Does an Eye One Pro meter drift? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 07-17-2013, 10:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hello,

I am an amateur hobbyist who enjoys tweaking my own displays, a Pioneer KRP-500m and some computer monitors mainly. I bought an Eye One Pro meter four months ago on ebay. I don't know its age or when it was last certified. Should I question its accuracy? I know spectrophotometers are more accurate and drift less than colorimeters, but do they drift at all?

A calibration is only as good as the equipment used to take readings, so I just want to know if I should have any reason to doubt the accuracy of the Eye One Pro?

Is there a cheap way to verify its accuracy?

Thanks.
gandro likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-17-2013, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 107
1) Define "cheap."

2) Run the i1 diagnostics.

3) Try doing a thread search on i1Pro accuracy.

(This has been thrashed out numerous times)
Rolls-Royce likes this.
post #3 of 7 Old 07-18-2013, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Check out this Thread: http://www.avsforum.com/t/1449310/eye-one-pro-or-display-3-pro

Need to find a Professional Calibrator? Click Here to PM me with your Display & City

Calibrator List - Pioneer ISFccc Interface

Calibration Reports - Pioneer

ControlCAL™
Designed by Calibrators for Calibrators™

No need to fumble through the Display's Menu with its Remote Control™

post #4 of 7 Old 07-19-2013, 01:33 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 54
I1 pro's can hold accuracy for a long time, well beyond the recommended yearly re-cal/certification, if well looked after and kept sealed away from moisture (I keep min in a re-sealable plastic bag).

I would run the i1 diagnostics as this would report it's last calibration data, which this data is programmed into the i1 every re-certification.