CMD HD (Calibration Management Disc) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 53 Old 05-07-2013, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Hi all,

After 4 long weeks of battling with time and Adobe Encore finally the release of my calibration disc is here.
Note the disc has been designed to work with the enthusiast workflows in Calman 5 PRIOR to the latest beta release version 5.1.1 HT build 1188.
What does this mean? Well my disc only contains the 'classic' colour checker sequence of 24 colours and not the new colour checker or fleshtone SG sequences included in the latest beta build - perhaps these additional sequences will be included in future disc revisions. Also note the latest C5 revsion has reorganised the black and gray pattern order in the CC sequence so you'll have to manually select the order of these patterns - unfortunately I had already authored the pattern time lines when this became apparent! No big deal tho.

Ok, couple of other things to note.

Each pattern is displayed for 30 seconds only, therefore for some of you the pause button will become your best friend!
There are a coiple of reasons why this is.

1. Wasnt sure how big the disc would be once all patterns and sequences had been finalised.
2. Allows for future sequence upgrade, new pattern types and alternative software sequences additions, Chromapure for example.
3. Time is of the essence! As a taken man with a child ive been fortunate to have the time to create this disc as im currently on 3 months garden leave smile.gif

Navigation.

Use the pop up menu whilst in sequence - this allows you to navigate to the main menu, calibration patterns menu, test patterns menu or any of the sequence options of your chosen pattern. Have a play and you'll see!

As an overview of what this disc contains, let me provide the details, as follows.

Pattern types.

1% windows and 1% APL
3% windows and 3% APL
7.5% windows and 7.5% APL
12% windows and 12% APL
Full Fields

All APL patterns have a constant 25% background.

Other sequences.

Dynamic Range
Grayscale including 2pt 30/80, 2pt 30/100, 10, 11, 21 and 23pt grayscale
Gamma Checker - 11 and 21pt
CMS - 25, 50, 75, 100
Colour Luminance - Red, Green, Blue, Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, White
20% Saturation steps for all primary and secondary colours
24pt 'Classic' colour checker

Testv Patterns - pretty straight forward, included a couple of my own - my own colour clipping patterns for one, and my 10pt channel checker pattern.
This pattern is used to determine how my contrast setting impacts my 10pt white balance settings.

DOWNLOADS

Blu Ray to DVD Version
https://www.dropbox.com/s/o4s6hw54uzer52j/CMDhd.zip?m

AVCHD Version - works with PS3, Panasonic Blu Ray Players
https://www.dropbox.com/s/d0t1r8mlvq5hm00/CMD%20HD%20AVCHD.zip?m

Unzip and burn image with imgburn to a standard DVD. Unzipped filesize should be 1.04 GB.
No AVCHD or MP4 version available currently but this will be worked on.

Screen shots.









Thi is my first attempt with Adobe Encore and i must say its been bloody frustrating.
If you do find any issues then please be gentle! Feel free to let me know and i'll try to correct!
Its late here, been a long day, going to bed,

Would like to thank Alluringreality, Mascior and Visca for assisting me through this steep and lengthy learning curve,
Hope you enjoy, its my way to thank you for your help over the past year or so for a calibration novice like me.
Seroxat, e08 and Make73 like this.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 53 Old 05-07-2013, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Looks great Neil! The menu layout is really easy to navigate. I will run through the disc some more over the next couple of days...take it for a test drive!biggrin.gif Looks good man...great job!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mascior is online now  
post #3 of 53 Old 05-07-2013, 06:38 PM
Senior Member
 
yaomizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Looks good!!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

yaomizzle is offline  
post #4 of 53 Old 05-07-2013, 07:32 PM
Member
 
Beta-Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just downloaded & burned to disc. However, the Blueray Player keeps kicking back an incompatibility error.
I tried making the disc in DiscUtility & imgburn.
What did I do wrong?

"You down with CRT?....Yeah, you know me!"
Beta-Boy is offline  
post #5 of 53 Old 05-07-2013, 11:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beta-Boy View Post

I just downloaded & burned to disc. However, the Blueray Player keeps kicking back an incompatibility error.
I tried making the disc in DiscUtility & imgburn.
What did I do wrong?

What Blu Ray player do you have?
Did you unzip file first?
Did you try another disc?

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #6 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
I have a PS3. I burnt the image file to a disc using Power Iso & it shows up as a data disc in the PS3. All you can do is browse the files structure & play the the mt2s files.

My Panasonic 60ST60 Settings

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cadett is offline  
post #7 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 05:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

I have a PS3. I burnt the image file to a disc using Power Iso & it shows up as a data disc in the PS3. All you can do is browse the files structure & play the the mt2s files.

Youll probably need the avchd version of the disc to work in the ps3. The disc works fine in my denon 2500bt and my sony bdp380.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #8 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
cadett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houma, La.
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 83
That's what I was thinking too. As I understand it, you haven't authored one yet, correct?

My Panasonic 60ST60 Settings

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cadett is offline  
post #9 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 06:10 AM
Senior Member
 
praz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

Youll probably need the avchd version of the disc to work in the ps3.
Stated in the AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration compatibility list that the PS3 needs to use HDMV or AVCHD.
praz is online now  
post #10 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadett View Post

That's what I was thinking too. As I understand it, you haven't authored one yet, correct?

Correct but i am looking into it!

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #11 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mascior View Post

Looks great Neil! The menu layout is really easy to navigate. I will run through the disc some more over the next couple of days...take it for a test drive!biggrin.gif Looks good man...great job!

Thanks Ryan - hopefully is all; well!

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #12 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 10:09 AM
e08
Member
 
e08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by praz View Post

Stated in the AVS HD 709 - Blu-ray & MP4 Calibration compatibility list that the PS3 needs to use HDMV or AVCHD.

Bummer... I only have a PS3. I'll have to wait for the compatible disk. Ah well, no rush.

~ Hayden

Sorry for any typos or bad grammar, I am
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.


Sony XBR-HX929, Sony Playstation 3 (Slim 160GB), i1 Display Pro OEM, CalMAN Enthusiast.
e08 is offline  
post #13 of 53 Old 05-08-2013, 08:21 PM
Member
 
Beta-Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Used it on a Panasonic BR player. No dice.
Extracted it 3 dif times

"You down with CRT?....Yeah, you know me!"
Beta-Boy is offline  
post #14 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 01:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
AVCHD version will be dropping today - have tested on my phat PS3 with no problems, should also work on a Panansonic.
Aprpeciate your feedback once you have it.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #15 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
AVCHD download now added - see above

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #16 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 08:00 AM
e08
Member
 
e08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

Unzip and burn image with imgburn to a standard DVD. Unzipped filesize should be 1.04 GB.
No AVCHD or MP4 version available currently but this will be worked on.

Might want to edit that part out cool.gif.

You may want to mention, that when you unzip the AVCHD download, to burn the CERTIFICATE, BDMV, AVCHDTN & multiAVCHD.log to the root of the blank DVD and not the BDRA folder you have on the root directory of the archive. Or you could re-zip the AVCHD folders directly, skipping the BDRA folder (and re-upload) so there's no confusion.

Had a quick play with the disk, only came across one thing worth mentioning. When you are looking at a 100% White pattern, you lose the pop-up menu selection marker as it's white on a white background. Here's a photo:



Not a deal breaker but just a minor thing I thought I should point out.

A job well done, I'm happy to add it to my collection.

~ Hayden

Sorry for any typos or bad grammar, I am
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.


Sony XBR-HX929, Sony Playstation 3 (Slim 160GB), i1 Display Pro OEM, CalMAN Enthusiast.
e08 is offline  
post #17 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by e08 View Post

Might want to edit that part out cool.gif.

You may want to mention, that when you unzip the AVCHD download, to burn the CERTIFICATE, BDMV, AVCHDTN & multiAVCHD.log to the root of the blank DVD and not the BDRA folder you have on the root directory of the archive. Or you could re-zip the AVCHD folders directly, skipping the BDRA folder (and re-upload) so there's no confusion.

you just did!
Quote:
Had a quick play with the disk, only came across one thing worth mentioning. When you are looking at a 100% White pattern, you lose the pop-up menu selection marker as it's white on a white background. Here's a photo:



Not a deal breaker but just a minor thing I thought I should point out.

A job well done, I'm happy to add it to my collection.

Yep, im aware of that - not entirely sure how to get round this in encore. will look at a fix for the next revision.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #18 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 08:23 AM
e08
Member
 
e08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

you just did!
On snap!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

not entirely sure how to get round this in encore.
Is it possible to add a line under the current selection like this? (forgive the crude Paint edit)


~ Hayden

Sorry for any typos or bad grammar, I am
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.


Sony XBR-HX929, Sony Playstation 3 (Slim 160GB), i1 Display Pro OEM, CalMAN Enthusiast.
e08 is offline  
post #19 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by e08 View Post

On snap!
Is it possible to add a line under the current selection like this? (forgive the crude Paint edit)


TBH as an Encore newbie, im not sure.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #20 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 09:29 AM
e08
Member
 
e08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, Australia.
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

TBH as an Encore newbie, im not sure.
I've only ever used Sony Vegas Pro for video editing and I've never authored a DVD / Blu-ray so I can't help, sorry :-/.

~ Hayden

Sorry for any typos or bad grammar, I am
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.


Sony XBR-HX929, Sony Playstation 3 (Slim 160GB), i1 Display Pro OEM, CalMAN Enthusiast.
e08 is offline  
post #21 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
mascior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Currituck, NC
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Hi Neil,

PM me and I try and answer any if not all of your Encore questions...save you some frustration!smile.gif Yes, an underscore can be added as a highlight in the pop-up displayed above. Photoshop is your best friend as it will work hand in hand while authoring in Encore. Encore itself has numerous options for tweaking but the fine details and custom work need to be handled in Photoshop.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mascior is online now  
post #22 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mascior View Post

Hi Neil,

PM me and I try and answer any if not all of your Encore questions...save you some frustration!smile.gif Yes, an underscore can be added as a highlight in the pop-up displayed above. Photoshop is your best friend as it will work hand in hand while authoring in Encore. Encore itself has numerous options for tweaking but the fine details and custom work need to be handled in Photoshop.

Hi Ryan

Yes been using Photoshop, hopefully ive come up with a solution - problem with the pop up menu is that the highlight sits on a transparent background! If i get stuck ill drop you a pm.
Cheers

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #23 of 53 Old 05-09-2013, 03:28 PM
Member
 
youngsyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey,

Thanks for putting the effort in on this. You're time and enthusiasm are invaluable to us who want to get the best PQ possible from our panels.

With that in mind, I too have a UK 55VT30 and would like to know what patterns you get the most accurate and repeatable results with?

I'll be using Chromapure (Standard) and an i1 Display Pro for reference.

Thanks in advance,

Paul
youngsyp is offline  
post #24 of 53 Old 05-10-2013, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngsyp View Post

Hey,

Thanks for putting the effort in on this. You're time and enthusiasm are invaluable to us who want to get the best PQ possible from our panels.

With that in mind, I too have a UK 55VT30 and would like to know what patterns you get the most accurate and repeatable results with?

I'll be using Chromapure (Standard) and an i1 Display Pro for reference.

Thanks in advance,

Paul

Hi Paul

Have used 3 and 7.5 apl with good results. Been watching most tv and movies via the THX mode to be honest, pro modes are not bright enough for me.

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
post #25 of 53 Old 05-10-2013, 04:10 PM
Member
 
youngsyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ndaa75 View Post

Hi Paul

Have used 3 and 7.5 apl with good results. Been watching most tv and movies via the THX mode to be honest, pro modes are not bright enough for me.
Awesome, thanks mate.

I've been using Pro 1 and 2 modes, in various states of calibration, for about a year and a half and I find the luminance level just high enough when I close all the curtains in the room or if it's not such a bright day outside. With your comments in mind, I may give THX mode a try. Just got to nail the calibration now so it doesn't take 4 hours to get anywhere. I've picked up on your comments in other threads re ABL triggering and how important a consistent image on screen is, between measurments. Hopefully that will help me out. I also use ControlCAL which has helped since first trying it.

Cheers,

Paul
youngsyp is offline  
post #26 of 53 Old 05-11-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by e08 View Post

Might want to edit that part out cool.gif.

You may want to mention, that when you unzip the AVCHD download, to burn the CERTIFICATE, BDMV, AVCHDTN & multiAVCHD.log to the root of the blank DVD and not the BDRA folder you have on the root directory of the archive. Or you could re-zip the AVCHD folders directly, skipping the BDRA folder (and re-upload) so there's no confusion.

Had a quick play with the disk, only came across one thing worth mentioning. When you are looking at a 100% White pattern, you lose the pop-up menu selection marker as it's white on a white background. Here's a photo:



Not a deal breaker but just a minor thing I thought I should point out.

A job well done, I'm happy to add it to my collection.

since there is no .iso file for the AVCHD version do I select 'write folders/files to disc' or 'create image file from files/folders' in IMGBURN


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #27 of 53 Old 05-11-2013, 12:46 PM
Newbie
 
vinny41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
select write/folders to disc make sure AVCHDTN, BDMV,CERTIFICATE are selected as source files and udf selected as file system although imageburn will advised and correct this if you wish
vinny41 is offline  
post #28 of 53 Old 05-11-2013, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,196
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 198
ok, I got it to work but I noticed right away for dynamic range and grayscale patterns, 109%/100% white is not first (it's last instead)... this seems a bit odd given that the disc is for CalMAN, which always asks for 100% first (or 109% for dynamic range) since v4


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #29 of 53 Old 05-11-2013, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
vinny41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for the general settings section brightness, contrast and colour is there any guides available as to what you should be looking for with these patterns thanks
vinny41 is offline  
post #30 of 53 Old 05-11-2013, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ndaa75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Caister on Sea, UK
Posts: 493
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

ok, I got it to work but I noticed right away for dynamic range and grayscale patterns, 109%/100% white is not first (it's last instead)... this seems a bit odd given that the disc is for CalMAN, which always asks for 100% first (or 109% for dynamic range) since v4

For dynamic range and grayscale, it is NOT essential to have them run in the order that Calman dictates. The CMS and gamma sequences do however start with 100% as this is essential in achieving the required target. All the patterns are there for you to use - im sure youre capable of using next or previous chapter if you really wanted to follow those particular two sequences as Calman dictates as opposed to selecting your own sequence.
Feel free to use the disc or not, perhaps you could spend your own time making your own if you have a few weeks spare.

Cheers
Neil

Benq W1080ST Projector, Panasonic TXP55VT30 plasma, Yamaha RXA3020 AVR, Denon DVD-2500BT, Q Acoustics 1010i in 7.1, i1 Pro spectro, i1 Display Pro, Calman 5 Enthusiast, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ndaa75 is offline  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off