Can't get my i1 Display Pro to lay flat on the screen... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 10-18-2013, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
earwicker7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As the title says, I'm trying to use my i1 Display Pro for my first calibration. Is there a trick to not having it bounce around all over the place? No matter how I set the counterweight, it will not lay flat.

I have a feeling that purchasing the OEM probe might have left something critical out of the bargain... I've used the Spyder3 in a similar way on my monitor, but it has the benefit of tilting backwards, so gravity does the trick.
earwicker7 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-18-2013, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

Painters tape ...

Regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-18-2013, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
earwicker7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
D'oh! So obvious, but I never even considered it. Thanks!
earwicker7 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 10-18-2013, 07:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
earwicker7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One question... am I taping it to the edges with 4' long strips, or to the screen with 6" strips? The numbers are approximates, of course.
earwicker7 is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 10-18-2013, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Michael TLV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: THX/ISF Calibrationist/Instructor, Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,745
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Greetings

Up to you. I do it to the screen ... when I need to do it. It doesn't stay long enough to leave any residue.

regards

Michael Chen @ The Laser Video Experience
ISF/THX/TLV Video Instructor
The Video Calibration Education Hub - www.TLVEXP.com

Michael TLV is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 10-19-2013, 12:06 AM
Member
 
fredman2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I put a weight on the downwards leading cable. But my TV stands on a board. If your TV hangs at the wall you can try to clip a weight at the cable.
fredman2005 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 10-19-2013, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
earwicker7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredman2005 View Post

I put a weight on the downwards leading cable. But my TV stands on a board. If your TV hangs at the wall you can try to clip a weight at the cable.

So you have the counterbalance weight in back, and an additional weight up front?
earwicker7 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 10-20-2013, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Furry paint roller on an adjustable length stick. No problems, no tape.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 10-20-2013, 05:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
earwicker7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzard767 View Post

Furry paint roller on an adjustable length stick. No problems, no tape.

How does that work? Are you putting the end of the stick on the floor, then having the weight of the roller hold the probe against the screen?
earwicker7 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 10-20-2013, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LastButNotLeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: 08077
Posts: 4,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 230

I use a tripod. I just rotate the "arm" to press (gently ;)) against the i1.


Downloadable FREE demo discs:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475769/de...ently-authored 

Did you really need to quote that entire post in your reply?
LastButNotLeast is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 10-20-2013, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
buzzard767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naples, FL & Wausau, WI
Posts: 3,597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by earwicker7 View Post

How does that work? Are you putting the end of the stick on the floor, then having the weight of the roller hold the probe against the screen?

Yes. Adjust the stick angle so that it only applies enough pressure to hold the meter flush to the display.

Buzz
THX Certified Video Calibrator

 

buzzard767 is online now  
post #12 of 12 Old 10-21-2013, 05:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
PeterLewis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Painters 2" tape from edge to edge,no harm no foul.
PeterLewis is online now  
Reply Display Calibration

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off