MadVR - ArgyllCMS - Page 122 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 261Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3631 of 3648 Old 05-22-2015, 07:31 PM
Member
 
LucaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
It's probably more straightforward to just use the "3D LUT for madVR" preset. Adjust the patch amount on the "Profiling" tab with the slider to around 2000 patches to get a similar patch count as used in the first post if you want.
Thanks a lot for the rapid answer.

Should I use the 32bit version of everything? (Argyll, MadVr, MPC-HC)
LucaT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3632 of 3648 Old 05-22-2015, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucaT View Post
Thanks a lot for the rapid answer.
I'm about to go to bed

Quote:
Originally Posted by LucaT View Post
Should I use the 32bit version of everything? (Argyll, MadVr, MPC-HC)
Doesn't matter anymore I think.

DCG (dispcalGUI) - Graphical front-end for Argyll CMS display calibration and characterization
Current stable version 3.0
Current development snapshot: 3.0.0.4 Beta | Changelog
fhoech is offline  
post #3633 of 3648 Old 05-22-2015, 07:36 PM
Member
 
LucaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
I'm about to go to bed


Doesn't matter anymore I think.
Me too!

Last question please

Do I find the preset into "setting" on the top of DispcalGUI?

Thanks, good night
LucaT is offline  
post #3634 of 3648 Old 05-22-2015, 07:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by LucaT View Post
Do I find the preset into "setting" on the top of DispcalGUI?
Yes.

DCG (dispcalGUI) - Graphical front-end for Argyll CMS display calibration and characterization
Current stable version 3.0
Current development snapshot: 3.0.0.4 Beta | Changelog
fhoech is offline  
post #3635 of 3648 Old 05-22-2015, 07:40 PM
Member
 
LucaT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
Yes.
Thanks

I will try .... But tomorrow

Have a good night and thanks again
LucaT is offline  
post #3636 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 12:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,572
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
The eecolor output is 12 bit regardless of input. (If display accepts it)
Ah thanks - good to know! I was told (a looooong time ago) that the output bitdepth was always the same as the input bitdepth. It seems they've updated their firmware. Or else, maybe I was told incorrectly. Either way, doesn't matter...

FWIW, my JVC X3 isn't half as smooth in dithered 10bit mode compared to dithered 8bit mode. But well, this will differ from display to display.
madshi is offline  
post #3637 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 01:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 2,720
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 679
Hi Madshi, It was my fault, eeColor will output 12bit if you feed it with 8bit signal.

There not available any firmware update for eeColor from it's initial release since now.

I found the error at my post below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by madshi

Quote: Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD

eeColor features 16bit internal signal processing and it uses different 6 memories of Correction LUT in 10bit per color (30bit in total) resolution, after that it outputs the same bits as is taking at the input.
If you send eeColor 12bit per color signal then at the output you will get 12 bit per color (36bit in total)


Interesting - thanks! For comparison, madVR uses 16bit per color (48bit in total) LUTs.

So if I feed 8bit (per color) to the eeColor, the output is also 8bit? Hopefully it is dithered down from the internal 16bit processing bitdepth?


If you send YCbCr 4:4:4 with 8bit per color, inside the eeColor is converted to RGB for internal processing and for appyling your selected memory LUT and then it's converted to YCbCr 4:4:4 with 8bit per color for the output.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is online now  
post #3638 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 02:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,572
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 210
Thanks Ted. To be honest, I didn't remember from where I had the information. But it's good to have it corrected now.
ConnecTEDDD likes this.
madshi is offline  
post #3639 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 03:18 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Dear all,
I'm going to test the last dispcalgui V3.0.0 + Final ArgyllCMS V1.7 on my JVC x35 (ie RS46).
Generally I profile my JVC with approximately 2050 patches with auto testchart.
I usually run the 1D-LUT calibration before profiling.
What do you suggest? Increase the number of patches and disable the 1D-LUT calibration (response curve set to "As measured") or keep my previous settings?
thanks for your advices!
++

HiFi:Nad C320BEE+Marantz CD-63 MkII-Ki Signature+Boston VR2+DIY cabling
HC:Onkyo TX-SR875+Boston VR2+CR8+VRC+Subwoofer MJ Acoustic Ref1 MKII
DISPLAYS:Panasonic P50ST50E/JVC DLA-X35 + HTPC (LAV+ffdshow+Avisynth+MPC-BE+MadVr)
SCREEN: Lumene Movie Palace Premium 240C + Dedicated room
Francois76l is offline  
post #3640 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 03:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,573
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 788 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by |Tch0rT| View Post
Has anyone compared the eeColor 3DLUT box to madVR 3DLUT? I've thought about getting an eeColor 3DLUT box just so I can run all my other sources (video game consoles and gaming rig) through it. I don't think I can run that stuff through my HTPC...
I've done a couple of comparisons and they are identical as far as I can tell visually. The two measurement runs I did comparing the residual color errors gave a very slight edge to madVR on my display.

Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Ah thanks - good to know! I was told (a looooong time ago) that the output bitdepth was always the same as the input bitdepth. It seems they've updated their firmware. Or else, maybe I was told incorrectly. Either way, doesn't matter...

FWIW, my JVC X3 isn't half as smooth in dithered 10bit mode compared to dithered 8bit mode. But well, this will differ from display to display.
I see that too from the Lumagen, 8bit dithering smooths out some quantization errors while 10bit does not.
|Tch0rT| and all clear like this.
zoyd is online now  
post #3641 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 04:06 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Zoyd I would really appreciate your advice concerning the 1D-Lut calibration
I've just tuned my 6500K and I'm ready to start the process
Thanks

HiFi:Nad C320BEE+Marantz CD-63 MkII-Ki Signature+Boston VR2+DIY cabling
HC:Onkyo TX-SR875+Boston VR2+CR8+VRC+Subwoofer MJ Acoustic Ref1 MKII
DISPLAYS:Panasonic P50ST50E/JVC DLA-X35 + HTPC (LAV+ffdshow+Avisynth+MPC-BE+MadVr)
SCREEN: Lumene Movie Palace Premium 240C + Dedicated room
Francois76l is offline  
post #3642 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,573
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 788 Post(s)
Liked: 698
zoyd is online now  
post #3643 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 04:47 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Embed calibration curve in profile?

HiFi:Nad C320BEE+Marantz CD-63 MkII-Ki Signature+Boston VR2+DIY cabling
HC:Onkyo TX-SR875+Boston VR2+CR8+VRC+Subwoofer MJ Acoustic Ref1 MKII
DISPLAYS:Panasonic P50ST50E/JVC DLA-X35 + HTPC (LAV+ffdshow+Avisynth+MPC-BE+MadVr)
SCREEN: Lumene Movie Palace Premium 240C + Dedicated room
Francois76l is offline  
post #3644 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 04:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francois76l View Post
Embed calibration curve in profile?
Use linear + embed, that way madVR will be able to set correct videoLUT state during playback.

DCG (dispcalGUI) - Graphical front-end for Argyll CMS display calibration and characterization
Current stable version 3.0
Current development snapshot: 3.0.0.4 Beta | Changelog
fhoech is offline  
post #3645 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 04:58 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thank you so much for all your precious advises! Really appreciate! I did as you said and I increased the number of patches (more than 4000)
See you in 4 hours ;-)
Francois76l is offline  
post #3646 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Francois76l's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Calibration process finish.
The result without 1D-LUT calibration is not as good as with 1D-LUT calibration.
average dE: 0.42 max : 3.2!
Befor my max was 2.3

The 6500K is less accurate between 0 - 30IRE (6924K @ 10ire, 6700K @ 30 ire and 6500K below 30ire).

The blinking 16-18 bars are still invisible (totally blacks) but I know that the i1d3 is responsible for that (not enought accurate to read the blacks of the JVC).

For the moment I keep the result since the last 3D-LUT is 100hours old now

Thanks again for your help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tone response curves X35_madVR 2015-05-23  (absolute) S XYZLUT.png
Views:	19
Size:	17.5 KB
ID:	732138  
Attached Files
File Type: zip x35_23052015.zip (3.8 KB, 1 views)

HiFi:Nad C320BEE+Marantz CD-63 MkII-Ki Signature+Boston VR2+DIY cabling
HC:Onkyo TX-SR875+Boston VR2+CR8+VRC+Subwoofer MJ Acoustic Ref1 MKII
DISPLAYS:Panasonic P50ST50E/JVC DLA-X35 + HTPC (LAV+ffdshow+Avisynth+MPC-BE+MadVr)
SCREEN: Lumene Movie Palace Premium 240C + Dedicated room
Francois76l is offline  
post #3647 of 3648 Old Yesterday, 10:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sillysally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,036
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post

I see that too from the Lumagen, 8bit dithering smooths out some quantization errors while 10bit does not.
zoyd, I am sure you are correct in what you are saying, I am just tiring to point out there may be exceptions.

By definition. Dithering is the attempt by a computer program to approximate a color from a mixture of other colors when the required color is not available. For example, dithering occurs when a color is specified for a Web page that a browser on a particular operating system can't support.

What I am seeing (in the early stages of profiling and experimentation) on a new LG 2015 4K 65EG9600 OLED, 10 bit or higher seems to help the overall smoothness of the up converted 1080p or lower image.

ss
sillysally is offline  
post #3648 of 3648 Old Today, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,573
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 788 Post(s)
Liked: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillysally View Post

By definition. Dithering is the attempt by a computer program to approximate a color from a mixture of other colors when the required color is not available. For example, dithering occurs when a color is specified for a Web page that a browser on a particular operating system can't support.
This is true of devices that can't reproduce all triplets directly, they fudge it via dithering algorithms. That's different than a device like the lumagen which can reproduce any input triplet. The lumagen dithers to cover up possible quantization errors, not to fill in missing colors. With 8 bit source dithering in 10 bit precision doesn't have much effect, the noise level is too low, whereas dithering with 8 bit precision will randomize some of the errors.
zoyd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off