MadVR - ArgyllCMS - Page 95 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 60Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2821 of 2835 Old 11-05-2014, 03:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
-Hitman-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 64
@madshi

non api but would ask if it would be possible to add an extra toggle in the "pattern background" setting to temporarily remove the black border around the window pattern?

So that madtpg can be used as an after calibration IR washer by inverting the normal pattern display (0 % grey background + pattern into 100% white background + 0% white pattern without black boarder).

Also when calibration is complete, madvr returns what looks like ~30% pattern, if this could be changed to 0% - so the whole screen becomes black because when unattended calibrations are made and it is some time before returning, having the 30% pattern showing for some time is adding IR to the display, so this would be a big help in stopping this and if left for a long time, I would think could lead to some image burn.


Thanks.
-Hitman- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2822 of 2835 Old 11-05-2014, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Planet Dog
Posts: 4,912
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Do you happen to use FSE mode with a large number of pre-presented frames? That's good for video playback, but probably not good for madTPG, cause it will increase the delay. Let's say you've configured madVR to present 12 frames in advance at 24Hz. That means if you switch test patterns, madVR first has to wait 1000/24 * 12 = 500ms before a new test pattern reaches the display. Unfortunately Direct3D doesn't allow madVR to abort already presented frames.

Maybe it would make sense to auto-reduce the madVR settings for madTPG to reduce the lag? E.g. I could dial down all settings automatically so that a max of 4 pre-presented frames is used. What do you think?
Sounds good, I do use FSE usually with 10-12 frames in advance but at 60Hz.


Quote:
Any other wishes for new/modified APIs, anyone?
Allow the driving software to turn on/off the OSD and set APL parameters would be nice (with finer gradations in window size and APL level, say 1%).
zoyd is online now  
post #2823 of 2835 Old 11-05-2014, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
fhoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Hmmmm... Normally madTPG is supposed to do what the calibration software asks for. However, madTPG also remembers the last button states selected by the user. So if the user did disable the madVR 3dlut the last time madTPG was started, the 3dlut will stay disabled in madTPG until the user toggles that button. Is that the problem you're talking about?
Yes that seems to be it.
fhoech is online now  
post #2824 of 2835 Old 11-05-2014, 08:11 AM
Member
 
baii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So the consent is to leave the button on, and clear gpu lut before calibrating/profiling?

If so, may try to get N3W813 to update the first post.
baii is offline  
post #2825 of 2835 Old 11-07-2014, 04:58 AM
Newbie
 
bsod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
...
Any other wishes for new/modified APIs, anyone?
Black/dimmable buttons and window borders would be nice for madtpg or some "fake-fulscreen" option, to hide everything accept the dispcalgui status.
bsod is offline  
post #2826 of 2835 Old 11-07-2014, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
N3W813's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by baii View Post
So the consent is to leave the button on, and clear gpu lut before calibrating/profiling?

If so, may try to get N3W813 to update the first post.
I will soon. I haven't done any type of calibration for close to an year now. With all the changes, it may take a while before I update the first post.

My ArgyllCMS/MadVR 3DLUT Creation Workflow
My Sharp Elite Movie THX AV Mode Settings
--Aug 2011 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
--Nov 2012 Set, 2.2 gamma [ link ]
N3W813 is offline  
post #2827 of 2835 Old 11-09-2014, 06:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
gwgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by baii View Post
So the consent is to leave the button on, and clear gpu lut before calibrating/profiling?

If so, may try to get N3W813 to update the first post.
This is certainly NOT recommended (see the ArgyllCMS tutorial). Leave the buttons alone (ie. don't override), and let ArgyllCMS manage the VideoLUT and 3DLut state during calibration and profiling.
gwgill is offline  
post #2828 of 2835 Old 11-11-2014, 01:20 AM
Member
 
Evanesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quick question.

How do I make small window patches in the Madvr screen, like on the AVS709 disc? I have a plasma tv, and I want to calibrate it for MadVR.

YAMAHA RX-A2040 9.2 DOLBY ATMOS Networked Receiver
ROTEL RB-1572 Ext AMP
DALI MENTOR 6 FRONTS, DALI IKON VOCAL 2 CENTER, DALI IKON ON-WALL REAR
PANASONIC TX-P50VT30E PLASMA TV
POPCORN HOUR A210 Mediaplayer(streamer)
SYNOLOGY DISKSTATION NAS DS413

Last edited by Evanesco; 11-11-2014 at 01:39 AM.
Evanesco is offline  
post #2829 of 2835 Old 11-11-2014, 01:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
-Hitman-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanesco View Post
Quick question.

How do I make small window patches in the Madvr screen, like on the AVS709 disc? I have a plasma tv, and I want to calibrate it for MadVR.


Use the slider at the top of the M-TPG window, under "image area" to resize the pattern window.
-Hitman- is offline  
post #2830 of 2835 Old 11-11-2014, 01:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I accidentally canceled a calibration early by mistake and now i cant calibrate anymore. I uninstalled, cleaned everything off and re-installed same problem anyone got any fixes? Log file:

2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 Command line:
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 dispcal.exe
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -v2
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -dmadvr
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -c1
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -yn
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -qh
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -m
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 "-w0.3127,0.329"
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -G2.4
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -f0
2014-11-10 22:45:58,039 -k0
2014-11-10 22:45:58,055 -A4.0
2014-11-10 22:45:58,055 "madVR 2014-11-10 0.3127x 0.329y Rec. 1886 S XYZLUT"
2014-11-10 22:45:58,055
2014-11-10 22:45:58,446 dispcalGUI: Starting interaction with subprocess
2014-11-10 22:45:58,446 Setting up the instrument
2014-11-10 22:45:59,210 Product Name: i1Display3
2014-11-10 22:45:59,210 Serial Number: [edited]
2014-11-10 22:45:59,210 Firmware Version: v1.01
2014-11-10 22:45:59,210 Firmware Date: 12Apr11
2014-11-10 22:46:00,365 dispcal: Error - new_disprd() failed with 'Window Access Failed'
2014-11-10 22:46:00,365
2014-11-10 22:46:00,489 dispcalGUI: Reached EOF (OK)
2014-11-10 22:46:00,489 ...aborted.
2014-11-10 22:46:00,505 Calibration has not been finished.


Edit: This appears to only happen to the MADVR profile selected under display device.

Last edited by avstaku; 11-11-2014 at 02:28 AM.
avstaku is offline  
post #2831 of 2835 Old 11-11-2014, 02:59 AM
Member
 
Evanesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
Use the slider at the top of the M-TPG window, under "image area" to resize the pattern window.

Will I still get full screen, but the color patches only 14% of the screen, with blacks around it?

YAMAHA RX-A2040 9.2 DOLBY ATMOS Networked Receiver
ROTEL RB-1572 Ext AMP
DALI MENTOR 6 FRONTS, DALI IKON VOCAL 2 CENTER, DALI IKON ON-WALL REAR
PANASONIC TX-P50VT30E PLASMA TV
POPCORN HOUR A210 Mediaplayer(streamer)
SYNOLOGY DISKSTATION NAS DS413
Evanesco is offline  
post #2832 of 2835 Old 11-11-2014, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
-Hitman-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evanesco View Post
Will I still get full screen, but the color patches only 14% of the screen, with blacks around it?
Yes still full screen black boarder, the slider only effects the "patch" window size, you can resize from 4%,8%,12%,16% onwards etc.. (hover mouse over slider to see current set size).
-Hitman- is offline  
post #2833 of 2835 Old 11-11-2014, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Evanesco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Hitman- View Post
Yes still full screen black boarder, the slider only effects the "patch" window size, you can resize from 4%,8%,12%,16% onwards etc.. (hover mouse over slider to see current set size).
Thanks a lot!! I will try when I get home from work.

YAMAHA RX-A2040 9.2 DOLBY ATMOS Networked Receiver
ROTEL RB-1572 Ext AMP
DALI MENTOR 6 FRONTS, DALI IKON VOCAL 2 CENTER, DALI IKON ON-WALL REAR
PANASONIC TX-P50VT30E PLASMA TV
POPCORN HOUR A210 Mediaplayer(streamer)
SYNOLOGY DISKSTATION NAS DS413
Evanesco is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off