MadVR - ArgyllCMS - Page 78 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Display Devices > Display Calibration > MadVR - ArgyllCMS

Display Calibration

3ll3d00d's Avatar 3ll3d00d
06:05 AM Liked: 91
post #2311 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 693
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
you do and the effect is only for MadVR nothing else that why i ask how did you read that with chromapure?
fwiw I use jriver with ROHQ (madvr) for this with the chromapure pattern disc loaded into my library
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
07:47 AM Liked: 24
post #2312 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
@Holiday121: Don t know how to do a measurement report in Discal so I did not do that. Besides this, I trust Chromapure and want to see result in Chromapure (so I can see the result with and without using the 3Dlut file).
@mighthuhn: I understand the result can only be seen/read by Chromapure when using madVR and the created 3Dlut file. I used the beginning post/guide to create the 3Dlut file and loading the 3Dlut file in madVR. The 3Dlut file is loaded and used for sure because you can clearly see the difference in greyscale and gamma in my Chromapure reports (look at my previous post with images from Chromapure WITH and WITHOUT using the 3Dlut file in madVR). I m using the AVS709 test patterns by the way (the 'standalone' mp4 files which can be found here http://www.w6rz.net/avshd709/MP4-2c.exe
mightyhuhn's Avatar mightyhuhn
08:02 AM Liked: 124
post #2313 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 742
Joined: Nov 2013
ok did chromapure use the same correction you used to created the 3d lut?
and what about the brightness of 45 cm²?
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
08:12 AM Liked: 24
post #2314 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
ok did chromapure use the same correction you used to created the 3d lut?
Yes, 99% sure (I ll have to double check with 3ll3d00d who helped me creating the correction file for Dispcal)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
and what about the brightness of 45 cm²?
?? ?? What you mean with this
mightyhuhn's Avatar mightyhuhn
08:27 AM Liked: 124
post #2315 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 742
Joined: Nov 2013
45 cm² is shown in your first picture.

normally 120 cm² is the norm and 45 cm² is strange at least to me are you using a projector?
i'm never calibrated a projector but i don't think 45 cm² can be normal.
if i would calibrated a projector i would use MadTPG in fullscreen and make sure the room is dark like a deep cave.
if this isn't a projector 45 cm² can't be normal.

for testing use a smaller testchart no need to run 1000+
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
08:41 AM Liked: 24
post #2316 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
45 cm² is shown in your first picture.

normally 120 cm² is the norm and 45 cm² is strange at least to me are you using a projector?
i'm never calibrated a projector but i don't think 45 cm² can be normal.
if i would calibrated a projector i would use MadTPG in fullscreen and make sure the room is dark like a deep cave.
if this isn't a projector 45 cm² can't be normal.

for testing use a smaller testchart no need to run 1000+
ah, now I see what you mean. The reference light for a digital projector in a bat cave is 12-16fL (Foot Lambert). 45cm2 is approx 13fL so perfect for me (I have a complete dedicated pitch-black HT room). I use MadTPG in fullscreen as suggested in the guide in the first post of this thread.

What do I have to change in DispcalGUI in order to get not a FOUR! hour calibration! I will do a four hours calibration in the end but first I need to figure out what going wrong here and for this I will need to run test calibrations I think don t i? Hope you guys can help me on my way. Maybe I can start with NOT using the created correction file to see if this changes anything? I have a feeling something must be wrong with the Dispcal settings. There are so many and I cannot imagine that all the settings I took from the first post (guide in this thread) are also applicable for my setup.

Maybe it is an idea to use the projectors basic (non calibrated) color and gamma settings to see where it goes from there?
mightyhuhn's Avatar mightyhuhn
08:43 AM Liked: 124
post #2317 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 742
Joined: Nov 2013
ok so a wrong positioned meter isn't the issue too.
can you do a fast non corrected calibration and have a look at that?
300 patches or something like that.
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
08:52 AM Liked: 24
post #2318 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
ok so a wrong positioned meter isn't the issue too.
can you do a fast non corrected calibration and have a look at that?
300 patches or something like that.
I ll do this tonight and report back at ya asap. Where do I fill in these patches? And with a non-corrected calibration you mean without the meter correction file that I (actually 3ll3d00d made this for me ) created?
mightyhuhn's Avatar mightyhuhn
09:04 AM Liked: 124
post #2319 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 742
Joined: Nov 2013
go to testchart file and chose "default testchart for lut profiles" this testchart has 271 patches.

my knowledge isn't high enough to look at the icm/cal file i'm sorry
-Hitman-'s Avatar -Hitman-
10:00 AM Liked: 66
post #2320 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 691
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
By "crash" I assume you get a "dispread.exe has stopped working" error dialog box from Windows?
Please run dispread manually from a command prompt with -D9 to get some diagnostic output.

Correct, i'll re-setup my sensors in a bit and report back, thanks!




Quote:
Originally Posted by 3ll3d00d View Post

OK so I have created the ccxx. I have a JVC D-ILA projector, this requires as DISPLAY_TYPE_REFRESH "YES" right?

Am I right in thinking the only thing left to do is add the extra command line options like the attached pic?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoyd View Post
No need to load it via the extra commandline box, the main UI has an option for selecting correction files.

With Regards to .ti3 and ccmx profiling files....


The appropriately labelled reference and colorimeter files (2 x .ti3) are these 2 files loaded in using Dispcal/tools "create colorimeter correction"?


And with regards to an already combined .ccmx file, can this be permanently loaded into dispcal using the "oeminst" command line and so does this then add the ccmx as a selectable option in the "instrument" select drop down list?
fhoech's Avatar fhoech
10:19 AM Liked: 50
post #2321 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 261
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
The appropriately labelled reference and colorimeter files (2 x .ti3) are these 2 files loaded in using Dispcal/tools "create colorimeter correction"?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
And with regards to an already combined .ccmx file, can this be permanently loaded into dispcal using the "oeminst" command line and so does this then add the ccmx as a selectable option in the "instrument" select drop down list?
It will automatically be selectable in dispcalGUI under "Correction" after it has been created, and is also available to dispcal/dispread/spotread directly (via the -y option).
-Hitman-'s Avatar -Hitman-
10:22 AM Liked: 66
post #2322 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 691
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
It will automatically be selectable in dispcalGUI under "Correction" after it has been created, and is also available to dispcal/dispread/spotread directly (via the -y option).
So it will be like this...


oeminst -y "name of file".ccmx
mightyhuhn's Avatar mightyhuhn
10:24 AM Liked: 124
post #2323 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 742
Joined: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
And with a non-corrected calibration you mean without the meter correction file that I (actually 3ll3d00d made this for me ) created?
yes
-Hitman-'s Avatar -Hitman-
11:24 AM Liked: 66
post #2324 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 691
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
By "crash" I assume you get a "dispread.exe has stopped working" error dialog box from Windows?
Please run dispread manually from a command prompt with -D9 to get some diagnostic output.

Please see attached dispread_log as requested.


Ty.
Attached: Dispread_log.txt (14.3 KB) 
fhoech's Avatar fhoech
11:37 AM Liked: 50
post #2325 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 261
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
oeminst -y "name of file".ccmx
There's no need to use oeminst.
fhoech's Avatar fhoech
11:39 AM Liked: 50
post #2326 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 261
Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
Please see attached dispread_log as requested.
I meant you should use the same commandline, but add -D9 (e.g. before all the other parameters).
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
11:43 AM Liked: 24
post #2327 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
go to testchart file and chose "default testchart for lut profiles" this testchart has 271 patches.

my knowledge isn't high enough to look at the icm/cal file i'm sorry
Running a profile&calibration with "default testchart for lut profiles" now but takes still so much time. Already running 90 minutes now........
Holiday121's Avatar Holiday121
11:45 AM Liked: 39
post #2328 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 1,737
Joined: Feb 2009
Can't u just run a profile?
sanderdvd's Avatar sanderdvd
12:01 PM Liked: 24
post #2329 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 2,206
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holiday121 View Post
Can't u just run a profile?
What is the difference between profile and profile&calibration? Do i only need Profile for making a 3Dlut for madVR?
-Hitman-'s Avatar -Hitman-
12:28 PM Liked: 66
post #2330 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 691
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
I meant you should use the same commandline, but add -D9 (e.g. before all the other parameters).


Yeah, sorry however I have the variables taken from the dispcal log (process of dispread) + -D9 as per below but does not run correctly...


So need some help please to execute a correct command line..


Quote:


C:\Argyll_V1.6.3\bin>dispread -D9 -v -dmadvr -c1 -yc -H -Iw -K "i1 Pro & madVR.cal" -s "i1 Pro & madVR"


Output....


MonitorEnumProc() called with hMonitor = 0x10001
MonitorEnumProc() set initial monitor info: 0,0 1920,1200 name '\\.\DISPLAY1'
MonitorEnumProc() called with hMonitor = 0x10003
MonitorEnumProc() set initial monitor info: 1920,0 1536,864 name '\\.\DISPLAY2'
get_displays about to get monitor information for 0
Mon 0, name '\\.\DISPLAY1\Monitor0'
Mon 0, string 'Dell 2407WFP (Analog)'
Mon 0, flags 0x3
Mon 0, id 'MONITOR\DELA016\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0003'
Mon 0, key '\Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4d36e96e-e
325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0003'
EnumDisplayDevices failed on '\\.\DISPLAY1' Mon = 1
get_displays added description 'DISPLAY1, at 0, 0, width 1920, height 1200 (Prim
ary Display)' to display 0
get_displays about to get monitor information for 1
Mon 0, name '\\.\DISPLAY2\Monitor0'
Mon 0, string 'Generic PnP Monitor'
Mon 0, flags 0x3
Mon 0, id 'MONITOR\ONK0891\{4d36e96e-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0004'
Mon 0, key '\Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Class\{4d36e96e-e
325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0004'
EnumDisplayDevices failed on '\\.\DISPLAY2' Mon = 1
get_displays added description 'DISPLAY2, at 1920, 0, width 1536, height 864' to
display 1
icoms_get_paths: called
hid_get_paths: called
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0099&col05#8&3dbedb1&0&0004#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 1 bu
t unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0099&col06#8&3dbedb1&0&0005#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 2 bu
t unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#vid_051d&pid_0002#6&6dcd398&0&0000#{4d1e5 5b2-f16f-11cf
-88cb-001111000030}', inst 3 but not one we're looking for
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0098&col01#9&31b28b77&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 4 b
ut unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0099&col01#8&3dbedb1&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 5 bu
t unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0098&col02#9&31b28b77&0&0001#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 6 b
ut unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0099&col07#8&3dbedb1&0&0006#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 7 bu
t unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0098&col03#9&31b28b77&0&0002#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 8 b
ut unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0099&col02#8&3dbedb1&0&0001#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 9 bu
t unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0099&col03#8&3dbedb1&0&0002#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 10 b
ut unable get PID and VID
found HID device '\\?\hid#{00001124-0000-1000-8000-00805f9b34fb}_vid&0002045e_pi
d&0099&col04#8&3dbedb1&0&0003#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}', inst 11 b
ut unable get PID and VID
icoms_get_paths: returning 0 paths and ICOM_OK
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0001'
usb_get_paths: turned on kernel debug messages
usb_get_paths: checking vid 0x0971, pid 0x2000
set ep ad 0x1 packetsize 64 type 2
set ep ad 0x82 packetsize 64 type 2
set ep ad 0x3 packetsize 32 type 2
set ep ad 0x84 packetsize 8 type 3
usb_get_paths: found instrument vid 0x0971, pid 0x2000
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0002'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0003'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0004'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0005'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0006'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0007'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0008'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0009'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0010'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0011'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0012'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0013'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0014'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0015'
usb_get_paths opening device '\\.\libusb0-0016'
icoms_get_paths: got 1 paths, looking up the registry for serial ports
icoms_get_paths: looking through FTDI ports
icoms_get_paths: looking through 'VID_0403+PID_6010+5&36488fa&0&12&1'
icoms_get_paths: got FTDI port 'COM8'
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: looking through 'VID_0403+PID_6010+5&36488fa&0&12&2'
icoms_get_paths: got FTDI port 'COM9'
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: looking through 'VID_0403+PID_6010+5&36488fa&0&3&1'
icoms_get_paths: got FTDI port 'COM10'
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: looking through 'VID_0403+PID_6010+5&36488fa&0&3&2'
icoms_get_paths: got FTDI port 'COM11'
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: looking through 'VID_0403+PID_6010+6&2cd789d4&0&3&1'
icoms_get_paths: got FTDI port 'COM6'
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: looking through 'VID_0403+PID_6010+6&2cd789d4&0&3&2'
icoms_get_paths: got FTDI port 'COM7'
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: looking through all the values in the SERIALCOMM key
icoms_get_paths: Added path 'COM5' fast 0
icoms_get_paths: got ERROR_NO_MORE_ITEMS
icoms_get_paths: we now have 2 entries and are about to sort them
icoms_get_paths: returning 2 paths and ICOM_OK
dispread: Error - CGATS file read error : Unable to open file 'i1 Pro & madVR.ti
1' for reading
-Hitman-'s Avatar -Hitman-
12:33 PM Liked: 66
post #2331 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 691
Joined: Nov 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
There's no need to use oeminst.


Thanks, figured it out



Quote:
Originally Posted by fhoech View Post
also available to dispcal/dispread/spotread directly (via the -y option).

Could you please explain the -y variable implementation, eg. where does it get added in DispcalGUI and is it necessary if the ccmx profile has already been selected in "correction"?
dansrfe's Avatar dansrfe
01:07 PM Liked: 0
post #2332 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 2008
How big should the video area be approximately for a plasma TV, edge-lit LED, and full-array LED backlight TVs on madtpg? Thanks!
3ll3d00d's Avatar 3ll3d00d
01:52 PM Liked: 91
post #2333 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 693
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanderdvd View Post
I ll do this tonight and report back at ya asap. Where do I fill in these patches? And with a non-corrected calibration you mean without the meter correction file that I (actually 3ll3d00d made this for me ) created?
FWIW the advice I was given was for generating a 3D LUT was not to treat it as a normal calibration, instead it was briefly stated as

find the gamut that is the largest
set gamma to the most accurate but if it's non linear then use preset that makes it 2.1 rather than 2.3 at low end
do greyscale at 100percent stimulus only... leave bias at defaults, just adjust gains


i.e. get white right, give the LUT as much room to work in as possible and then leave it to it.

My attempts at generating a 3D LUT, also with a JVC projector albeit an X3, suggest that the end result is heavily influenced by the starting point, i.e. what state the projector is in. The ccxx differences were quite minor in comparison. Of course bear in mind that I still don't have a result I would call excellent so what do I know!?
Holiday121's Avatar Holiday121
02:07 PM Liked: 39
post #2334 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 1,737
Joined: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3ll3d00d View Post
FWIW the advice I was given was for generating a 3D LUT was not to treat it as a normal calibration, instead it was briefly stated as

find the gamut that is the largest
set gamma to the most accurate but if it's non linear then use preset that makes it 2.1 rather than 2.3 at low end
do greyscale at 100percent stimulus only... leave bias at defaults, just adjust gains


i.e. get white right, give the LUT as much room to work in as possible and then leave it to it.

My attempts at generating a 3D LUT, also with a JVC projector albeit an X3, suggest that the end result is heavily influenced by the starting point, i.e. what state the projector is in. The ccxx differences were quite minor in comparison. Of course bear in mind that I still don't have a result I would call excellent so what do I know!?

Interesting. Sounds like a learning curve in this as well it's just not follow the guide and get excellent results.

Have you tried calibrating your projector fully without the 3dlut? If so what were the results?

I just finished my JVC rs46.
I'm sure it's not dead perfect but pretty good for a beginner
3ll3d00d's Avatar 3ll3d00d
03:28 PM Liked: 91
post #2335 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 693
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holiday121 View Post
Interesting. Sounds like a learning curve in this as well it's just not follow the guide and get excellent results.

Have you tried calibrating your projector fully without the 3dlut? If so what were the results?

I just finished my JVC rs46.
I'm sure it's not dead perfect but pretty good for a beginner
I did a pretty good job with greyscale/gamma, not so good with managing colour which seemed like a game of whack-a-mole (my projector doesn't have a CMS & I don't really know what I'm doing on that front).
Holiday121's Avatar Holiday121
03:52 PM Liked: 39
post #2336 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 1,737
Joined: Feb 2009
Did you run the 92 patch? What was ur average?
3ll3d00d's Avatar 3ll3d00d
04:06 PM Liked: 91
post #2337 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 693
Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holiday121 View Post
Did you run the 92 patch? What was ur average?
0.46

I posted a link to that report in MadVR - ArgyllCMS

colour looks good to my eyes in brighter conditions, where I've struggled is with the low levels (blacks crushed and/or colours badly skewed at low light levels)
Holiday121's Avatar Holiday121
04:13 PM Liked: 39
post #2338 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 1,737
Joined: Feb 2009
Hmmmm that's real low .

I was told you probably wouldn't even see a difference at fixing that.

Your 6500k line is straight any everything?
In the hcfr forum I posted my last 2 calibrations in files . Take a look .
3ll3d00d's Avatar 3ll3d00d
04:21 PM Liked: 91
post #2339 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 693
Joined: Sep 2007
Right so it measures well but looks wrong in various scenes.
Holiday121's Avatar Holiday121
04:38 PM Liked: 39
post #2340 of 2851
07-08-2014 | Posts: 1,737
Joined: Feb 2009
Hmmmm I guess I don't know what to look for. Give me a example

Reply Display Calibration

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3