helping a newbie understanding calibration and theory - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 10-03-2013, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone,

I'm new to calibration but I got a used i1 pro + calman. I'm pretty serious about getting the theories in order and understanding the concepts behind the calibration (rather than just do it once and never know what i did).

I did a lot of research by reading these articles:
http://www.lightillusion.com/display_calibration.html
http://www.avsforum.com/t/852536/basic-guide-to-color-calibration-using-a-cms-updated-and-enhanced
http://www.hometheatershack.com/forums/video-calibration/54381-diy-display-calibration-via-calman.html

Using Chad's advice:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1383050/gamma-vs-brightness#post_21409582

So what I gather for the steps of calibration:
1) adjust brightness and contrast
2) Set luminance
3) Adjust grayscale with 2pt balance
i) start with bias @ 20/30%
ii) then gain @ 80%
4) adjust CMS
5) adjust 10pt gray scale to level the gamma

I have several questions:
1) In the guide and forums, people mentioned not touching the "green" gain/bias settings. So would the "proper" way of adjusting this be subtracting/adding blue/red into the colour until i reach the target D65?

2) What does tint do? I remember a guide telling me that it shift the triangle around

3) Am I doing this right? are my steps to calibration logical?

4) I have a PN65D8000 that I attempted to calibrate. At 90%, the gamma drops. What should I do to correct for this? Do I leave it until the 10pt before adjusting it?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 10-03-2013, 10:58 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by goonx View Post