Samsung plasma calibration with Disney WOW - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 09-15-2013, 01:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have a UK Samsung PS51D6900 plasma and received a copy of the Disney WOW calibration disc yesterday.

I am a complete novice and have never used one of these discs before but I am running into a few problems. Basically I can't get the contrast and brightness right. I have to have contrast and brightness at 100 to get anywhere near ideal white. By setting gamma to -3 I can get both of these values down to the late 80s but that doesn't seem right to me! Whatever I do I cannot get ideal white and ideal black together..I have to make a compromise with them both.

What am I doing wrong? Any tips?

If it helps I have all additional processing turned off and cell light is at 15.

I can set ideal black with no problems but that puts the whites so far out and I cannot figure out how to correct it.

Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 09-15-2013, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Cell Light is a useless and stupid control that should not exist. Set it to the maximum setting and never use it again.

You are not "calibrating" with a disc. All you are doing is finding the best settings but calibration is considerably more in-depth than that and uses controls you can't use without having a meter and software and calibration knowledge.

Next, NO disc, NONE of them... exactly ZERO of them can help you find the best Contrast setting. In fact, the ONLY things you can set with a disc are Black Level (Brightness control) and the best setting for the Sharpness control (which is the setting that does not affect the image at all). All the Contrast pattern can do is tell you the HIGHEST Contrast setting you might ever want to use.