LG LCD - CMS greyed out using PC via HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-11-2013, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 145
I have a computer connected to my LG LD350 720p LCD via HDMI and the CMS is greyed out if I run my desktop at its native resolution (1360x768). Is there anyway around this? Why would LG make the CMS unavailable on PC inputs?
rahzel is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-11-2013, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
PlasmaPZ80U's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

I have a computer connected to my LG LD350 720p LCD via HDMI and the CMS is greyed out if I run my desktop at its native resolution (1360x768). Is there anyway around this? Why would LG make the CMS unavailable on PC inputs?

it's not uncommon for many picture settings/options to be grayed out in PC mode
PlasmaPZ80U is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-11-2013, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlasmaPZ80U View Post

it's not uncommon for many picture settings/options to be grayed out in PC mode
True. Still wonder why that is though. Plus at least on my old Samsung you had the option of using PC mode. I haven't labeled the HDMI port as PC or anything... seems automatic. If I set it to something other than 1360x768, like 1080p or 1366x768, the CMS is available, but then the picture looks blurry.
rahzel is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-12-2013, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVChallenged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Perhaps LG assumes that you're going to use the color management LUT facility on your PC?
HDTVChallenged is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-12-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 207
My guess would be that the LG TV disables CMS for any RGB input. If you change your disc player to RGB you may lose the CMS also. If you change the PC to output YCbCr, the CMS controls may become available again.

You might also lose the Color and Tint controls when you send an RGB source. Usually, the TV cannot process video in RGB mode... the video has to be in YCbCr mode for processing to work. But there are plenty of TVs that convert RGB to YCbCr automatically and Color/Tint and CMS controls remain active. By sending RGB you may add a conversion step that's really unnecessary (extra conversion steps can cause slight image degradation) if the TV does NOT convert the RGB to YCbCr, it is common to lose Color/Tint and CMS controls.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX Certified Professional Video Calibration
ISF -- HAA -- www.dBtheatrical.com
Widescreen Review -- Home Theater & Sound
Doug Blackburn is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-12-2013, 02:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 145
I tried setting the output to YCbCr in the Intel graphics properties but it's still not available. Only if I set it to a resolution other than 1360x768. My LG LH90 allows me to adjust the CMS in my livingroom setup... only difference being is that system is AMD based. Oh well... the colors aren't terribly off.

Thanks for the replies.
rahzel is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off