MadVR - ArgyllCMS - Page 124 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 275Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3691 of 3699 Old Yesterday, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masharak View Post
I made a 3DLUT using 8bit depth setting in nVidia CP and 8bit depth setting in madVR, but later found out that my TV supports 12bit depth setting via nVidia CP. madVR was set to use 10bit+ setting when 12bit depth setting was activated in nVidia CP. Should another 3DLUT be made using 12bit depth setting if one wishes to view films using that 12bit depth setting? Or would previous 3DLUT, made with 8bit depth setting in nVidia CP and 8bit depth setting in madVR, would be just as good/accurate/smooth for playback using 12bit depth setting in nVidia CP and 10bit+ depth setting in madVR?

If another 3DLUT should be made using 12bit depth setting, then I assume madVR should be set to 10bit+ depth during profiling/calibration and dithering should be set to Ordered Dithering.., correct?
and you need to run madTPG in fullscreen exclusive to get 10 bit to the gpu driver.

and yes the old 3d LUT should be totally fine.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3692 of 3699 Old Yesterday, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ah! Thanks! So it is safe to assume that even when 12bit depth is selected in nVidia CP, only 255 grayscale levels can be calibrated? I thought with 8bit display, only 255 levels can be adjusted, but with 12bit, there would be levels in-between the 0-255. I guess I was wrong and 255 levels is all that can be changed even for 12bit displays (at least on Windows OS with current videocards).
Masharak is offline  
post #3693 of 3699 Old Yesterday, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masharak View Post
Ah! Thanks! So it is safe to assume that even when 12bit depth is selected in nVidia CP, only 255 grayscale levels can be calibrated? I thought with 8bit display, only 255 levels can be adjusted, but with 12bit, there would be levels in-between the 0-255. I guess I was wrong and 255 levels is all that can be changed even for 12bit displays (at least on Windows OS with current videocards).
the results are dithered you can you use dither to show more than 256 steps that's the hole idea behind that.
nearly all displays support 12 bit input no display a normal human being can buy is 12 bit and 99.9 % of all display are not 10 bit either.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3694 of 3699 Old Yesterday, 02:34 PM
Member
 
BlueChris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Im confused... bottom line is better in nvidia cp to say 12bit or not?
BlueChris is offline  
post #3695 of 3699 Old Yesterday, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 487 Post(s)
Liked: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueChris View Post
Im confused... bottom line is better in nvidia cp to say 12bit or not?
there is no clear answer to this.

8 bit is for sure more save and it's known to work.
BlueChris likes this.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #3696 of 3699 Old Today, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 5,604
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 807 Post(s)
Liked: 711
@fhoech

When using these settings for a synthetic profile:



I'm getting a profile with a 2.2 gamma tone curve.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Rec1886_24.zip (525 Bytes, 0 views)
zoyd is online now  
post #3697 of 3699 Old Today, 09:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 575
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
@fhoech

When using these settings for a synthetic profile:



I'm getting a profile with a 2.2 gamma tone curve.
Good catch, thanks. When creating a synthetic profile with Rec. 1886 and black level of zero, the fallback gamma value of 2.2 was used instead of 2.4. As a workaround you can switch to custom gamma, or update to 3.0.0.5 beta.
anta1974 likes this.

DCG (dispcalGUI) - Graphical front-end for Argyll CMS display calibration and characterization
Current stable version 3.0
Current development snapshot: 3.0.0.5 Beta | Changelog
fhoech is online now  
post #3698 of 3699 Old Today, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
DrFaxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Thumbs up

Hello,

so I thought is was time to test the latest Argyll and DispCalGui versions. As always I'm really impressed by the results, but more on the new DispCalGui. It was really the first time I used it completely (hardcore command line user before ). The new workflow is really nothing but great. Everything is clear from the first step to the last and runs flawless.

I'm really happy You integrated my suggestion of the meter profile overview at the end of a colorimeter correction creation. This is so helpful as You see immediately if You have a good profile or not. Doing this by command line was always a little pita.

Congratulations und kudos to You and Your great work Florian and Graeme.
Donation will be sent to both of You.

Attached the meassurement report.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Measurement Report.pdf (437.5 KB, 17 views)
sillysally, 3ll3d00d and fhoech like this.
DrFaxe is online now  
post #3699 of 3699 Old Today, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
3ll3d00d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,203
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 616 Post(s)
Liked: 186
there's a slightly curious shape to my gamma curve after the latest run, the report can be found in https://www.dropbox.com/s/qey7nd511n...8-48.html?dl=0 and the pic from the report is attached

This is a jvc x3 with a fairly old bulb (~1200hrs) measured with an i1d3 (corrected by an i1pro) in a v dark but not batcave room. The PQ at the end looks outstanding to me tbh but the droop at the high and low end seems odd so curious if this is something to be corrected or is perhaps a measurement artefact or something else entirely? The shape at the low end looks like black output offset 0% rather than the 100% requested doesn't it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gamma.PNG
Views:	1
Size:	98.3 KB
ID:	743889  

Last edited by 3ll3d00d; Today at 02:38 PM.
3ll3d00d is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off