MadVR - ArgyllCMS - Page 49 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 160Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2014, 01:03 PM
Member
 
MSL_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Isn't this the right settings using dispcalGUI 1.7.1.6 Remembered madshi mentioned to leave this setting alone when using argyllcms


Samsung UE46H7005/7000 - Dynaudio Focus 200 XD
MSL_DK is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2014, 05:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
|Tch0rT|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lower mid Michigan
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulkono View Post

You have to enable ICCv4 in your browser and other applications otherwise the colors in pictures will appear "inverted" due to the swapped matrix. For Chrome you have to launch with the "--enable-monitor-profile" flag and for Firefox you have to set "gfx.color_management.enablev4" to true and "gfx.color_management.mode" to 1.

I'm currently using the ICC profile generated by the steps in the first post. Only thing I did different was untick "Low quality B2A table".

Thanks but is there anyway to convert it to ICC version 2? Or do I lose something doing that? Am I correct in saying that it kinda doesn't matter for madVR use since the video players just override the ICC profile anyway and madVR applies the same stuff with the generated 3DLUTs?

My Home Theater/Video Gaming/HTPC/2 Channel rig (Mitsubishi, MartinLogan, Marantz, DIYMA, and others)

|Tch0rT| is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 08:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by |Tch0rT| View Post

Thanks but is there anyway to convert it to ICC version 2?

It's not clear where you got ICCV4 profiles from, because ArgyllCMS certainly didn't create them...
gwgill is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 09:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
|Tch0rT|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Lower mid Michigan
Posts: 683
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by gwgill View Post

It's not clear where you got ICCV4 profiles from, because ArgyllCMS certainly didn't create them...

Ah sorry I assumed it was ICCV4 since they do a similar thing to pictures in my browser and windows picture viewer as the ICCV4 profiles that X-Rite's software makes.

My Home Theater/Video Gaming/HTPC/2 Channel rig (Mitsubishi, MartinLogan, Marantz, DIYMA, and others)

|Tch0rT| is offline  
Old 01-20-2014, 10:22 PM
Member
 
paulkono's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah I meant ICCv2. If you tick "disable GPU gamma ramps" in madVR then it'll clear the videoLUT from the GPU. Then you can load the 3DLUT only, assuming you enabled BT.1866 gamma mapping when when created it.
paulkono is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 12:58 AM
Member
 
VerGreeneyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
madshi released a new version of madVR recently which adds various OpenCL-only features, including a new dithering method called error diffusion, not enabled by default. This method has a lower noise floor, so it might be interesting to try the test pattern generator included with 0.87.4 to see if it changes our calibration and profiling results smile.gifNote that OpenCL is broken in the most recent Nvidia drivers, so if you have an Nvidia card, you'll need to use driver version 327.23 or older. Hopefully this will be fixed or worked around soon.
VerGreeneyes is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 10:04 AM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by VerGreeneyes View Post

madshi released a new version of madVR recently which adds various OpenCL-only features, including a new dithering method called error diffusion, not enabled by default. This method has a lower noise floor, so it might be interesting to try the test pattern generator included with 0.87.4 to see if it changes our calibration and profiling results smile.gifNote that OpenCL is broken in the most recent Nvidia drivers, so if you have an Nvidia card, you'll need to use driver version 327.23 or older. Hopefully this will be fixed or worked around soon.

LOL, I was about to post about the madVR update. Which nVidia drivers are you talking about? They just released 334.67 betas. How do I check to see if OpenCL is broken?
MonarchX is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 148

334.67 is known to be broken. the problem is reproduced by nvidia so maybe next update/beta.

mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 12:21 PM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Driver packages contain opencl32.dl_ , opencl64.dl_ , nvopencl.dl_ and nvopencl32.dl_ and . Those can extract actual .dll files using DOS command "expand -r filename.dl_" and be placed in nVidia drivers directory and Windows\System32 and Windows\SysWOW64 directory (on Windows 8.1). I will try to replace these files from an older package to see if it works. I've done similar stuff before and it worked.
MonarchX is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 12:47 PM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
EDIT: Please read the post below - you can and you should make OpenCL work with the latest drivers as they use updated OpenCL files, one of which simply needs to be slightly renamed to work properly with madVR.
MonarchX is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 12:52 PM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I figured it out even further - no need to replace any files. nVidia simply did not name their drivers properly! All you have to do is go into Windws\SysWOW64, find nvopencl.dll and rename it to nvopencl32.dll! I realized that when I extracted the same file from the 327 drivers and noticed that one was nvopencl32 and the other nvopencl.dll while the newer drivers were both nvopencl.dll. I hope this helps someone!

EDIT: original post had a typo (opendl32.dll instead of opencl32.dll). Rename nvopencl.dll to nvopencl32.dll in Windows\SysWOW64 directory. I promise it will not do anything bad and will, in fact, correct OpenCL rendering for madVR and other OpenCL applications. These type of naming errors happen all the time - they happened a lot with AMD drivers back when it was known as ATi. I would advise to use 334.67 drivers as they have much larger updated OpenCL.dll files comparing to 327.23 drivers.

madVR works flawlessly now and I can tell that video fidelity has improved over the previous 86 version. I saw the change log and it appears quite a few things were not properly rendered in those older versions. It sure makes a difference. I'm about to re-measure grayscale and color gamut of my 3DLUT using OpenCL dithering to see I need to make another 3DLUT!
MonarchX is offline  
Old 01-28-2014, 09:58 PM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I checked my calibration using new dithering technique and found no difference, which is more of good news than bad news. I do not know if it is a placebo effect, but new madVR seems to to render content much better - colors seem more vibrant for some reason.
MonarchX is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 450 Post(s)
Liked: 148

this change a top there just breaks opencl, so madvr isn't even trying to use it anymore, so no black screen but no opencl too just broken opencl plz make sure didn't try this anymore thanks.

 

reproduce in doom9 madvr thread.

mightyhuhn is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 08:03 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89

 

As mightyhuhn already stated, this fix actually does nothing.

 

James Freeman is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 09:11 AM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post

this change a top there just breaks opencl, so madvr isn't even trying to use it anymore, so no black screen but no opencl too just broken opencl plz make sure didn't try this anymore thanks.

reproduce in doom9 madvr thread.

How do you know that? Anyway, at least I tried to do something and help... It did seem like it worked since green screen went away.

How does madVR look for the .dll files? Previous working OpenCL drivers used nvopencl32.dll for SysWOW64 directory and the new broken-OpenCL drivers use nvopencl.dll for the same directory - how does madVR know which files to use? Does it use the .dll file from system32 directory or SysWOW64 directory?

OK, I will try another fix I thought of earlier - using working-OpenCL 327 drivers to extract nvopencl32.dll (for SysWOW64 folder) and nvopencl.dll (for system32 folder), but renaming nvopencl32.dll in SysWOW64 folder to nvopencl.dll since madVR and new drivers specifically use look for that exact .dll name for OpenCL functions.

I'll try it and get back, but I would appreciate if someone were to tell me how to verify if it worked. Doom9 forums have been down lately... (for me at least).
MonarchX is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by MonarchX View Post


How do you know that?

Tested by many @ doom9.org.

 

No increase of CPU/GPU usage at all.

NNEDI3 functions do not work at all (although do not freeze/black screen).

 

It just bypasses OpenCL completely, hence not apparent side effects.

The dithering you see is just normal random dithering with openCL bypassed although looks like OpenCL error diffusion is activated... Its not.

James Freeman is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 09:29 AM
 
MonarchX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post

Tested by many @ doom9.org.

No increase of CPU/GPU usage at all.
NNEDI3 functions do not work at all (although do not freeze/black screen).

It just bypasses OpenCL completely, hence not apparent side effects.
The dithering you see is just normal random dithering with openCL bypassed although looks like OpenCL error diffusion is activated... Its not.

Ah...OK, sorry - I will try the other method I explained in my edited reply above. Could you please link me to the thread discussed?
MonarchX is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 09:37 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89

This is the Official (the one and only) thread:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=146228

James Freeman is offline  
Old 01-30-2014, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
any help with the error below?

slosvt is offline  
Old 01-31-2014, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Go to menu options -> additional command line parameters and check if you have set the -E parameter for dispcal/dispread. If so, remove it.

DCG (dispcalGUI) - Graphical front-end for Argyll CMS display calibration and characterization
Current stable version 2.6
Current development snapshot 2.9.0.8 beta (2015-04-08) - via 0install or standalone
fhoech is online now  
Old 02-05-2014, 03:03 AM
Member
 
MSL_DK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post


*I will be updating the 1st post soon

Is there a chance for an update?

Samsung UE46H7005/7000 - Dynaudio Focus 200 XD
MSL_DK is online now  
Old 02-05-2014, 10:57 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSL_DK View Post

Is there a chance for an update?

Sorry, I haven't had time and will not have time until end of this month to work on updating this workflow.

Is there a specific step that you need instructions on? The workflow has not changed much since the last update except for the addition of profile verification with madTPG.

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
Old 02-06-2014, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89

There are combination of settings that give (me) a perfect picture *:

* No Elevated Blacks, No Black Dithering Noise, No blue whites, Perfect color, Perfect Gamma Curve.

 

 

 

 

I have tried all combinations of these:

 

2.2 Relative - Absolute Colometric  =  Blue Whites.

2.2 Relative - Absolute Colometric w/ White Pouint Scaling  =  Blue Whites, Extended Grayscale.

2.2 Relative - Absolute Appearance  =  Good (Colors/Gamut not perfect).

2.2 Relative - Relative Colometric  =  Elevated Blacks.

2.2 Relative - Luminance Matched Appearance  =  Perfect.

 

 

2.2 Absolute - Absolute Colometric  =  Blue Whites.

2.2 Absolute - Absolute Colometric w/ White Pouint Scaling  =  Blue Whites, Extended Grayscale.

2.2 Absolute - Absolute Appearance  =  Good (Colors/Gamut not perfect).

2.2 Absolute - Relative Colometric  =  Elevated Blacks.

2.2 Absolute - Luminance Matched Appearance = Blue Elevated Blacks...

 

 

If you guys have problems in MadVR with Dithering and noise in the blacks try the one setting.

Of course you can use any gamma you want (2.4) or Apply Calibration (I use windows so its always on).

 

Note that my calibration (Asus Gamma 2.2) is a pure power curve (Gama 2.2 Relative) with Black Offset 100%, Black Point Correction 0%, Profile is default Curves + Matrix.

 

I think you can calibrate to MadVR preset, BT.1886 & LUT Profile, I don't think it matters.

 

I do not use MadVR for calibration or the BT.1886 setting in argyllCMS, I found that the standard Gamma 2.2 Relative gives me the most pleasing and balanced results for my monitors without extra hassle (these settings are standard for a reason).

 

Try and tell me what you think.

James Freeman is offline  
Old 02-07-2014, 01:36 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89

Double post... but things are going slow lately anyway.

 

 

I want to use the "Measurement Report" in DispCalGUI with MadvrTPG...there are few disabilities so that I can't get the results I expect,

My goal is to compare the MadVR 3DLUT or yCMS with the Rec.709 color space, THATS IT.

 

Is there a simple way to use MadvrTPG to show the colors with the already set Calibration parameters in MadVR settings?

For example: I want to compare the yCMS LUT I have created with rec.709 color space... Just the color space (Gamut)... But I CAN'T.

 

Thanks.

James Freeman is offline  
Old 02-07-2014, 03:15 AM
Newbie
 
andreamusso.am's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

excuse my English , I write with the translator of google and also are just starting out, so bear with me for the very basic questions :
- I have a matrix of Zoyd for HCFR format . Thc ( which fits well to fill in cmmx files for madVR , I downloaded a matrix from the link already reported by Zoyd same , but the values ​​of the matrix. Thc , ​​leaving them devoconsiderare from top left to continue with the next to the right, or from the first birth at the top left and then go down again to the left , and so on ? ( I am attaching the representation of the matrix. thc )

- Reading the parameter ' -E ' Usage Scenarios, I do not understand , where do I find the above parameter , since my TV does not seem to accept the 0/ 255 (the TV is an LCD lamps Samsung C650 ) . I say that does not seem to accept the 0/255 because according to the guide word for word , to the extent that I have to create the 3D LUT , boxes and input ouput , I appear 16/235 .

- I currently have a Nvidia GTX 460 GPU , which should not be able to process it all with madVR ( use JRiver as a player set to Red October HD) , but the video shows no one shot, then I think that I see that the video is not rendered full with madVR , even if the opening, icon appear that precisely madVR is in operation. Where am I doing wrong ?

Sorry again and thank you infinitely in advance for your kind answers.



Cattura.PNG 49k .PNG file
Attached Images
File Type: png Cattura.PNG (49.3 KB, 35 views)
andreamusso.am is offline  
Old 02-07-2014, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89

Well that does it...

 

I can't generate a MadVR 3DLUT that doesn't change my perfectly good calibration curve.

All that I've tried enforces me to use BT.1886 which I DON'T WANT !!!

 

I just want a gamut correction to rec.709 and leave my calibration (greyscale) alone.

Graeme, Florian, why is it still not possible?

James Freeman is offline  
Old 02-07-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
Kukulcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Italy
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Freeman View Post


I just want a gamut correction to rec.709 and leave my calibration (greyscale) alone.

1) Install the last updates of Argyll and dispcalGUI
2) Choose madvr settings in dispcalGUI
3) switch tone curve to gamma and select 2.2
4) flag black point compensation (even though I can't see its effect in the log file)
5) generate the 3dlut as suggested in the guide and with apply BT1886 flagged but select 2.2
6) enjoy your pure gamma curve.
Kukulcan is offline  
Old 02-07-2014, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kukulcan View Post

1) Install the last updates of Argyll and dispcalGUI
2) Choose madvr settings in dispcalGUI
3) switch tone curve to gamma and select 2.2
4) flag black point compensation (even though I can't see its effect in the log file)
5) generate the 3dlut as suggested in the guide and with apply BT1886 flagged but select 2.2
6) enjoy your pure gamma curve.

This method will not generate a pure 2.2 power gamma curved 3DLUT. The resulting 3DLUT will still be generated with a BT.1886 curve but with either an absolute or relative 2.2 gamma depending on the option you choose. AFAIK, there is currently no way to generate a pure power 2.2 gamma curved 3DLUT with ArgyllCMS that will work correctly with MadVR.

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
Old 02-07-2014, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89

Kukulcan,

 

I already have a perfectly good calibration+profile ICM with Gamma 2.2 Relative.

I now need to convert it to 3DLUT without changing the Gamma curve only the Colors.

 

Thank you, but it does not work. It still changes the gamma curve to some extent.

Turning off BT.1886 raises the gamma to extreme, making it super bright (as expected from the REC.709 profile).

On the other hand, when selecting BT.1886 2.4, the gamma is correct at the shadows but darkened at the middle.

There is no option to leave calibration as is.

 

When I load the 3DLUT into MadVR I see Gamma & Color change, I want to see ONLY Color change.

James Freeman is offline  
Old 02-07-2014, 10:19 AM
Senior Member
 
James Freeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3W813 View Post


This method will not generate a pure 2.2 power gamma curved 3DLUT. The resulting 3DLUT will still be generated with a BT.1886 curve but with either an absolute or relative 2.2 gamma depending on the option you choose. AFAIK, there is currently no way to generate a pure power 2.2 gamma curved 3DLUT with ArgyllCMS that will work correctly with MadVR.

Thank you,

 

FWIW I don't want a "pure" gamma curve, I want MY gamma curve from the calibration I already did (carefully tweaking the Black Offset & Rate).

 

Meantime solution I use:  BT.1886 2.4 & lower the gamma to 2.05 in MadVR.

James Freeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off