Red pixels still glow when setting Samsung LCD screen to Green only filter... what to think of it? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 09-26-2013, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Hello all, sorry for opening a new thread I couldn't find a related thread...

If possible, I'd like to get some expert advice or clarification regarding an issue with the green RGB mode in my Samsung UE32F5000.
32A6AF0S in service menu.

I'm an almost total noob regarding display calibration.
Calibration settings before noticing green RGB mode issue: (by eye, no calibration equipement used)
For setbox connected to HDMI1 port of TV.

Preset: Movie
Backlight: 17 (Depends on ambient ilumination)
Contrast: 95
Brightness: 45
Sharpness: 0
Color: 53 (don't remember why I put this value)
Tint: 50/50
Gamma: 0
Color Tone: Warm 1
HDMI Black level: Normal
Color Space: Auto
Screen size: Screen fit
Film Mode: Auto 1 (can't see difference with Auto 2)
Dynamic Contrast: Disabled
LED Motion Clear: Disabled
Digital/MPEG Noise Filter: Disabled
Black tone: Disabled

White Balance:
Red Offset 20
everything else 25

Everything else untouched or at stock settings...

I recently acquired a loupe to be able to scrutinize the subpixel structure of the panel.
With the loupe I also took the opportunity to see what sort of changes were happening within the pixels when changing calibration settings... nothing worth mentioning until I looked at the RGB mode.

Selecting red or blue modes expectedly lightened up only the corresponding RGB componets of the pixels, but in green mode I noticed that besides the green subpixels also a little part of the red subpixels got slightly iluminated in an area of the screen that in non RGB mode was actually white, pure white.... only on the white area of the picture the red subpixels where lightened up...

For ilustration purposes I'll upload the following picture (I can't take a picture of mine):