MAC support - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-26-2013, 07:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
YanivZX6R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please list all known calibration software that can work on a MAC?
(without a simulation software)
YanivZX6R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-26-2013, 08:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
hoozthatat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Big Sky Country
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by YanivZX6R View Post

Can someone please list all known calibration software that can work on a MAC?
(without a simulation software)

Unfortunately both CalMAN 5 and ChromaPure are not Mac compatible. However, both pieces of software do work via Bootcamp and/or Parallels (assuming you have a spare version of a Windows OS, or that you're willing to purchase a license.) If that's not on your agenda then I'd look toward ColorHCFR, it's completely free and works incredibly well on both Mac and PC (I've used it on both my Mac Mini and my Windows 7 PC.) The UI is nowhere near as intuitive as say CalMAN 5, but the functionality is all there and absolutely gets the job done and I greatly appreciate the software.

60F8000; RX-V367; TSi300 x2; YST-SW102; Harmony 650; Apple TV; Microsoft Xbox One Console; RF-HTS120;

xRite i1 Display Pro (OEM); CalMAN 5 Basic; ColorHCFR
hoozthatat is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-26-2013, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
YanivZX6R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ColorHCFR MAC version only support
Spyder II
Spyder III

mad.gif
YanivZX6R is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-26-2013, 08:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
hoozthatat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Big Sky Country
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by YanivZX6R View Post

ColorHCFR MAC version only support
Spyder II
Spyder III

mad.gif

I use an xRite i1 Display Pro OEM, no problems.

60F8000; RX-V367; TSi300 x2; YST-SW102; Harmony 650; Apple TV; Microsoft Xbox One Console; RF-HTS120;

xRite i1 Display Pro (OEM); CalMAN 5 Basic; ColorHCFR
hoozthatat is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-27-2013, 01:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 792
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 358
basICColor has a Mac version, but I'm not sure if they finally added meter profiling support, I requested that a year ago - very quick, very easy to use.

Also, check if Argyll CMS has a Mac version - it's free, and I had excellent results with it on Windows with ICC based calibration.

- M

calibration & profiling solutions: Lightspace, Spaceman, Calman, Argyll, ColorNavigator, basICColor
profiling & calibration workflow tools: Display Calibration Tools
meter: Klein K-10 A, i1Pro, i1D3
AVS thread: Lightspace & Custom Color Patch Set & Gamma Calibration on Panasonic 65VT60
Iron Mike is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-27-2013, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 226
If you have an Intel Mac, you can run Windows 7 or Windows 8 on it and run any calibration software you want. You ARE NOT required to run Mac O/S only on Intel Macs.

You may even be able to have Windows and Mac O/S installed on the Mac and choose which starts when you turn on the computer. That avoids the whole simulator issue. And gives you access to the best calibration software options.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX Certified Professional Video Calibration
ISF -- HAA -- www.dBtheatrical.com
Widescreen Review -- Home Theater & Sound
Doug Blackburn is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-27-2013, 09:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Wouter73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Alkmaar, Netherlands
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Yes you can use windows and osx on the same machine. You can even install windows on an external drive, using thunderbolt which is very fast, and boot from there.

On intel macs.
Wouter73 is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off