig out the emails and send you them via email tomorrow.


Thanks.
-Hitman- is offline  
post #2976 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
I'll dig out the emails and send you them via email tomorrow.
Not necessary, I have them all archived.
fhoech is offline  
post #2977 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Using dispcalGUI 2901, argyll CMS 17b, madVR latest.

When I ran a calibration or profile the background color of madTPG set at 0, would always default back to about 57%.
Re-installed argyll 1.6.3 and 1.7 beta from last may, then the background stayed at 0%.

Also using argyll 1.7b, in my log file I would see error1 dispread or dispwin. One of those two.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #2978 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 05:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Using dispcalGUI 2901, argyll CMS 17b, madVR latest.

When I ran a calibration or profile the background color of madTPG set at 0, would always default back to about 57%.
Re-installed argyll 1.6.3 and 1.7 beta from last may, then the background stayed at 0%.
Confirmed, I need to make a small update to DCG so it works correctly with the current Argyll 1.7b. The update will be available in the next days, until then, please use the older Argyll CMS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Also using argyll 1.7b, in my log file I would see error1 dispread or dispwin. One of those two.
Can you attach the logfile? Thanks.
fhoech is offline  
post #2979 of 3867 Old 03-19-2015, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,215
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 478
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Confirmed, I need to make a small update to DCG so it works correctly with the current Argyll 1.7b. The update will be available in the next days, until then, please use the older Argyll CMS.


Can you attach the logfile? Thanks.
Here is the log file.

Thanks.

ss

I installed the 3DLUT into my eecolor, results are not good after running a 493 measurement report.
Avg dE 1.78, high 4.31
Attached Files
File Type: zip dispcalGUI.log 1.7b.zip (1.6 KB, 11 views)

Last edited by sillysally; 03-19-2015 at 07:59 PM.
sillysally is offline  
post #2980 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 02:43 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Confirmed, I need to make a small update to DCG so it works correctly with the current Argyll 1.7b. The update will be available in the next days, until then, please use the older Argyll CMS.
By older you mean argyllCMS 1.6.3 + 1.7 beta binary files dated from 2014-05-21?
Just to be sure. I will test this new version of dispcalgui after work

HiFi:Nad C320BEE+Marantz CD-63 MkII-Ki Signature+Boston VR2+DIY cabling
HC:Onkyo TX-SR875+Boston VR2+CR8+VRC+Subwoofer MJ Acoustic Ref1 MKII
DISPLAYS:Panasonic P50ST50E/JVC DLA-X35 + HTPC (LAV+ffdshow+Avisynth+MPC-BE+MadVr)
SCREEN: Lumene Movie Palace Premium 240C + Dedicated room
Francois76l is offline  
post #2981 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 03:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
If you create a ZIP or 7Z archive of the profile folder, I can take a look.
fhoech,

Thank you for your help.

Last evening I did another session with DispcalGui (using your new beta version on installzero).

This time I prepared the session first:
- I reset "Cinema" mode on TV and set Contrast=54 and Brigthness=100 (I need this to ensure calibration controls work, otherwise they don't work as they supposed to);
- Did a new calibration with Chromapure using only 2-Point controls (Low=IRE20 and High=IRE100). I first profiled the i1D3 using my I1Pro;
- On DispcalGui:
- Created a "Colorimeter correction" with my i1Pro for the i1D3;
- Set the Whitepoint with the Chromacity coordinates x0.3127 and y0.329;
- Set Tone Curve for "Rec.1886";
- Used 6489 patches as the Testchart;

I noticed after +/-30 min of the process started that I got an error "inverting Jacobian failed (3) - falling back". I tried to search on google but found nothing meaningful.

This morning I tested the result and I found the same artefacts. This time I took a screenshot:


I created a Measurement Report too and the results were not very good:LINK

The Zip folder of the project is HERE if you can have a look and let me know what can I do to improve this results.

Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screen1.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	149.6 KB
ID:	613985  
Pepelegal is offline  
post #2982 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelegal View Post
The Zip folder of the project is HERE if you can have a look and let me know what can I do to improve this results.
Calibration and tone response don't look right:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Calibration curves madVR 2015-03-20 0.3127x 0.329y Rec. 1886 M-S XYZLUT.png
Views:	58
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	614017 Click image for larger version

Name:	Tone response curves madVR 2015-03-20 0.3127x 0.329y Rec. 1886 M-S XYZLUT.png
Views:	51
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	614025

Profile self check also seems to indicate there's something off:

Code:
Profile check complete, peak err = 23.750742, avg err = 1.473592, RMS = 2.667376
(Peak should be < 5, avg < 1)

Is this a plasma? If so, make sure to use white level drift compensation and "Refresh" measurement mode (also, you can usually skip calibration i.e. set calibration tone curve to "as measured").
Pepelegal likes this.

Last edited by fhoech; 03-20-2015 at 06:01 AM.
fhoech is offline  
post #2983 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois76l View Post
By older you mean argyllCMS 1.6.3 + 1.7 beta binary files dated from 2014-05-21?
Only if you need the black background (i.e. for plasma), although there is also an issue with the patch size not sticking if it's not already the desired size when madTPG is launched.
fhoech is offline  
post #2984 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 06:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Calibration and tone response don't look right:
Attachment 614017 Attachment 614025

Is this a plasma? If so, make sure to use white level drift compensation and "Refresh" measurement mode.
This is an OLED. I usually with calibration SW use it like an LCD.

But I will do another session with those options enabled.

Thank you for your help.
Pepelegal is offline  
post #2985 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post
Here is the log file.
Seems like it's the wrong file, as it contains no measurement progress and the other usual things.
fhoech is offline  
post #2986 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois76l View Post
By older you mean argyllCMS 1.6.3 + 1.7 beta binary files dated from 2014-05-21?
Only if you need the black background (i.e. for plasma), although there is also an issue with the patch size not sticking if it's not already the desired size when madTPG is launched.
Not clear for me sorry...
For a projector (fullscreen patch size) I can use the last beta version or should I downgrade to Argyll 1.6.3 + 1.7 beta binary files dated from 2014-05-21?
Thanks
Francois76l is offline  
post #2987 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 06:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,858
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelegal View Post
This is an OLED. I usually with calibration SW use it like an LCD.

But I will do another session with those options enabled.

Thank you for your help.
I would also suggest starting with a smaller patch set, something like 1500, to test the workflow. After you get decent results from that then "go for the gold". It certainly looks like there were some severe misreads from your last run - you should use windowed patterns on OLED because they have brightness limiters like plasma.
Pepelegal likes this.
zoyd is online now  
post #2988 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Code:
Profile check complete, peak err = 23.750742, avg err = 1.473592, RMS = 2.667376
(Peak should be < 5, avg < 1)

...also, you can usually skip calibration i.e. set calibration tone curve to "as measured").
Do you think that peak error may be due to the calibration problem? I noted on the Measurement Report that 20% gray (r51,g51,b51) is way off for some reason...

If I understand you correctly that means I can use the TV greyscale calibration as it is (done using manual calibration) and just create the 3D LUT on top of that for MadVR, am I right ?

Doesn't the calibration done by dispcal wouldn't be much better than what is possible to do using just the TV controls? wouldn't that be preferably ?

Thank you
Pepelegal is offline  
post #2989 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 07:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois76l View Post
Not clear for me sorry...
For a projector (fullscreen patch size) I can use the last beta version or should I downgrade to Argyll 1.6.3 + 1.7 beta binary files dated from 2014-05-21?
Thanks
DCG 2.9.0.2 beta is now live which should fix the madTPG issue aswell as saving 3D LUTs in non-madVR format now correctly remembers the chosen location the next time. These are the only two changes from 2.9.0.1.
fhoech is offline  
post #2990 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelegal View Post
Do you think that peak error may be due to the calibration problem?
It certainly looks like it's influenced by that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelegal View Post
If I understand you correctly that means I can use the TV greyscale calibration as it is (done using manual calibration) and just create the 3D LUT on top of that for MadVR, am I right ?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelegal View Post
Doesn't the calibration done by dispcal wouldn't be much better than what is possible to do using just the TV controls? wouldn't that be preferably ?
In theory yes, in practice the 3D LUT often does the job nicely regardless if 1D LUT calibration was used or not.
Pepelegal likes this.
fhoech is offline  
post #2991 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 16
ok fhoech, thanks

HiFi:Nad C320BEE+Marantz CD-63 MkII-Ki Signature+Boston VR2+DIY cabling
HC:Onkyo TX-SR875+Boston VR2+CR8+VRC+Subwoofer MJ Acoustic Ref1 MKII
DISPLAYS:Panasonic P50ST50E/JVC DLA-X35 + HTPC (LAV+ffdshow+Avisynth+MPC-BE+MadVr)
SCREEN: Lumene Movie Palace Premium 240C + Dedicated room
Francois76l is offline  
post #2992 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 08:23 AM
Member
 
Kukulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
It certainly looks like there were some severe misreads from your last run - you should use windowed patterns on OLED because they have brightness limiters like plasma.
Hi guys, about Pepelegal issue, please note that the LG Oleds have a brightness limiter that strongly kicks in as soon as the TV "sees" a fix geometry pattern for a long time period.

This is an issue experienced by ChadB and described in its first review of an LG Oled. I can remember that he found it pretty annoying even for a calibration. I fear that without any trick for sidestepping it, this limiter can severely compromise any attempt to make a good profile.

So my first idea is trying the "as measured" tone curve, and let's say, 500 patches. White drift compensation may not help, because that limiter probably acts rapidly and between very few patches.
Kukulcan is offline  
post #2993 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 08:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I found it difficulty to use a window size on MadTPG.

Each time I set the internal area to (for example) 15%, DispCal patches always change it and use 100% FullScreen...

Is there any setting to change this inside Dispcal ?

Thanks
Pepelegal is offline  
post #2994 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kukulcan View Post
Hi guys, about Pepelegal issue, please note that the LG Oleds have a brightness limiter that strongly kicks in as soon as the TV "sees" a fix geometry pattern for a long time period.

This is an issue experienced by ChadB and described in its first review of an LG Oled. I can remember that he found it pretty annoying even for a calibration. I fear that without any trick for sidestepping it, this limiter can severely compromise any attempt to make a good profile.

So my first idea is trying the "as measured" tone curve, and let's say, 500 patches. White drift compensation may not help, because that limiter probably acts rapidly and between very few patches.
I remember Chad mentioned that but I would assume that a change in color patch would deny the ABL...

I'm not noticing ABL kicking in for what I see..only when I let the same pattern on for some time.
Pepelegal is offline  
post #2995 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelegal View Post
I found it difficulty to use a window size on MadTPG.

Each time I set the internal area to (for example) 15%, DispCal patches always change it and use 100% FullScreen...

Is there any setting to change this inside Dispcal ?
If you adjust patch size before the countdown reaches zero, all should be fine.
fhoech is offline  
post #2996 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
If you adjust patch size before the countdown reaches zero, all should be fine.
Well.. I was able to Pause and set the window to 15% and it works for some time, but then when a new set of patches start, it turns to fullscreen again.

I suppose it would be nice to have some knob to choose between using full fields or a window size on dispcal or at least to let use the user's window setting on madTPG.

Btw, "refresh" mode and turning on white compensation did not work...I did a quick test and the same problem happened

I'm currently creating just the 3DLUT using tone curve "as measure" and see if it works.
Pepelegal is offline  
post #2997 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 09:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,858
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
If you adjust patch size before the countdown reaches zero, all should be fine.
For me using 2.9.0.2 the madVR window size stays where I want it but the background switches to 50% regardless of the setting. I know ArgyllCMS has 50% hardwired unless you use the -F switch, I get around this in HCFR by exposing these settings to the user via the madVR api.

Did a quick test of the PCS->device profiling and LUT mapping flow and it worked well. The amount of time in colprof was ~doubled but collink was super fast. Measured results were very close to the normal flow.

Last edited by zoyd; 03-20-2015 at 09:30 AM.
zoyd is online now  
post #2998 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
For me using 2.9.0.2 the madVR window size stays where I want it but the background switches to 50% regardless of the setting. I know ArgyllCMS has 50% hardwired unless you use the -F switch, I get around this in HCFR by exposing these settings to the user via the madVR api.

Did a quick test of the PCS->device profiling and LUT mapping flow and it worked well. The amount of time in colprof was ~doubled but collink was super fast. Measured results were very close to the normal flow.
Interesting...I'm able to set background to 100% black (APL linear gama) and it retains the setting but window size turns to full screen each time a set of patches begin. I have to Pause and set the size of the window to 15% each time ...

Edit: btw I'm using also 2.9.0.2
Pepelegal is offline  
post #2999 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 637
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pepelegal
Well.. I was able to Pause and set the window to 15% and it works for some time, but then when a new set of patches start, it turns to fullscreen again.
Which exact version of DCG, Argyll and madVR are you using?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
For me using 2.9.0.2 the madVR window size stays where I want it but the background switches to 50% regardless of the setting. I know ArgyllCMS has 50% hardwired unless you use the -F switch, I get around this in HCFR by exposing these settings to the user via the madVR api.
As soon as Argyll's dispcal/dispread takes over, there's nothing that I can influence anymore. So the way it works currently is DCG grabs patch area size and background level % off of madTPG using the madVR_GetPatternConfig() API, and uses that to set the -P parameter for the Argyll tools and adds the -F switch (black background) if the background level is zero.
fhoech is offline  
post #3000 of 3867 Old 03-20-2015, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,858
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 824
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
As soon as Argyll's dispcal/dispread takes over, there's nothing that I can influence anymore. So the way it works currently is DCG grabs patch area size and background level % off of madTPG using the madVR_GetPatternConfig() API, and uses that to set the -P parameter for the Argyll tools and adds the -F switch (black background) if the background level is zero.
ok right, you don't have control of it at that point. So we should request that Graeme change ArgyllCMS to keep the background level as set by the user.
zoyd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off