Help Needed With 10 Point Interval White Balance - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 09-10-2013, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm a relative newbie when it comes to tv calibration, but I didn't like any of the factory presets (though "movie" came close) on my recently purchased Samsung mid-level LED/LCD (40" F6300 Series).

So, like a newb, I come across the LCD TV Buying Guide site and figure I'd try one of their calibrations out.

I come across this - http://reviews.lcdtvbuyingguide.com/samsung-lcd-tv/samsung-f6300-picture-settings.html

They don't have one for my specific size, and I don't know if the size of the set they calibrate is one that participates in Samsung's infamous "panel lottery" (from previous research on this site, I don't believe my smallish size does), nor whether such a thing would completely throw off the calibration (depending on whether you had the same panel as the set they were adjusting).

However, I figure it's close enough to warrant a try-out.

The problem is, they seem to have committed some typos, and don't indicate whether the values listed for three of the intervals in the 10 point white balance section should be positive or negative. I've looked at other calibration recommendations by them, and can't find another that "forgets" to indicate a positive or negative value.

Knowing jack-all about calibrating a 10 point white balance scale, I come begging the experts on AVS as to whether, just by looking at the relative values of the other intervals (as well as the more general rgb white balance offsets & gains), you can tell what was likely intended for those three intervals.

Thanks for any education/enlightenment/help you can provide on this (I'd try contacting the site, or Robert Wiley, [most likely the former] but I somehow doubt such a communication would both reach them and interest them enough to do anything about it)!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement